• Home
  • Destination

    Discover the Regions of Cornwall

    North Cornwall

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in North Cornwall.

    Read More
    South East Cornwall

    Please find listed below all our holiday cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in South East Cornwall.

    Read More
    South West Cornwall

    ​Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in South West Cornwall.

    Read More
    The Roseland

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in St Mawes and on the Roseland Peninsula.

    Read More
    The Atlantic Coast

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation on the Atlantic Coast

    Read More
    West Cornwall

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in West Cornwall.

    Read More
  • Inspiration

    Cornwall Holiday Inspiration

    Dog Friendly
    We have some lovely pet & dog friendly accommodation in Cornwall. Many of our holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall are pet and dog friendly. Cornwall is a fabulous place to bring your dog, with miles and miles or coastal and inland paths to explore. Do be careful near the cliffs as many edges are unprotected, or with only gorse or bracken separating your pet from the sea. Please check which beaches are dog friendly, many have restrictions during peak periods. Some properties may charge a small additional fee for pets.We have over 270 dog and pet friendly rental properties in all locations.  Choose from countryside, town or beach cottages with wonderful views, apartments, barn conversions, beach houses, harbour side and cliff top cottages. Many of our pet friendly holiday homes have gardens and the beach on your doorstep providing the perfect setting for you and your dog.
    Hot Tub
    We have some lovely accommodation with hot tubs in Cornwall. We have an increasing number of holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall with hot tubs or whirlpools on site. A prefect way to relax after exploring the region. Many are private hot tubs, but a few are shared access, check individual properties for details.
    Sea views
    We have some wonderful sea view cottages to rent in the finest waterside locations Being a Peninsula, Cornwall is bordered on two sides by the sea providing the most amazing sea views. From the crashing surf of the Atlantic Ocean to the soft idyllic views around the south coast, you are sure to enjoy the sights and smells of Cornish coastal living. Several of our properties have sea views and they are exactly as the pictures show. Please see individual details to see whether you will be lying in bed looking out to sea, or enjoying a glass of something on the terrace whilst watching the local regatta sail past. St Mawes has our highest density of sea view properties, but with new locations across Cornwall being added all the time please keep a look out until you find exactly what you are looking for. 
    Beach within walking distance
    We have a large selection of accommodation within walking distance of a beach in Cornwall Many of our holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall are within easy reach of a fabulous beach. Picturesque walks along the cliffs or a short jaunt through cobbled streets, make walking to a beach a memory in itself. Cornwall offers long stretches of sandy beaches as we as cute coves with pebbles to skim. An increase in beach cafes across the region offer a range of home made cakes, Cornish ice creams, and even gourmet meals to refresh you after a long day on the beach.  Throughout the winter months you'll find an array of windsurfing, kite surfing, body-boarding and surfing beaches, predominantly across the north coast, but also if the wind is in the right direction the south can offering great waves.
    Luxury holiday home
    We have some amazing luxury homes, cottages and self catering accommodation to rent in some of Cornwall's finest locations.
    Romantic cottage
    We have some lovely romantic accommodation in Cornwall. Cornwall offers the romantic many a quiet secluded location! With quaint tea rooms and cosy country pubs and roaring fires no wonder it is so popular with those wishing to pop the question or newlyweds just getting away from it all. St Mawes Castle is increasingly becoming the place to get married, either inside or on the lawns looking across the River Fal to Falmouth as the sun sets. Many of our properties deemed 'Romantic Holiday Cottages' are located in the depths of the county with log fires perfect for some cosy nights in.
    Budget self catering in Cornwall
    We have some lovely budget accommodation in Cornwall. Many of our holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall offer excellent value for money. On a budget? Looking for a cheap cottage in Cornwall without compromising on quality? We have a lovely selection of affordable accommodation for your holiday in Cornwall. Please be assured that any of our 'cheap Cornwall cottages' are of good quality and represent excellent value for money. Many of our cottages are also available for shorter Cornwall breaks.
    Cornwall Breaks

    Weather looking good this weekend?  Do you fancy a last minute escape to Cornwall?  We have lots of great properties available for 3 day breaks starting on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday or midweek short breaks arriving on a Monday or a Tuesday.

    Last Minute Cornwall Cottages

    Weather looking good this weekend?  Do you fancy a last minute escape to Cornwall?  We have lots of great properties available for 3 day breaks starting on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday.

  • Blog
  • Help

T: 01872 264441

Menu
Explore 3D Space
3D Tour View Photos

The Watch House

Holiday Cottage in St Mawes

Sleeps 6 - Bedrooms 3 - From £849

Sea views
Beach within walking distance
Shops within walking distance
Pub within walking distance
WiFi
Saturday change over
The Watch House is an immaculately presented 3 bedroom luxury apartment set in the heart of the picturesque village of St Mawes with views of the Harbour and bay from every room. The apartment has been designed and refurbished in a contemporary style and includes a stunning lounge and dining area with open plan fully fitted kitchen. The living space has 2 large windows with uninterrupted views and is a wonderful place to relax and let the world pass you by!

Property Details

The Watch House is an immaculately presented 3 bedroom luxury apartment set in the heart of the picturesque village of St Mawes with views of the Harbour and bay from every room. The apartment has been designed and refurbished in a contemporary style and includes a stunning lounge and dining area with open plan fully fitted kitchen. The living space has 2 large windows with uninterrupted views and is a wonderful place to relax and let the world pass you by!

The Watch House is superbly positioned overlooking St Mawes Harbour with its shops, pubs and hotels. You could literally throw a stone onto the beach from the apartment! From the harbour in St Mawes, you can take ferries to Falmouth, Truro, Place Manor and many other parts of the estuary. The harbour itself is a great place to watch the world. Take in a coffee, read the newspaper, watch the ferries come and go, take a stroll to the St Mawes Castle, have a cream tea at the famous Tresanton Hotel!

The Watch House apartment is set over two floors of this prominent historic building with the entrance hall and utility room on the first floor and the living areas on the second floor. The apartment is very well equipped has all the facilities one would expect in a luxury property. Superfast WiFi access and a large flat screen TV are included for you to use.

Accommodation
First Floor: Utility room and entrance hall.
Second Floor: Stairs up to the main corridor (please be careful of the low beams) leading to the bedrooms and living area. The main lounge has a large comfortable sofa and a huge adult bean bag. There is a glass dining table and an open plan fully equipped kitchen with granite work surfaces. Views from both windows. The main double bedroom has a king sized bed with chests of drawers and wardrobe with further views across the harbour. The single bedroom is ideal for an adult or 2 children as there is a further pull out single bed. There are views across the bay. The smaller double bedroom is really light with views across the bay and to the rear over the village square and the Rising Sun. There is a family bathroom with electric over bath shower & WC, separate shower room and separate WC.

Facilities & Services
The kitchen has an electric oven and hob, slimline dishwasher, fridge, microwave, kettle, toaster and granite worktops. CD player and large flat screen TV with DVD player. Superfast WiFi internet access throughout the apartment. The utility room has a washing machine and tumble dryer, small freezer and hanging space. The apartment has electrical central heating.

Miscellaneous
Electricity, heating & bed linen are included, but please bring your own towels. The apartment is in the middle of St Mawes and there are a number of shops and places to eat nearby. The Co-op local supermarket is 150 yards away. The Rising Sun with its fabulous terrace is across the road. There are 2 other pubs in the village plus the Idle Rocks and Tresanton Hotels with their fine restaurants. Regrettably this property does not accept pets.

General Booking Information
Arrival / Departure is on a Saturday.
A security deposit of £200 pre-authorised to your debit or credit card is required.
Short breaks are available at certain times of the year.
Discounts available for couples staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using one room only.

Property Location


St Mawes is one of the finest waterside villages in Cornwall. Situated overlooking an idyllic bay on the eastern side of the famous Falmouth Estuary, St Mawes has one of the mildest climates in Britain due to its proximity to the Gulf Stream. The sea is at the heart of the village and has helped to shape St Mawes from the little fishing village to the fashionable holiday destination that is so popular with visitors. A mecca for boating enthusiasts, St Mawes is a particularly popular sailing centre. Weekly club racing, village regattas and larger events are commonplace on the superb waters of the bay all through the summer.

St Mawes has so much to offer the visitor. St Mawes Castle was built by Henry VIII and is a splendid place to take in the views of the Carrick Roads. There are miles of coastal and countryside walks to take in and some idyllic beaches on which to relax and watch the world go by. The little Place Ferry takes visitors to explore St Anthony's Head or there are regular ferries to Falmouth. Being situated on the seafront, the village is also known for the restaurants and pubs that serve superb fish and shellfish dishes all year round.

Property Reviews

4.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Lovely week in St Mawes!

We really enjoyed our stay at The Watch House. It was very comfortable and in a perfect location. We particularly loved the beautiful views from nearly every window in the whole apartment, the main living area and being able to go straight out to the sea. It felt like we were in the heart of things and we didn't have to use our car for the whole week. The Watch House is a very nice place to stay. The bedrooms are a decent size and the shower is excellent. Just a couple of small points: The apartment is above a restaurant (absolutely excellent by the way) and a fish and chip takeaway (also excellent) so there is noise from the takeaway ventilation and customers at certain points of the day, and there is the smell of frying every day at lunchtime and in the evening. This didn't particularly bother us. We would have been grateful for a few more basic supplies: bin bags, kitchen roll and washing up liquid would be good to have in stock for all guests. But again, this is a small point. (Also, could you remove the decorative sea scene fish tank in the kitchen area and put it somewhere else? It is a fun feature but it was irritating not to have more preparation space in the kitchen!)

From the Owner:

4.2 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 4
Condition: 3
Location: 5
Value For Money: 3

Beautiful views from a spacious flat

We have stayed in the watch house 3 times over the last 8 years. We like it because of its central location and beautiful views across the harbour. We stayed there this time for the first time in 5 years. We were suprised to find that it was exactly the same in every way, no new furniture or updates to the flats decor. My parents stayed in the 1st bedroom as you go up the stairs they said that the mattress was the hardest thing they had ever slept on and was very uncomfortable, neither of them slept very well the whole week due to this. Overall we use the watch house due to its location and views.

From the Owner:
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to provide feedback. That's very much appreciated - especially from guests who've stayed with us so many times! And we're delighted you came back again to enjoy the really spectacular views. As you say, it's a glorious location! The apartment is actually redecorated on average every two years - although we do retain the neutral colour palette each time. The Axminster carpet in the living room has also recently been replaced. We haven't felt the need to replace furniture as it's pristine and always treated so considerately by all of the guests. And of course, it's only really used for a few months during the summer. Ironically the mattress you mention is also a replacement - following feedback from other guests that the previous one was too soft. Individual preferences for level of support are quite personal I suppose and naturally dependant upon individual circumstances. But we hope the firmness of support didn't detract from the enjoyment of their stay too much. Thanks again and we really hope you stay with us again soon. Best wishes Lynn & Steve

4.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Fantasic Place

We were a family of 5 and it was our first visit to St Mawes. The accommodation at the Watch House (top floor) was perfect for us. Great views of the bay, ideal position in town, nothing is more than a stone's throw away. The facilities in The Watch House were all we needed. Great to have a utility to store beach things and also wash&dry clothes. The town itself is charming, good food and drink options and plenty to do around and about, will certainly visit again.

From the Owner:

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

best location

The watch house is in the best location right in the centre of the village with the most amazing views.

From the Owner:

3.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 3
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 3
Condition: 3
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Sarah and Paul's review

We adore St Mawes, and the Watch House is beautifully located providing stunning views of the harbour and beyond from every window. The accommodation suits us and the place is comfortable except ( as we have pointed out before) for the soft furniture in the living room, which is not easy to sit in comfortably. We prefer to use the window seats. This was our third visit to the Watch House and the first time we experienced a slight but significant lack of attention to detail. For instance, several light bulbs were blown. We had to replace the two for the light over the hob, which is there for a reason! Also there was a leak in the piping below the sink in the utility room, which was obviously known about as there was a small container placed to catch the water but which just kept overflowing if we didn't keep an eye on it. It's disappointing that these issues had not been addressed.

From the Owner:
Hello Paul, We're delighted you enjoyed your stay in St Mawes - and of course very pleased you chose to stay with us at the Watch House for a third time! We're always grateful for your comments and feedback - that's very much appreciated. Both of the items you mentioned were attended to promptly: the drip under the sink in the utility room (from a weeping stop valve for the washing machine) has been replaced; and the light bulbs you mentioned also changed. Our apologies for these small oversights. We're also glad you enjoyed the window seats - the views across the harbour really are fantastic aren't they! Hope you stay again soon Best wishes Stephen

4.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Heart of St Mawes

The Watch House is well situated in the heart of St Mawes over the Watch House restaurant and takeaway. There were no smells of frying fish from below and little noise. The accommodation suited us perfectly - my 86 year old father, my brother and I. My father loved sitting at the windows and watching the ferries and the world go by. The one slight draw back is that there is nowhere to sit outside but there is always the Rising Sun or the many benches nearby.

From the Owner:

4.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 3

The Watch House

The Watch House apartment was fantastic, with everything and much more than you could wish for in a self catering apartment. It is a loft conversion that has been done to the highest standard, and was absolutely spotless on our arrival. There are low angled beams in the corridor to the stairs, but I am 6ft 1 in and it wasn`t a problem. I had read reviews before I booked, and some complained of the noise from the restaurant below. This was an issue for me, as I suffer from sleeping issues and am a VERY light sleeper. The noise from below was barely noticeable, and it did not effect me at all. A beautiful apartment with stunning views over the bay. If I were to be hyper critical, then I would suggest an upgrade of the TV and free view system, there are not as many channels as on my own free view, and with the bad weather that we experienced, a few more channels would have been great. Also a window cleaner would not go amiss, but as I said, that is being hyper critical, the apartment is fantastic, with lots of room. If it wasn`t for the horrendous 400 + miles drive, I wouldn`t hesitate to book it again. Many thanks to all involved in this wonderful place

From the Owner:

4.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Superb views

Another wonderful stay at the Watch House. Just a stones throw from the beach which is perfect with the two young children. Lovely views onto the harbour and lovely modern apartment with everything you need. Can be a little noisy in the mornings due to being in the centre of the village but this didn't bother us and you expect that with the location. Only downside is the window in second bedroom still hasn't been fixed (broken when we went last year) and with the brilliant weather would have been useful to open to get some extra air in. We had a wonderful week and would thoroughly recommend to anyone wanting St Mawes. Beautiful locatio and the house keeper, Katrina, was very friendly and helpful.

From the Owner:

4.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 4
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

April in St Mawes

We chose a great time for our trip, off-peak but all shops cafes pubs and restaurants open. On the whole the weather was bright and sunny and we had the good fortune to experience a spectacular storm. The Watch House is a lovey, comfortable place to stay and is in the most perfect position to enjoy all that St Mawes has to offer.

From the Owner:

3.8 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 3

Good as always.

A repeat visit to the Watch House and just as good as we remembered. St Mawes is a great location if you want a quieter break and a great base for touring Cornwall.

From the Owner:

3.2 out of 5

Cleanliness: 3
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 3
Condition: 2
Location: 5
Value For Money: 3

The Watch House, St. Mawes

There is a premium price attached to this property given its location but unfortunately the other factors one might expect with a premium property are lacking. We were disappointed to find, within minutes of arrival, that the main bathroom toilet had a leak. We were eventually able to speak to the caretaker who reassured us this was a known problem, the water leaking was clean and that the owners were trying to find a plumber. It was disappointing that we weren't made aware of this before/on arrival and secondly that despite being a known problem we heard nothing more over the week. There was a serious lack of hot water for a family of 5. None on our arrival and after each shower it would need a manual boost. There is a window that cannot be opened with only a post-it note attached to remind the user not to use. Needs maintenance. If this were brought up to standard then would happily recommend.

From the Owner:

4.2 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 4
Value For Money: 4

The Watch House. Beautifully clean with comfy beds.

The Watch House was very clean and a great location for the harbour. The local area was great for healthy food and water sports activities. Wifi went down but was quickly reinstated.

From the Owner:

4.8 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 4
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Perfect accommodation in an excellent location

We had a wonderful stay in The Watch House. The facilities are all in excellent condition with good size bedrooms and fantastic living space with amazing view over the harbour. I would defiantly recommend this flat if you would like to be in the centre of St Mawes.

From the Owner:

4.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 4
Condition: 5
Location: 4
Value For Money: 4

Fabulous views

The Watch House was a lovely apartment with everything you need on a holiday in St Mawes including fabulous views of the harbour and a stones throw from the beach. It was a little noisy being above the restaurant and being in centre of village at times. Cost of parking on top and food meant it ended up quite pricey and it is a shame they have no outside space. We had a fantastic holiday and it suited the whole family, Grandparents, parents and two young children. Would consider booking again for next year.

From the Owner:

4.8 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Watch house July 14

We had a fab time, the apartment was lovely, great views, very clean, lovely little village, would definately go back! Fabulous fish and chips at restaurant below, co op very near as is ferry.

From the Owner:

4.3 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Watch house

Stayed here before and always enjoyed it . Good number of places to go and the weather is nearly always good. The boat trips are great and the ferry to Falmouth is good value, coupled with lunch at the chain locker on Falmouth harbour.

From the Owner:

4.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

A Lovely Week in St Mawes

All in all a great week however the noise from the restaurant below and their extractor fan was unacceptable and would prevent us from returning again.

From the Owner:

3.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 3
Service and Staff: 2
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Great time at The Watch House

We had a great time but there are two things that need/ed attention. 1.On our arrival we found that there was no soap at all in the property. After a 9 hour journey we needed at least to be able to wash our hands Even the Coop had no soap to buy on that day. 2. There was a problem with flies in the bathroom. There was no fly spray available to buy in St Mawes. We resorted to using the vacuum cleaner to suck up at least 10 flies every day. The housekeeper was away for our first week so she was not able to get some spray for us from elswhere. There was no contingency for her being absent. If we had a fly problem as bad as we experience in The Watch House we would call in pest control! Thanks again and best regards.

From the Owner:
Thank you for your useful feedback - we're obviously delighted you had a great time at the Watch House, but sorry to hear you had a couple of small problems. The issue with the flies sounds very unusual - although we have had such lovely sunshine and hot weather in Cornwall all summer, it certainly doesn't explain why they would come indoors. I wonder if you were keeping anything usual which might have attracted them? Our housekeeper's daughter was providing cover and she might have been able advise. But we do hope this didn't lessen your obviously otherwise enjoyable stay.

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Lovely and very spacious

Had a wonderful stay at the Watch House, great location and the fish and chips from next door are to die for. The flat itself is very tastefully decorated, the photos do not do it justice.

From the Owner:

Read More

Property Floorplans

The Watch House, StMawes, Roseland

Street View

Nearby Properties

Nearby Attractions

Check availability & book

Calendar Loading...