• Home
  • Destination

    Discover the Regions of Cornwall

    North Cornwall

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in North Cornwall.

    Read More
    South East Cornwall

    Please find listed below all our holiday cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in South East Cornwall.

    Read More
    South West Cornwall

    ​Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in South West Cornwall.

    Read More
    The Roseland

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in St Mawes and on the Roseland Peninsula.

    Read More
    The Atlantic Coast

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation on the Atlantic Coast

    Read More
    West Cornwall

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in West Cornwall.

    Read More
  • Inspiration

    Cornwall Holiday Inspiration

    Dog Friendly
    We have some lovely pet & dog friendly accommodation in Cornwall. Many of our holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall are pet and dog friendly. Cornwall is a fabulous place to bring your dog, with miles and miles or coastal and inland paths to explore. Do be careful near the cliffs as many edges are unprotected, or with only gorse or bracken separating your pet from the sea. Please check which beaches are dog friendly, many have restrictions during peak periods. Some properties may charge a small additional fee for pets.We have over 270 dog and pet friendly rental properties in all locations.  Choose from countryside, town or beach cottages with wonderful views, apartments, barn conversions, beach houses, harbour side and cliff top cottages. Many of our pet friendly holiday homes have gardens and the beach on your doorstep providing the perfect setting for you and your dog.
    Hot Tub
    We have some lovely accommodation with hot tubs in Cornwall. We have an increasing number of holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall with hot tubs or whirlpools on site. A prefect way to relax after exploring the region. Many are private hot tubs, but a few are shared access, check individual properties for details.
    Sea views
    We have some wonderful sea view cottages to rent in the finest waterside locations Being a Peninsula, Cornwall is bordered on two sides by the sea providing the most amazing sea views. From the crashing surf of the Atlantic Ocean to the soft idyllic views around the south coast, you are sure to enjoy the sights and smells of Cornish coastal living. Several of our properties have sea views and they are exactly as the pictures show. Please see individual details to see whether you will be lying in bed looking out to sea, or enjoying a glass of something on the terrace whilst watching the local regatta sail past. St Mawes has our highest density of sea view properties, but with new locations across Cornwall being added all the time please keep a look out until you find exactly what you are looking for. 
    Beach within walking distance
    We have a large selection of accommodation within walking distance of a beach in Cornwall Many of our holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall are within easy reach of a fabulous beach. Picturesque walks along the cliffs or a short jaunt through cobbled streets, make walking to a beach a memory in itself. Cornwall offers long stretches of sandy beaches as we as cute coves with pebbles to skim. An increase in beach cafes across the region offer a range of home made cakes, Cornish ice creams, and even gourmet meals to refresh you after a long day on the beach.  Throughout the winter months you'll find an array of windsurfing, kite surfing, body-boarding and surfing beaches, predominantly across the north coast, but also if the wind is in the right direction the south can offering great waves.
    Luxury holiday home
    We have some amazing luxury homes, cottages and self catering accommodation to rent in some of Cornwall's finest locations.
    Romantic cottage
    We have some lovely romantic accommodation in Cornwall. Cornwall offers the romantic many a quiet secluded location! With quaint tea rooms and cosy country pubs and roaring fires no wonder it is so popular with those wishing to pop the question or newlyweds just getting away from it all. St Mawes Castle is increasingly becoming the place to get married, either inside or on the lawns looking across the River Fal to Falmouth as the sun sets. Many of our properties deemed 'Romantic Holiday Cottages' are located in the depths of the county with log fires perfect for some cosy nights in.
    Budget self catering in Cornwall
    We have some lovely budget accommodation in Cornwall. Many of our holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall offer excellent value for money. On a budget? Looking for a cheap cottage in Cornwall without compromising on quality? We have a lovely selection of affordable accommodation for your holiday in Cornwall. Please be assured that any of our 'cheap Cornwall cottages' are of good quality and represent excellent value for money. Many of our cottages are also available for shorter Cornwall breaks.
    Cornwall Breaks

    Weather looking good this weekend?  Do you fancy a last minute escape to Cornwall?  We have lots of great properties available for 3 day breaks starting on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday or midweek short breaks arriving on a Monday or a Tuesday.

    Last Minute Cornwall Cottages

    Weather looking good this weekend?  Do you fancy a last minute escape to Cornwall?  We have lots of great properties available for 3 day breaks starting on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday.

  • Blog
  • Help

T: 01872 264441

Menu
Explore 3D Space
3D Tour View Photos

Vellan Cottage

Holiday Cottage in The Lizard

Sleeps 4 - Bedrooms 2 - From £289

Dog Friendly
WiFi
Parking available
Garden
Saturday change over
Located on a small development surrounded by the wild countryside of the rugged Lizard Peninsula, Vellan Cottage is only a short drive from either St Keverne or Coverack, is close to a number of beaches and the spectacular coastal footpath. The cottage is well presented and offers a secure garden perfect for relaxing during the day, or even stargazing at night. One of our many dog friendly cottages.

Property Details

This comfortable apartment is well presented by a caring Owner and provides an excellent base from which to explore this wild and rugged part of Cornwall. The area is perfect for walkers and there are miles of footpaths to explore straight from the property or alternatively the spectacular coastal path can be picked up at numerous locations around the Lizard Peninsular. St Keverne, Coverack, Cadgwith Cove, Lizard Point, Kynance Cove and Mullion are all delightful places to visit and explore. The magical Helford River and Frenchman's Creek is only a short drive away. It is just a few miles from the magical harbour village of Cadgwith as featured on TV in Monty Hall's Fisherman's Apprentice.

The apartment itself benefits from a main double bedroom and a compact bunk room which can accommodate adults as they are full sized beds. The living room and kitchen area is open plan with access to the delightful patio and garden area. Views across the fields are towards St Keverne, you can see the church spire.

Accommodation
Ground Floor Only: Open plan kitchen, dining area and sitting room. Double bedroom with separate bathroom & over bath shower (newly refurbished), followed by the bunk bed room.
Exterior: A lovely enclosed back garden which is secure for children and a wonderful place to relax. Views across the countryside.

Facilities & Services
Heating is via night storage and electric heating. The kitchen has a range of equipment. There is an electric oven and hob, a microwave, toaster, kettle and fridge / freezer. There is a washing machine/dryer in a shed at the end of the cottage. The sitting room area has a flatscreen digital TV & DVD player, and radio. There is WiFi available at the property. There is an iron & ironing board.

Miscellaneous
Electricity, heating, bed linen and towels are all included but you will need to provide your own beach towels. Only one dog will be permitted at a small additional cost of £25 per dog / per week, although please remember that you cannot leave dogs unattended in the cottage. There is a designated parking space on the courtyard next to the cottage. Regrettably no smoking is allowed. PLEASE BE AWARE THAT THE MAXIMUM CAPACITY AT THIS PROPERTY, INCLUDING INFANTS OR CHILDREN, IS 4.

General Booking Information
Arrival / Departure is normally a Saturday.
Short breaks are available during quieter periods.
£100 pre-authorised to your credit or debit card as a security deposit is required.

Discounts available for couples staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using one bedroom only.

Property Location


The property is under a mile from the little village of St Keverne which has shops, a Post Office, churches and pubs.Amazing beaches at Kennack Sands & Kynance Cove are just a short distance away. The harbour village of Coverack is about a 10 minute drive away and has a selection of places to eat including a superb fish restaurant in the old lifeboat station. Water sports facilities are also available in Coverack. The Helford River is about 4 miles away. Walks along the famous Frenchman's Creek are enchanting. There is a sailing club with launching facilities and a little ferry operates to nearby Helford Passage on the north side of the river where there is the superb Ferry Boat Inn.

The Lizard is an 'Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty'and has some spectacular coastal walks. It is England's most southerly point and the highlights include early Spring flowers, the Lizard lighthouse, swimming and surfing from sandy beaches, delightful fishing coves, sailing on the Helford river, heather covered moors in Autumn, open gardens and National Trust areas, pretty harbour lights at Christmas, friendly pubs and good, fresh, local food!

There is a greater range of shops in Helston (famous for its Floral Dance) which is a short drive away or alternatively, the larger towns of Falmouth or Truro have a wide range of shops. The famous Flambards park is located close to Helston.

Property Reviews

4.2 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 3
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Functional and great location

This is a really nice little cottage in a peaceful location - and all at a very good price for the area. ItA?s small but functional, equipped reasonably well (we had no issues feeding a family of four with what we had). Kids loved the bunk beds. Only slight negative is water pressure - itA?s very low so taking a shower is challenging, youA?d be better off using a water pistol :). Also worth of mention that if you donA?t like spiders - you may want to vacuum the ceilings when you arrive as we did - the countryside location means there are loads of them around! We would definitely consider using this place as a base again given the location and relatively low cost of accommodation.

From the Owner:
Dear Matthew Thank you very much for your nice review. So sorry about the spiders! Unfortunately they love the Cornish hedge at the bottom of the garden. We do try to keep them at bay and I will let our cleaners know they need to vacume the rafters! Also apologies for the water pressure. We are in the process of arranging for a pump to be put in and that should solve the problem. So sorry it wasn't more powerful. If you come again, I can't promise a power shower, but it will be greatly improved.

2.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 3
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 2
Condition: 3
Location: 1
Value For Money: 4

stay at Vellan

We had a lovely stay at Vallen The only thing was that the owner brought cleaners to my cottage to show them round which invaded our privacy We came for peace and quiet and I thought this should have been done before I arrived for my holiday

From the Owner:
Dear guests. Thank you for your feedback and we were sorry to hear that our 10 minute visit disturbed your peace and quiet. We did try to time it for later in the morning before you headed out to explore and you did give us permission to pop in. This was a one off as we had lost a cleaner at short notice but thankfully have one in place now. Many thanks Cottage owner

3.2 out of 5

Cleanliness: 3
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 3
Condition: 3
Location: 4
Value For Money: 3

Vellan cottage

Nice location, nice patio area with lovely views In need of an electric shower, as only has one attached to the taps which has no pressure at all, I had to have a bath everyday, wouldn't be able to rince my hair with the trickle. No cupboard space for food in kitchen, so if you were planning a long stay and cooking at home would be an issue. The furniture and carpets are a bit worn and tired. Perfect if you have dogs and kids, as you won't be worried about making a mess.

From the Owner:

3.2 out of 5

Cleanliness: 3
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 3
Condition: 3
Location: 3
Value For Money: 3

Short stay for a weekend diving trip

We found the cottage ok, down single track roads. Close to the lovely little village of St Keverne which has 2 pubs and local shops. Locals were very friendly and pubs dog friendly. Amazing walks all around and scenery stunning. Could have easily stayed longer but we were there predominantly for a diving trip. Will visit the area again thatA?s for sure!!

From the Owner:

3.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 3
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 3
Location: 3
Value For Money: 4

Short break

Stayed for 4 nights. Cottage was as advertised and it was lovely to find milk, scones jam and cream provided to welcome us in. It made a good base for our stay but was a little off the beaten track. A good spring clean would bring the cottage fully up to scratch and I would recommend this be done ready for the start of the 2019 season.

From the Owner:

2.8 out of 5

Cleanliness: 2
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 3
Condition: 2
Location: 4
Value For Money: 3

Wouldn't take much to make it a nice little cottage

The location of the cottage is good for exploring the Lizard (lots of narrow, windy roads) and the beds were really comfortable. The cottage needs a good clean - there were dog hairs everywhere and the kitchen cupboards need a good clean. The shower is a pathetic trickle and leaks onto the bathroom floor, no matter how careful you are with the shower curtain! The cottage is quite damp, which means it smells musty, particularly in the kids room. There is nowhere to hang wet clothes - an airer would be really useful. There wasn't much information (eg. where is the nearest shop) and the welcome pack was not very welcoming - just tea and coffee and some tiny biscuits. The furniture is tired and needs upgrading. It would not take much to make it into a lovely cottage, but it feels like they don't care. It was however very cheap in comparison to others in Cornwall.

From the Owner:
Dear guests. Thank you for your feedback and suggestions for improvements. We were sorry to hear that there were dog hairs everywhere. This is unusual as our cleaners usually do a great job but it is sometimes hard to hoover and clean up all evidence of dogs and dog owners who have stayed previously especially if their dogs are hairy. The cleaners do their best. The kitchen cupboards are well cleaned after every visit however we are aware that there are is an indelible mark in the lefthand cupboard. We will remedy this immediately. We are aware that the shower, although newly fitted, needs a water pressure boost and this will be fixed next week. Properties in Cornwall can be prone to a bit of damp when the there is not adequate ventilation. We have found that as long as there is good air circulation especially in the summer months there shouldn't be a problem. We do not provide an airer as we have a very efficient tumbler drier which guests use if the weather is bad. We do provide an information pack which lists lots of useful stuff including where the nearest shop is. We find the furniture comfortable and in fitting with the character of the cottage. I hope my reply has been useful for future guests.

4.3 out of 5

Cleanliness: 3
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Wonderful Location

Vellan Cottage is a cosy little cottage tucked in a beautiful location. We had a great week with 2 kids. The cottage is on the smaller side but sufficient in terms of size. The views from the back garden are beautiful. The location is few miles away from beautiful village of Coverack and may be half an hour ride from famous Lizard Peninsula views. Really had a good time.

From the Owner:

3.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 3
Condition: 4
Location: 4
Value For Money: 3

Vellan

Lovely little cottage. Bit too overlooked by other cottages but back garden views stunning. Good location to reach beaches and sightseeing. Nice area. Very rural and beautiful.

From the Owner:

2.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 2
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 3
Condition: 2
Location: 3
Value For Money: 3

Disappointing

I booked as a two bedroomed cottage, yet only one bed was made up for use. The enclosed garden was not dog secure which meant I could not leave my pet unattended in the garden. There was dog poo on the lawn on arrival. There was no hot water on arrival. The bath size and washbasin were both inadequate. The kitchen requires complete new sink/drainer. No washing machine. The property was overlooked by adjoining cottages.

From the Owner:
Dear John I am sorry that you found Vellan Cottage to be disappointing. In answer to your complaint that the second bunk bed bedroom was not made up, because you booked as a couple, my cottage manager would have assumed that you didn't need the use of the second bedroom. However we always keep spare bed linen for that room in the hot cupboard so you could have made up an extra bed if you had needed it. The garden is described as secure more for children than for pets. A small dog can obviously get through the hedge. We do ask that dog owners keep there dogs on leads at all times if outside the cottage on the property. This avoids dog mess and also the risk that the dogs run off or enter the other cottage owners gardens. I am very sorry there was dog mess on our lawn when you arrived. My cottage manager must have missed it and it could have been possibly a local dog or a fox or badger from the night before. Difficult to spot or know for sure in such a rural area. So sorry about the water. We have never had a complaint about it before. If you had read my cottage information booklet you would have seen that there is a booster dial on the thermostat in the hot cupboard. If you had found it , the water heats in 30 mins. The washing machine is in the little shed on the end of the house by the car parking space. This is also clearly explained in the cottage information booklet. No one has ever complained about the bath size or the wash basin before and for practical reasons the bathroom is not big enough to have large size fittings. We are about to update the kitchen sink and drainer and this will be done before the start of next season. We do not advertise the property as not being overlooked. It is described as being located on a small development. I hope this has answered some of your comments and I can only apologise once again for the hot water not being on.

4.2 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 3
Condition: 3
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Cosy Cottage in Stunning Countryside.

We had a lovely week at Vellan Cottage. We love the area. The cottage was very compact and clean. As we cooked most days I would say the kitchen sink area is in need of an update. A proper draining board by the sink would have been better than a rack on a tray. The cooker was fine and looked new and the bed was comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked with pans and everything we needed. The internet was a bit hit and miss and the tv screen very small. On the whole very warm and cosy. We will probably go for a bigger cottage next time.

From the Owner:

3 out of 5

Cleanliness: 2
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 3
Condition: 2
Location: 5
Value For Money: 3

Cobweb Cottage

Vellan Cottage has an excellent potential to be great. The immediate next door cottage owners were extremely helpfully and welcoming. However, we arrived at the cottage to find lots of cobwebs all over the place. We had had to remove them without adequate equipment to. A simple removal of the cobwebs would have made our stay comfortable than it was. Also for safety reasons the extension at the TV point can be dangerous for infants which can be easily resolved with adequate sockets where the TV is. Overall the cottage looks much in pictures than it actually is.

From the Owner:

4.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Lovely place

We found Vellan Cottage to be a wonderful home away from home. It's in a fantastic position to explore the Lizard and the views from back over the fields are wonderful. Our 21-month old twin boys even got waves from the farmer in his tractor as he ploughed the field behind the garden one morning! The main bedroom is lovely and the bed is very comfortable. The bathroom is in need of a little updating, and we gathered that this was going to happen soon, but was absolutely fine (underfloor heating!) The kitchen has everything you could need and essential supplies such as tea bags, coffee, milk, cooking oil, salt and pepper were there when we arrived (also some nice biscuits). The TV is in an awkward position but we didn't have it on much. It works fine (Freesat has plenty of channels and reception was always good) as does the DVD player. However, the sofa wasn't too good. It was quite comfy but it's an old leather thing and the throw kept sliding off. WiFi reception was good, enough to stream programmes on iPlayer, but it did occaisionally not allow our phones to connect, but did let our tablet connect. The second bedroom has a bunk-bed but our boys slept in travel cots that we managed to fit in the second bedroom alongside the bunk-bed. It got a little chilly at that end of the house but there were two electric heaters available to help with that. We couldn't understand the storage heaters but had no need to use them. Parking right outside was really good, but parking underneath the trees left a sticky residue all over the car, so best to park away from the trees! All in all though, we loved our holiday there and would definitely go back again.

From the Owner:

4.3 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 5
Condition: 3
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Lovely place

Garden and views terrific in a quiet and peaceful setting. Cottage has a lovely atmosphere and is well equipped. The bed is very comfortable with a light but perfectly warm duvet and excellent pillows. Bathroom however needs updating.

From the Owner:
Thank you for your very nice comments. Just to let you know that the bathroom has now been updated.

4.2 out of 5

Cleanliness: 3
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 5
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

August 2014

Cottage is well placed, well equipped and very comfortable. An enclosed garden with super views is brilliant, especially with a dog. We were able to explore this part of Cornwall from a fabulous base. Local pubs in St Keverne very friendly with good food (also dog friendly). Prince of Wales pub/restaurant also fabulous- bit further afield and more expensive but delicious food and great service. Coverack beach is perfect and only a short drive away.

From the Owner:

4.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

vellan cottage

Quiet location,garden ideal for sitting out and having barbeque, nice views over the countryside. Good base for getting out and about,plenty too see and do in the area. Stayed for 2wks and no problems.

From the Owner:

4.2 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 4
Value For Money: 5

Lovely peaceful holiday cottage

Stayed the week with my husband, 7 yr old daughter and labrador. We all loved Vellan Cottage, and it was just big enough for a holiday where you spend most of your time exploring outdoors. Bunk bedroom fantastic for daughter, and our bed was supremely comfortable with lovely cosy covers. The enclosed garden was great for the dog but she wasn't too happy with the laminated floor in the kitchen diner, so worth taking note of if you're going with a dog. We had fantastic days out without travelling far, everybody was very friendly and we would definitely go again.

From the Owner:

2.8 out of 5

Cleanliness: 2
Service and Staff: 2
Comfort: 3
Condition: 3
Location: 4
Value For Money: 3

Dirty cottage in Cornwall

Didn't see anyone during our stay - which was not problem however the door lock was broken, we were left a note to say a lock smith was due, but no one turned up. The property was in need of a good clean - cobwebs rule, as was the outside furniture.We had to clean the furniture before we could use it - not a big deal but not what we expected. Poorly equipped, we had to go out and buy mugs. As the weather was so good during our stay we didn't spend too much time in the property, had we needed to it would have been quite dismal.

From the Owner:
This is the first bad review we have had and certainly no one has ever complained before about cleanliness. Vellan's cottage manager normally does a great job with the cleaning and preparation to welcome guests on their arrival. We are sorry if you have had to buy extra mugs. We always provide 6 so perhaps you had extra visitors. As for the garden furniture needing wiping we apologise. We are very glad you had good weather for your stay.

Read More

Property Floorplans


Floor plans will appear here shortly.


Street View

Nearby Properties

Nearby Attractions

Check availability & book

Calendar Loading...