Availability & Pricing

Step 1

Select a start date

from the calendar below

Unavailable

Available

Start Day

Your Booking

Step 2

Select your length of stay

Discounts available for couples staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using one bedroom only!

Step 3

Tell us who's going

to help us calculate the price

Your booking:

Arrival:

Departure:

Price:

Please note that this price excludes our booking fee, booking protection and any chargeable extras such as dogs.

Book Now

This comfortable apartment is well presented by a caring Owner and provides an excellent base from which to explore this wild and rugged part of Cornwall. The area is perfect for walkers and there are miles of footpaths to explore straight from the property or alternatively the spectacular coastal path can be picked up at numerous locations around the Lizard Peninsular. St Keverne, Coverack, Cadgwith Cove, Lizard Point, Kynance Cove and Mullion are all delightful places to visit and explore. The magical Helford River and Frenchman's Creek is only a short drive away. It is just a few miles from the magical harbour village of Cadgwith as featured on TV in Monty Hall's Fisherman's Apprentice.

The apartment itself benefits from a main double bedroom and a compact bunk room which can accommodate adults as they are full sized beds. The living room and kitchen area is open plan with access to the delightful patio and garden area. Views across the fields are towards St Keverne, you can see the church spire. There is a standing stone visiable due south from the garden.

Accommodation
Ground Floor Only: Open plan kitchen, dining area and sitting room. Double bedroom with separate bathroom & over bath shower (newly refurbished), followed by the bunk bed room.
Exterior: A lovely enclosed back garden which is secure for children and a wonderful place to relax. Views across the countryside.

Facilities & Services
Heating is via night storage and electric heating. The kitchen has a range of equipment. There is an electric oven and hob, a microwave, toaster, kettle and fridge / freezer. There is a washing machine/dryer in a shed at the end of the cottage. The sitting room area has a flatscreen digital TV & DVD player, and radio. There is WiFi available at the property. There is an iron & ironing board.

Miscellaneous
Electricity, heating, bed linen are all included but you will need to provide your own towels. Up to 2 well behaved dogs (2 small or 1 medium sized) will be permitted at a small additional cost of £25 per dog / per week, although please remember that you cannot leave dogs unattended in the cottage alone. There is a designated parking space on the courtyard next to the cottage. Regrettably no smoking is allowed. PLEASE BE AWARE THAT THE MAXIMUM CAPACITY AT THIS PROPERTY, INCLUDING INFANTS OR CHILDREN, IS 4.

General Booking Information
Arrival / Departure is normally a Friday.
Short breaks are available during quieter periods.
£100 pre-authorised to your credit or debit card as a security deposit is required.

Discounts available for couples staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using one bedroom only.

The property is under a mile from the little village of St Keverne which has shops, a Post Office, churches and pubs.Amazing beaches at Kennack Sands & Kynance Cove are just a short distance away. The harbour village of Coverack is about a 10 minute drive away and has a selection of places to eat including a superb fish restaurant in the old lifeboat station. Water sports facilities are also available in Coverack. The Helford River is about 4 miles away. Walks along the famous Frenchman's Creek are enchanting. There is a sailing club with launching facilities and a little ferry operates to nearby Helford Passage on the north side of the river where there is the superb Ferry Boat Inn.

The Lizard is an 'Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty'and has some spectacular coastal walks. It is England's most southerly point and the highlights include early Spring flowers, the Lizard lighthouse, swimming and surfing from sandy beaches, delightful fishing coves, sailing on the Helford river, heather covered moors in Autumn, open gardens and National Trust areas, pretty harbour lights at Christmas, friendly pubs and good, fresh, local food!

There is a greater range of shops in Helston (famous for its Floral Dance) which is a short drive away or alternatively, the larger towns of Falmouth or Truro have a wide range of shops. The famous Flambards park is located close to Helston.

2.8

Out Of Five

Not Recommended

Cleanliness: 2

Service and Staff: 3

Comfort: 3

Condition: 2

Location: 4

Value For Money: 3

Review Date:2017-08-06

Guest from Sheffield stayed for 7 nights.

Wouldn't take much to make it a nice little cottage

The location of the cottage is good for exploring the Lizard (lots of narrow, windy roads) and the beds were really comfortable. The cottage needs a good clean - there were dog hairs everywhere and the kitchen cupboards need a good clean. The shower is a pathetic trickle and leaks onto the bathroom floor, no matter how careful you are with the shower curtain! The cottage is quite damp, which means it smells musty, particularly in the kids room. There is nowhere to hang wet clothes - an airer would be really useful. There wasn't much information (eg. where is the nearest shop) and the welcome pack was not very welcoming - just tea and coffee and some tiny biscuits. The furniture is tired and needs upgrading. It would not take much to make it into a lovely cottage, but it feels like they don't care. It was however very cheap in comparison to others in Cornwall.

Reply from Cottage owner Erika Manby

Dear guests. Thank you for your feedback and suggestions for improvements. We were sorry to hear that there were dog hairs everywhere. This is unusual as our cleaners usually do a great job but it is sometimes hard to hoover and clean up all evidence of dogs and dog owners who have stayed previously especially if their dogs are hairy. The cleaners do their best. The kitchen cupboards are well cleaned after every visit however we are aware that there are is an indelible mark in the lefthand cupboard. We will remedy this immediately. We are aware that the shower, although newly fitted, needs a water pressure boost and this will be fixed next week. Properties in Cornwall can be prone to a bit of damp when the there is not adequate ventilation. We have found that as long as there is good air circulation especially in the summer months there shouldn't be a problem. We do not provide an airer as we have a very efficient tumbler drier which guests use if the weather is bad. We do provide an information pack which lists lots of useful stuff including where the nearest shop is. We find the furniture comfortable and in fitting with the character of the cottage. I hope my reply has been useful for future guests.

4.3

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 3

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 4

Condition: 4

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2017-07-29

Guest from London stayed for 7 nights.

Wonderful Location

Vellan Cottage is a cosy little cottage tucked in a beautiful location. We had a great week with 2 kids. The cottage is on the smaller side but sufficient in terms of size. The views from the back garden are beautiful. The location is few miles away from beautiful village of Coverack and may be half an hour ride from famous Lizard Peninsula views. Really had a good time.

3.7

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 4

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 3

Condition: 4

Location: 4

Value For Money: 3

Review Date:2016-08-01

Guest from Barnet stayed for 7 nights.

Vellan

Lovely little cottage. Bit too overlooked by other cottages but back garden views stunning. Good location to reach beaches and sightseeing. Nice area. Very rural and beautiful.

2.7

Out Of Five

Not Recommended

Cleanliness: 2

Service and Staff: 3

Comfort: 3

Condition: 2

Location: 3

Value For Money: 3

Review Date:2015-10-11

Guest from Dorchester stayed for 3 nights.

Disappointing

I booked as a two bedroomed cottage, yet only one bed was made up for use. The enclosed garden was not dog secure which meant I could not leave my pet unattended in the garden. There was dog poo on the lawn on arrival. There was no hot water on arrival. The bath size and washbasin were both inadequate. The kitchen requires complete new sink/drainer. No washing machine. The property was overlooked by adjoining cottages.

Reply from Cottage Owner

Dear John I am sorry that you found Vellan Cottage to be disappointing. In answer to your complaint that the second bunk bed bedroom was not made up, because you booked as a couple, my cottage manager would have assumed that you didn't need the use of the second bedroom. However we always keep spare bed linen for that room in the hot cupboard so you could have made up an extra bed if you had needed it. The garden is described as secure more for children than for pets. A small dog can obviously get through the hedge. We do ask that dog owners keep there dogs on leads at all times if outside the cottage on the property. This avoids dog mess and also the risk that the dogs run off or enter the other cottage owners gardens. I am very sorry there was dog mess on our lawn when you arrived. My cottage manager must have missed it and it could have been possibly a local dog or a fox or badger from the night before. Difficult to spot or know for sure in such a rural area. So sorry about the water. We have never had a complaint about it before. If you had read my cottage information booklet you would have seen that there is a booster dial on the thermostat in the hot cupboard. If you had found it , the water heats in 30 mins. The washing machine is in the little shed on the end of the house by the car parking space. This is also clearly explained in the cottage information booklet. No one has ever complained about the bath size or the wash basin before and for practical reasons the bathroom is not big enough to have large size fittings. We are about to update the kitchen sink and drainer and this will be done before the start of next season. We do not advertise the property as not being overlooked. It is described as being located on a small development. I hope this has answered some of your comments and I can only apologise once again for the hot water not being on.

4.2

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 3

Condition: 3

Location: 5

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2015-09-21

Guest from Henley-on-thames stayed for 7 nights.

Cosy Cottage in Stunning Countryside.

We had a lovely week at Vellan Cottage. We love the area. The cottage was very compact and clean. As we cooked most days I would say the kitchen sink area is in need of an update. A proper draining board by the sink would have been better than a rack on a tray. The cooker was fine and looked new and the bed was comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked with pans and everything we needed. The internet was a bit hit and miss and the tv screen very small. On the whole very warm and cosy. We will probably go for a bigger cottage next time.

3

Out Of Five

Not Recommended

Cleanliness: 2

Service and Staff: 3

Comfort: 3

Condition: 2

Location: 5

Value For Money: 3

Review Date:2015-08-02

Guest from Maidenhead Berkshire stayed for 7 nights.

Cobweb Cottage

Vellan Cottage has an excellent potential to be great. The immediate next door cottage owners were extremely helpfully and welcoming. However, we arrived at the cottage to find lots of cobwebs all over the place. We had had to remove them without adequate equipment to. A simple removal of the cobwebs would have made our stay comfortable than it was. Also for safety reasons the extension at the TV point can be dangerous for infants which can be easily resolved with adequate sockets where the TV is. Overall the cottage looks much in pictures than it actually is.

4.7

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 4

Condition: 4

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2014-09-29

Guest from Canterbury stayed for 7 nights.

Lovely place

We found Vellan Cottage to be a wonderful home away from home. It's in a fantastic position to explore the Lizard and the views from back over the fields are wonderful. Our 21-month old twin boys even got waves from the farmer in his tractor as he ploughed the field behind the garden one morning! The main bedroom is lovely and the bed is very comfortable. The bathroom is in need of a little updating, and we gathered that this was going to happen soon, but was absolutely fine (underfloor heating!) The kitchen has everything you could need and essential supplies such as tea bags, coffee, milk, cooking oil, salt and pepper were there when we arrived (also some nice biscuits). The TV is in an awkward position but we didn't have it on much. It works fine (Freesat has plenty of channels and reception was always good) as does the DVD player. However, the sofa wasn't too good. It was quite comfy but it's an old leather thing and the throw kept sliding off. WiFi reception was good, enough to stream programmes on iPlayer, but it did occaisionally not allow our phones to connect, but did let our tablet connect. The second bedroom has a bunk-bed but our boys slept in travel cots that we managed to fit in the second bedroom alongside the bunk-bed. It got a little chilly at that end of the house but there were two electric heaters available to help with that. We couldn't understand the storage heaters but had no need to use them. Parking right outside was really good, but parking underneath the trees left a sticky residue all over the car, so best to park away from the trees! All in all though, we loved our holiday there and would definitely go back again.

4.3

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 4

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 5

Condition: 3

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2014-09-15

Guest from London stayed for 14 nights.

Lovely place

Garden and views terrific in a quiet and peaceful setting. Cottage has a lovely atmosphere and is well equipped. The bed is very comfortable with a light but perfectly warm duvet and excellent pillows. Bathroom however needs updating.

Reply from Cottage Owner

Thank you for your very nice comments. Just to let you know that the bathroom has now been updated.

4.2

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 3

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 5

Condition: 4

Location: 5

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2014-08-18

Guest from Coventry stayed for 7 nights.

August 2014

Cottage is well placed, well equipped and very comfortable. An enclosed garden with super views is brilliant, especially with a dog. We were able to explore this part of Cornwall from a fabulous base. Local pubs in St Keverne very friendly with good food (also dog friendly). Prince of Wales pub/restaurant also fabulous- bit further afield and more expensive but delicious food and great service. Coverack beach is perfect and only a short drive away.

4.5

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 4

Condition: 4

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2014-08-11

Guest from Bromborough stayed for 14 nights.

vellan cottage

Quiet location,garden ideal for sitting out and having barbeque, nice views over the countryside. Good base for getting out and about,plenty too see and do in the area. Stayed for 2wks and no problems.

4.2

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 3

Comfort: 4

Condition: 4

Location: 4

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2014-07-14

Guest from Kingswinford stayed for 7 nights.

Lovely peaceful holiday cottage

Stayed the week with my husband, 7 yr old daughter and labrador. We all loved Vellan Cottage, and it was just big enough for a holiday where you spend most of your time exploring outdoors. Bunk bedroom fantastic for daughter, and our bed was supremely comfortable with lovely cosy covers. The enclosed garden was great for the dog but she wasn't too happy with the laminated floor in the kitchen diner, so worth taking note of if you're going with a dog. We had fantastic days out without travelling far, everybody was very friendly and we would definitely go again.

2.8

Out Of Five

Not Recommended

Cleanliness: 2

Service and Staff: 2

Comfort: 3

Condition: 3

Location: 4

Value For Money: 3

Review Date:2013-09-15

Guest from Brecon stayed for 7 nights.

Dirty cottage in Cornwall

Didn't see anyone during our stay - which was not problem however the door lock was broken, we were left a note to say a lock smith was due, but no one turned up. The property was in need of a good clean - cobwebs rule, as was the outside furniture.We had to clean the furniture before we could use it - not a big deal but not what we expected. Poorly equipped, we had to go out and buy mugs. As the weather was so good during our stay we didn't spend too much time in the property, had we needed to it would have been quite dismal.

Reply from CornwallsCottages.co.uk on behalf of the Owner

This is the first bad review we have had and certainly no one has ever complained before about cleanliness. Vellan's cottage manager normally does a great job with the cleaning and preparation to welcome guests on their arrival. We are sorry if you have had to buy extra mugs. We always provide 6 so perhaps you had extra visitors. As for the garden furniture needing wiping we apologise. We are very glad you had good weather for your stay.


Floor plans will appear here shortly.


View Larger Map
Coverack Cottage
Sleeps up to 4

Location: The Lizard

Coverack Cottage is a great value apartment in a wonderfully peaceful location on the Lizard Peninsula. Forming part of a small development, it is situated in beautiful countryside within a short drive of the idyllic Helford River, Frenchman's Creek and the delightful villages of St Keverne & Coverack. It is a few miles from the magical harbour village of Cadgwith as featured on TV in Monty Hall's Fisherman's Apprentice.

Discounts available for couples staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using one bedroom only!

Dog FriendlyWiFiParking availableCot availableHighchair availableGardenSaturday change over
More info
Cob Cottage at Higher Tregidden
Sleeps up to 6

Location: The Lizard

Set amongst rolling countryside in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, Cob Cottage at Higher Tregidden provides the perfect base for your holiday exploring the Lizard and Southwest Cornwall.

Discounts available for couples staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using one room only.

Dog FriendlyWiFiParking availableCot availableHighchair availableGardenDiscount for a coupleFriday change over
More info
Higher Tregidden Cottages
Sleeps up to 11

Location: The Lizard

Set amongst rolling countryside in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, the 2 cottages at Higher Tregidden provide the perfect base for your holiday exploring the Lizard and Southwest Cornwall.

Dog FriendlyWiFiParking availableCot availableHighchair availableGardenDiscount for a coupleFriday change over
More info
James' Cottage
Sleeps up to 5

Location: The Lizard

Set amongst rolling countryside in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, James' Cottage at Higher Tregidden provides the perfect base for your holiday exploring the Lizard and Southwest Cornwall.

Discounts available for couples staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using one room only.

Dog FriendlyWiFiOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableCot availableHighchair availableGardenDiscount for a coupleFriday change over
More info
Manor Arvor
Sleeps up to 2

Location: Porthallow

Manor Arvor at Roskorwell is cosy open plan living at its best, this single-storey cottage is filled with character and quality everywhere you look. French doors open onto the fountain courtyard and the enclosed garden has a hot tub and views across the valley to St Keverne and the sea, the perfect spot to sit and watch the sun go down. This is one of the most luxurious and well equipped one bedroom holiday cottages in Cornwall.

Beach within walking distancePub within walking distanceDog FriendlyWiFiOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableCot availableHighchair availableHot TubGardenNewly added propertyFriday change over
More info
Manor Fletching
Sleeps up to 4

Location: Porthallow

Manor Fletching at Roskorwell is a heavenly Cornish barn conversion set back from the cliffs above Porthallow on the dramatic Lizard Peninsula with stunning coastal and countryside views. A luxurious property with a private hot tub and 2 super kingsized beds (one can be 2 singles) make this the perfect couples retreat in a tranquil yet spectacular part of Cornwall.

Beach within walking distancePub within walking distanceDog FriendlyWiFiOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableCot availableHighchair availableHot TubGardenNewly added propertySaturday change over
More info
Roskorwell Manor House
Sleeps up to 11

Location: Porthallow

Roskorwell Manor is a detached period farmhouse sympathetically refurbished with warm colours following an American South Western theme. It is set back from the cliffs above Porthallow on the dramatic Lizard Peninsula. It is superbly equipped and with views across the rural landscape to the sea beyond. This is an amazing house for a group or family gathering as outside there is a games-room, hot tub and gardens. Roskorwell Manor offers something for guests of all ages.

A 40% discount is available for groups of 6 or less using 3 bedrooms of the main house staying for 7 nights during off peak weeks. A 20% discount is available at all times for groups of 9 or less not using the annexe and staying for 7 nights. Please note that if you have a group of 9 or less and wish to use the annexe, you will not be entitled to the discount.

Sea viewsBeach within walking distancePub within walking distanceDog FriendlyWiFiOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableCot availableHighchair availableHot TubGardenNewly added propertyDiscount for a coupleSaturday change over
More info
Manor Farmhouse
Sleeps up to 8

Location: Porthallow

Manor Farmhouse at Roskorwell is a truly luxurious barn conversion just set back from the cliffs above Porthallow on the dramatic Lizard Peninsula with stunning coastal and countryside views. A spacious property with a private hot tub and a beautiful garden with amazing views, this could be the ideal Cornish retreat for family and friends.

Discounts available for 4 people or less staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using 2 bedrooms only.

Sea viewsBeach within walking distancePub within walking distanceDog FriendlyWiFiOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableCot availableHighchair availableHot TubGardenNewly added propertyDiscount for a coupleFriday change over
More info
Lestowder Cottage
Sleeps up to 6

Location: The Lizard

Lestowder Farm Cottage is a rural retreat hidden deep on the Lizard Peninsula. There is a fishing lake and 1/4 acre of private garden and the beach is just a 5 minute walk down the hill. The cottage itself has lots of character features including a wood burning stove and the master bedroom has a king size four poster bed!

Discounts available for couples staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using one bedroom only!

Beach within walking distanceDog FriendlyWiFiOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableCot availableHighchair availableGardenDiscount for a coupleSaturday change over
More info
Wild Acres
Sleeps up to 4

Location: Coverack, The Lizard

Escape to one of the most beautiful, unspoilt areas of Cornwall! Hidden away on a remote tract of the Lizard peninsula near Kennack Sands, Wild Acres is a well thought out refurbishment of this rustic coastal building in a wonderful location just 100 yards from the beach and with splendid 180 degree sea views. The property is well presented by the Owners inside, whilst being positioned along some of the wildest coastline in Cornwall! Be prepared for a wild escape where you can experience the true taste of the Cornish coast. Look forward to storm watching during the winter months or lazing on the sandy beach in the summer!

Sea viewsBeach within walking distanceDog FriendlyWiFiParking availableCot availableHighchair availableGardenFriday change over
More info

Top