• Home
  • Destination

    Discover the Regions of Cornwall

    North Cornwall

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in North Cornwall.

    Read More
    South East Cornwall

    Please find listed below all our holiday cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in South East Cornwall.

    Read More
    South West Cornwall

    ​Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in South West Cornwall.

    Read More
    The Roseland

    Roseland Cottages

    We have a wide selection of holiday cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation on the Roseland Peninsula and throughout St Mawes.

    Read More
    The Atlantic Coast

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation on the Atlantic Coast

    Read More
    West Cornwall

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in West Cornwall.

    Read More
  • Inspiration

    Cornwall Holiday Inspiration

    Dog Friendly
    We have some lovely pet & dog friendly accommodation in Cornwall. Many of our holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall are pet and dog friendly. Cornwall is a fabulous place to bring your dog, with miles and miles or coastal and inland paths to explore. Do be careful near the cliffs as many edges are unprotected, or with only gorse or bracken separating your pet from the sea. Please check which beaches are dog friendly, many have restrictions during peak periods. Some properties may charge a small additional fee for pets.We have over 270 dog and pet friendly rental properties in all locations.  Choose from countryside, town or beach cottages with wonderful views, apartments, barn conversions, beach houses, harbour side and cliff top cottages. Many of our pet friendly holiday homes have gardens and the beach on your doorstep providing the perfect setting for you and your dog.
    Hot Tub
    We have some lovely accommodation with hot tubs in Cornwall. We have an increasing number of holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall with hot tubs or whirlpools on site. A prefect way to relax after exploring the region. Many are private hot tubs, but a few are shared access, check individual properties for details.
    Sea views
    We have some wonderful sea view cottages to rent in the finest waterside locations Being a Peninsula, Cornwall is bordered on two sides by the sea providing the most amazing sea views. From the crashing surf of the Atlantic Ocean to the soft idyllic views around the south coast, you are sure to enjoy the sights and smells of Cornish coastal living. Several of our properties have sea views and they are exactly as the pictures show. Please see individual details to see whether you will be lying in bed looking out to sea, or enjoying a glass of something on the terrace whilst watching the local regatta sail past. St Mawes has our highest density of sea view properties, but with new locations across Cornwall being added all the time please keep a look out until you find exactly what you are looking for. 
    Beach within walking distance
    We have a large selection of accommodation within walking distance of a beach in Cornwall Many of our holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall are within easy reach of a fabulous beach. Picturesque walks along the cliffs or a short jaunt through cobbled streets, make walking to a beach a memory in itself. Cornwall offers long stretches of sandy beaches as we as cute coves with pebbles to skim. An increase in beach cafes across the region offer a range of home made cakes, Cornish ice creams, and even gourmet meals to refresh you after a long day on the beach.  Throughout the winter months you'll find an array of windsurfing, kite surfing, body-boarding and surfing beaches, predominantly across the north coast, but also if the wind is in the right direction the south can offering great waves.
    Luxury holiday home
    We have some amazing luxury homes, cottages and self catering accommodation to rent in some of Cornwall's finest locations.
    Romantic cottage
    We have some lovely romantic accommodation in Cornwall. Cornwall offers the romantic many a quiet secluded location! With quaint tea rooms and cosy country pubs and roaring fires no wonder it is so popular with those wishing to pop the question or newlyweds just getting away from it all. St Mawes Castle is increasingly becoming the place to get married, either inside or on the lawns looking across the River Fal to Falmouth as the sun sets. Many of our properties deemed 'Romantic Holiday Cottages' are located in the depths of the county with log fires perfect for some cosy nights in.
    Budget self catering in Cornwall
    We have some lovely budget accommodation in Cornwall. Many of our holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall offer excellent value for money. On a budget? Looking for a cheap cottage in Cornwall without compromising on quality? We have a lovely selection of affordable accommodation for your holiday in Cornwall. Please be assured that any of our 'cheap Cornwall cottages' are of good quality and represent excellent value for money. Many of our cottages are also available for shorter Cornwall breaks.
    Cornwall Breaks

    Weather looking good this weekend?  Do you fancy a last minute escape to Cornwall?  We have lots of great properties available for 3 day breaks starting on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday or midweek short breaks arriving on a Monday or a Tuesday.

    Last Minute Cornwall Cottages

    Weather looking good this weekend?  Do you fancy a last minute escape to Cornwall?  We have lots of great properties available for 3 day breaks starting on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday.

  • Blog
  • Help

T: 01872 264441

Menu
Explore 3D Space
3D Tour View Photos

Scadden House

Holiday Cottage in Mousehole

Sleeps 5 - Bedrooms 2 - From £329

Beach within walking distance
Shops within walking distance
Pub within walking distance
Dog Friendly
WiFi
Parking available
Cot available
Highchair available
Garden
Saturday change over
Located in the tranquil village of Paul, just a short walk from the stunning harbour of Mousehole on the western edge of Mount's Bay, this delightful cottage is a great place to stay. Perfectly positioned for exploring the Land's End peninsula with its dramatic coastal scenery and beautiful sandy beaches.

Property Details

This lovely stone property, constructed out of Lamorna granite, is situated at the top of Boslandew Hill in Paul which is on the outskirts of the quaint fishing hamlet of Mousehole, famed for its Christmas lights and once described by Dylan Thomas as “the loveliest village in England!” The secluded, mature, rear garden of Scaddon House gives a clear view of the local church tower. The property boasts various character features including a large stone fireplace. Scadden House is positioned within 100 metres of the local church which was rebuilt after the original was burnt by a group of Spaniards who came ashore in 1595 and also the Kings Arms traditional public house.

Paul makes a perfect centre for exploring Penwith and guests find themselves within walking distance of Mousehole and a few miles away from Land's End, Penzance, St Ives, St Michael's Mount, The Minack Theatre and the gorgeous beaches of Porthcurno, and Whitesand Bay, Sennen. As such, this is a wonderfully central location to reach the surfing beaches that surround the Western tip of Cornwall. There are plenty of coastal walks and as Scadden House is dog-friendly the options to bring the extra family member on holiday are really tempting. Mousehole has a number of excellent gift shops, galleries and restaurants including the recommended 2 Fore Street Restaurant serving seafood and local produce.

Accommodation
Ground floor: Enters into the dining room that has seating for 6 and a large character fireplace, one door leads into a galley kitchen which also has an exterior door into the enclosed rear garden, a second door leads into the lounge which has windows at one end and double French doors at the other again leading into the rear garden. Stairs from the dining room lead up to the first floor.
First floor: Landing at the top of the stairs with doors leading to; Master bedroom with 5' double bed and shower cubicle in one corner, main shower room with large power shower, second large bedroom with a 5' double bed and one 3' single bed.
Exterior: There is limited off-road parking for one small car at the front with small courtyard garden. Enclosed, mature rear garden with views of the local church tower.

Facilities & Services
Heating is via night storage heating. The kitchen is fully fitted with a range of units. There is an electric oven and hob, a microwave, toaster, kettle, fridge and separate freezer. There is a combined washing machine/tumble drier. The lounge area has a flatscreen digital Freeview TV & Blu Ray DVD player, CD & Radio. There is free WiFi at the property. There is an iron & ironing board.

Miscellaneous
Electricity, heating, bed linen and towels are all included but you will need to provide your own beach towels. Up to 2 well behaved dogs will be permitted at a small additional charge of £25 per dog per week, although please remember that you cannot leave dogs unattended in the cottage alone. Regrettably no smoking is allowed. There is limited off road parking for one small car.

General Booking Information
Arrival / Departure is normally a Saturday.
Short breaks are during the quieter months of the year.
£200 pre-authorised to your credit or debit card as a security deposit is required.

Discounts available for couples staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using one bedroom only.

Property Location


Paul makes a perfect centre for exploring Penwith and guests find themselves within walking distance of Mousehole and a few miles away from Land's End, Penzance, St Ives, St Michael's Mount, The Minack Theatre and the gorgeous beaches of Porthcurno, and Whitesand Bay, Sennen. As such this is a wonderfully central location to reach the surfing beaches that surround the Western tip of Cornwall.

Mousehole is a picturesque fishing village on the south coast of Cornwall between Penzance and Land's End, that has retained much of its old world charm. The narrow streets are filled with galleries, small shops and restaurants. Local cottages built from Lamorna granite, cluster together around the inner edge of the harbour, these are protected from the force of the sea by two robust breakwaters. Car parking in the village is extremely limited due to the narrow roads and visitors are encouraged to park on the outskirts of the village. The tiny village was overcome by the loss of the Penlee lifeboat, the Solomon Brown, just before Christmas 1981. Most of the crew was from Mousehole. On the anniversary of the Penlee Lifeboat tragedy, the Christmas Lights are turned off for one hour as a mark of respect for the crew who died whilst trying to rescue those on the Union Star off Lamorna.

The Mousehole Christmas lights are famous throughout Cornwall and are well worth visiting. You can even take a helicopter ride from Penzance to view the lights from the sky! Just offshore from the harbour is St Clement's Isle, a small group of rocks where an ancient hermit was said to have lived. A few hundred yards along the coast from the village is a huge cave, which is believed to give rise to the village’s unusual name. This is unlikely but the origin of the name is still a mystery. It is possible to walk west along the Coastal Path to Lamorna Cove, looking down on Tater Du Light on the way. To the east is Newlyn, the largest fishing port in the South West.

Property Reviews

4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 4
Value For Money: 4

good location

very convenient location, close to sightseeings, close to town with all you mind need and anyhow tranquil

From the Owner:

4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 4
Value For Money: 4

Really enjoyed our stay at Scadden House, home from home. Had everything we required.

Good location and the bus stop outside was very handy, we used it on a couple of occasions into Penzance. Nice walk down the lane to Mousehole but a steep walk back.

From the Owner:

4.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 4
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Summary

Lovely cottage, well equipped, great location. Very happy with holiday. But not happy to catch the neighbour with a catapault shooting at the house.

From the Owner:
Dear Mrs House Thank you for your review of Scadden House in 'Upfront Reviews'. I am glad that you had a good holiday and that you were happy with the cottage. I have followed up your comment about the neighbour using a catapult. He asked me to apologise and said that 'it won't happen again'. He explained that he used the catapult to try to discourage seagulls from nesting on the roof of the cottage. I am very sorry if this incident spoiled your enjoyment of your holiday. Kind Regards Ann Jackson Scadden House

4.3 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 5
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Great location- close to Mousehole and Newlyn but less busy.

Enjoyed a great week away. The house has a lovely garden which we were able to enjoy. Would recommend.

From the Owner:

4.2 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Scadden House

Comfortable, had all that was needed - except (strangely enough) tea towels and an oven mitt, but I think that was an oversight. Beautiful location. Enjoyed it very much.

From the Owner:

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Lovely relaxed stay

What a delightful stay in a warm comfy cottage with all the essentials. Location perfect for walking & exploring with everything we needed close by. Good pub next door with food, real ales & nice wine selection where we were made to feel very welcome. Laura the housekeeper was delightful too. Hoping to return later this year!

From the Owner:

4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 5
Condition: 3
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Perfect Location

We all had a lovely stay here. It is a short walk down to Mousehole down a fairly steep hill. There is a parking space at the cottage but it is fairly tight, there was also a space outside that no one parked in. The garden is enclosed and can be accessed via a gate on the side of the property. The cottage was reasonably clean and reasonably equiped. A nice suprise to find milk, tea, coffee and biscuits left for us. There are no shops in Paul or Mousehole so Penzance is your nearest place to get provisions. But there are some lovely places to eat in Mousehole and Newlyn. Paul is easier to drive around while still being close to Mousehole then staying in Mousehole it self.

From the Owner:
Thank you, Kevin. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Scadden House. There is a small convenience store, Mousehole News and Stores, at the harbourside, open 9-5 Mon-Sun, that is very useful for everyday food essentials if you need to top up on supplies. Hope to see you again in lovely West Cornwall.

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Great location & lovely cottage

Very lovely cottage, great location to travel south Cornwall. Being dog friendly was spot on although having a grass garden that the time of year we stayed isn't great as had to clean dogs paws constantly to avoid getting carpets dirty. Would suggest hard floors other than that, amazing & would recommend to everyone!!!

From the Owner:

4.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Fabulous break

I loved the location but you need a car as we had as it is not close to shops. Not that you need them just food shops required!

From the Owner:

3.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 3
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 3
Condition: 4
Location: 4
Value For Money: 4

Quiet location

The location of this cottage is fantastic as it is just up the hill from Mousehole and within easy distance to Porthcurno/Minack Theatre. The cottage itself is a comfortable size for 5 people although the kitchen is quite small but very well equipped. The inside could do with being updated, a lot of very old furniture and decor. Could be kept with the in keeping of a traditional cottage but with a few more updated features. The main niggle we had on arrival was the strong smell of dog and quite a lot of dog hair on the sitting room carpet. The hoover definitely needs a deodoriser for a property that accepts dogs. Overall the cottage was clean and had lovely comfortable beds and we did enjoy our stay, even the church bells! Very peaceful location and a good base for exploring the great part of Cornwall.

From the Owner:

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Scadden house Paul

We rented Scadden house in mid June for one week. We arrived on Saturday afternoon,and the cottage was better than advertised,a gorgeous cottage in a beautiful villlage.Clean well taken care of and a great location to explore south and central cornwall. The village pub is 1 minute round the corner,and does great food,and has st austell beers. Mousehole is a 10 minute walk down the hill [30 mins back up]with some great shops,pubs and restaurants. We would definitely stay at this cottage again. Many thanks to Cornwall cottages for keeping everything simple and smooth. Andrew.

From the Owner:

4.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

A real gem

Scadden house was set in a lovely village called Paul the church clock chimes on the hour the house was home from home very comfortable a short walk from mousehole a beautiful picturesque harbour

From the Owner:

2 out of 5

Cleanliness: 1
Service and Staff: 2
Comfort: 3
Condition: 2
Location: 3
Value For Money: 1

Not good

Only staying for 4 nights. Arrived to a cold, dirty and smelly property with some sort of animal droppings on the kitchen floor. It had not been serviced. Took 2 hours to get a reply from anyone. We were on the point of booking a hotel. Cleaner arrived at 6:30. We felt obliged to go out and leave her to it. She'd gone by the time we got back having made all 5 beds, so cleaning must have been limited, carpets still in need of a hoover. Heating not on, so still cold and smelly. We had to be there for a couple of nights as work was involved, but left early as soon as that was done. No desire to stay for the extra couple of nights holiday

From the Owner:
Dear Mr Windsor Thank you for your review, which I have forwarded to our housekeeper. We`are very sorry that the standard of housekeeping was below par on this occasion on your arrival. As you know, I took your call when our housekeeper was unavailable. I can appreciate that this spoilt your stay, but we hope, none the less, that you will return to Cornwall and enjoy your stay in the future. Kind Regards Ann Jackson (Owner)

4.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 4
Location: 4
Value For Money: 4

To see the lights of Mousehole

We had a pleasant stay at Scadden House, which was warm and cosy and ideal to enable us to walk down to see the lights by Mousehole harbour. The kitchen was well equipped,although narrow , but we didn't do much cooking as only on a short break. Local pub served good food. Difficult to park car up the drive as quite narrow but parked outside on the road so that was fine.

From the Owner:

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

a very comfortable cottage

Very well equipped kitchen. Great location near Mousehole. Very comfortable bed. The church bells ring all through the night but after the first night it didn't wake us up!

From the Owner:

4.3 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 4
Value For Money: 4

A lovely enjoyable stay

Scaddon House provided us with an excellent base to explore the delights of Mousehole. It is ideally located for exploring the South of Cornwall and we made a few trips across to Sennon to surf as it was so accessible. Mousehole is a delightful little village with lots to offer, we especially enjoyed the crab feast night at Jessie's Dairy and the fabulous 2 Fore Street restaurant where we enjoyed brunch and evening meals. Scaddon is close to the coastal path and we enjoyed walking the dog over to Lamorna Cove, we also had a good jog out to Penzance and back where you can enjoy the beautiful alfresco pool. As mentioned in previous reviews Scaddon is at the top of a steep hill, however this didn't both us as its well lit at night, we also took a taxi back the odd time as it was only AGBP4 from Mousehole village centre. A special mention must to go the owner of the property who couldn't have been more helpful on our stay at the cottage.

From the Owner:

4.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Comfortable & spacious cottage

Scaddon House is lovely and well equipped, the beds were really comfortable and there was plenty of space for us all apart from the galley style kitchen and this is my only gripe regarding the inside of the property. The location of the cupboards meant a narrow kitchen became even narrower with a dead end so sometimes there was grid lock - too many people and open cupboard doors etc! A problem for my very tall family was the end of the stair post poking through the ceiling (part of the kitchen is under the stairs if you follow me) and they brained themselves on it regularly - perhaps it could be cut off?! There is an art to getting in & out of the driveway if you have a big car - it is extremely narrow and despite our best efforts we still managed to trash one of the door mirrors which is an expensive mistake to make. Anyway, this is not meant to be an exhaustive list of complaints as we had a really fabulous, relaxing time here and it's in a great location for exploring this gorgeous part of Cornwall.

From the Owner:

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Really nice place to stay

We've just returned from a week in cottage, really enjoyed ourselves. It's a great base location, 10 mins walk to the harbour, next road to the Kings Arms. Just what we needed, off street car parking which is a bonus although care is needed. I'd highly recommend this cottage which would be ideal for upto 5 (plus a cot). Also recommend a trip up to the local football team Mousehole AFC which is 5-10 mins walk away as they make you feel really welcome and the football is a decent standard.

From the Owner:

4.8 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Sunny week at Scadden House

Cottage was exactly as described. Quiet location, well equipped, spacious and very clean. It's a roomy two bedroom cottage but one of the bedrooms has a double and a single bed - so fine if you have 3 kids. The kitchen is a galley style - not roomy if there are more than two of you in there - but not an issue if you're going to eat out most of the time. Garden is also small if you've got young kids or dogs and need some space for them to exercise. Paul is about a half a mile's walk from Mousehole (charming harbour village) and well positioned for exploring Lands End, St Michael's Mount and St Ives. Have to also say that the uncharacteristically superb weather made our stay really perfect!

From the Owner:

4.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 5
Location: 4
Value For Money: 5

Very pleasant cottage

We spent four nights and found the location to be just right given that we toured the area quite a bit. The cottage is clean, quite comfortable for up to four ( we were two) and there are plenty of walks for the dog. The kitchen is narrow but if you're not planning fancy dinners, very adequate. The pub is a few yards away and Mousehole a little over half a mile . You can walk but the climb back can be daunting for some. Mousehole is charming and worth the visit, especially the view from the Old Coastguard restaurant( if you want something other than pub food). All in all glad we booked it and would again .

From the Owner:

4.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 4
Value For Money: 4

Well appointed and comfortable

Scadden House was comfortable warm and well appointed and we much enjoyed our stay. It was very clean and well equipped - we entertained family for Sunday lunch without problem.

From the Owner:

4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 4
Value For Money: 4

New Year Break

Nice property, nice location, close to Sennen cove and ideal for dog walking. Good sized rooms, lots of home comforts, the kitchen is a bit of a squeeze, but that's not really an issue. The property has an enclosed rear garden, this was ideal for the dogs.

From the Owner:

4.8 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Lovely place to stay

A really nice well maintained house with a small but adequate for your holiday garden right in the centre of the village just yards from a nice pub. The only criticism was the parking in the front garden is tiny and needs widening so that modern cars can get in easily - a pretty simple job. If the single story "annex" was turned in to a big kitchen that would turn it in to a not just good buit spectacular house.

From the Owner:

4.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Scadden House, Paul

We had a great time in Cornwall and enjoyed our stay at Scadden. The cottage was comfortable and a great base from which to explore the region. We would definitely return. I would point out that the microwave did not work though and the showers did drain very slowly. But all in all a very good experience. Jim Hedalnd

From the Owner:

4.8 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

scadden house

We enjoyed a lovely, relaxing week at Scadden House. The cottage itself is very comfortable and well equipped - a real home from home. We enjoyed the walk into Mousehole from Paul up and down the hill as parking in Mousehole itself is not always easy. With 2 teenagers in tow we found plenty to keep them occupied - recommend body boarding at Sennen Cove, fishing trips out of Penzance plus visits to St Ives and Falmouth. Wifi at the cottage was great as they were able to keep in touch with the outside world! Mobile phone signal in the area was very intermittant. We would definitely recommend this part of Cornwall and look forward to returning.

From the Owner:

3.3 out of 5

Cleanliness: 3
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 3
Location: 3
Value For Money: 3

Good sized house

Scadden house is a good sized, well equipped holiday house. It has everything you would want in the (albeit very small narrow) kitchen, the beds and pillows are very comfortable and the garden is lovely. The areas for improvement are to ensure that the carpet downstairs is free from the hair of previous animal occupants, the description needs to be clearer about what walking distance to the beach actually entails and that the parking space is suitable for a small car only.

From the Owner:

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

A very happy week's holiday

Lovely house in a lovely rural location. Booked it for a three-generation family holiday and everyone was more than happy. Would definitely book again and would certainly recommend it to others. Stayed in late November and the house was far from cold (which with a baby and older people had been a concern). Overall fantastic. The only thing to be aware of though is the drive way. Whilst it is amazing that a village property has one, it is quite a tight space bordered by a solid wall one side and we only had a small car (Ford Fiesta). Not a major issue. The passengers just needed to get out before the car was parked up.

From the Owner:

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

A short review of stay at Scadden House

There were no surprises everything was as described and good. Looking at comments made by previous visitors I would say a medal is required if a full Christmas dinner was cooked as physical space is very limited in the kitchen. It is too narrow for two people to operate. I agree with comments about the drive being too narrow to park a medium car and also care is required when parking in the road as a country bus service passes the house so sufficient space must be left for them to get by. A good comfortable week.

From the Owner:

4.2 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 4
Value For Money: 3

Great place to stay.

Lovely place to stay, everything provided that you could think of and more, they seem to have gone that extra mile. Excellent for visiting this part of Cornwall, the local pub around the corner is very convenient and Mousehole, Newlyn and Penzance within walking distance 3 mile radius. The only down side is that mobile phone reception is not good in the village and and the drive is very tight so we resorted to parking on the road. But overall very good.

From the Owner:

4.8 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 4
Value For Money: 5

Lovely cottage

This year was our first dog holiday and I chose the cottage carefully. Scadden House is a beautiful and well equipped cottage. Weather wasn't always great but when the sun shone it made up for it. My husband, 11 year son and 18 month old cocker spaniel had a lovely time and felt very at home.

From the Owner:

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Scadden House Adventure

We stayed at Scadden House with my parents and our dog and had a great stay with fantastic weather.The house was well equipped the only problem was the drive was very narrow and we had to park on the road.Great location for visiting the area and Trengwainton Gardens (NT) have the best cream teas we have had anywhere.Would visit cottage again .

From the Owner:

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

a lovely summer week

we have enjoyed our stay very much! Well equipped house in a lovely surrounding. Nice walks to Mousehole and enjoyed two concerts at the nearby Pub. When we left if felt like leaving home. Would love to come back some time!

From the Owner:

4.8 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Outstanding

It really was such a wonderful stay at Scadden house, we thought that it was generous to find a let that took two dogs and we all had a wonderful time. The house is in an amazing location and the house itself is really charming and simply decorated which makes it easy to maintain. The area is so wonderful we fell in love with it and are planning to spent much more time in this area of Cornwall because of our trip. Down the road in Newlyn is the local fish and chip shop Lewis' which offers gluten free batter! over the road from that is a really cool antiques/curios shop with a pretty nice, pretty zany owner. Penzanze is so close as well. The other thing would be the incredible local walks and the friendly local people. I also had a couple of questions which were answered for me really quickly with the contact details provide. Thanks again and we loved every second of it.

From the Owner:

4.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Comfortable cottage in a great location

We stayed at Scadden House with our dog. It is ideal for dogs with a lovely enclosed garden. It is in a great location within v. easy reach of lots of Cornwall's highlights. There's loads to see and visit- towns, villages, beaches gardens........ Unfortunately it was rather, cold, wet and blustery when we were there but the house was warm and cosy. The local pub around the corner was excellent and dog friendly.

From the Owner:

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Christmas week at Scadden House

Great cottage (but not small like a cottage) within a lovely village. Awesome location with many great walks. During the storms me and my 8 year old walked the dog to Mousehole and witnessed 100ft waves breaking over the harbour wall. The cottage provided a warm comfy respite from the elements, and had everything we required, although we had to buy and put up our own Christmas decorations.. We even managed to cook for 8 in a strange kitchen! Defiantly recommend scadden to others. Would love to return one day. The village pub serves excellent food, the fish specials are absolutely wonderful. Gordon Ramsey would even be impressed! Small issues, car did not fit on the small drive (well it did but I had to clime out the other side) but plenty of parking on the very very quiet road. Also the chimney (reported to house staff as repair work maybe needed) leaked, due to the horrendous storm. But apart from that all was well. Excellent,big,warm,clean,fresh and with a garden and built in village alarm clock (church bells) that you do get used to, this place is special. Enjoy your stay.....

From the Owner:

4.3 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 4
Value For Money: 4

excellent

Stayed with friends from Spain in December and could not have been more warm and cosey , only thing that let it down were pans and bread board poor .

From the Owner:

4.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 5
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Great village location, cosy cottage

We stayed 4 nights over October half term. The cottage is in a quiet small village with a super pub, the kings arms. Steep walk into mousehole which we didn't attempt with young children, otherwise it would have been a 5 minute walk. The cottage is very cosy and comfortable, everything you need. The driveway is very narrow and a tight squeeze for a car but others seem to park in the road. Great location within easy reach of st Ives, Penzance, lands end etc. Would stay here again, it's full of character and a lovely spot.

From the Owner:

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

HOLIDAYING IN CORNWALL AT SCADDEN HOUSE -PAUL NEAR MOUSEHOLE

Had a wonderful stay at Scadden House. House provided everything you could possibly need and more. fantastic location. Will recommend to friends and family. Elaine Dobson and Alan Leighton xxxxxx

From the Owner:

4.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 4
Value For Money: 4

A real home from home...

Scadden House is a charming granite cottage in the village of Paul, just half a mile from Mousehole and the coast. When we booked, we were slightly concerned that there seemed to be no reviews to go by but we had no need to worry. The cottage is clean, warm, well-furnished and equipped and has everything you need for a self-catering holiday. The reason for the lack of reviews is that it has only recently been available as a holiday let. There is a comfortable sitting room, spacious dining room and kitchen downstairs with two large double bedrooms, one with an additional single bed and the other with a shower, plus a lovely shower room. The cottage is located right in the centre of Paul, just round the corner from the village pub which allows dogs in its bar when it's not hosting a funeral - there were three during the week we were there! In spite of it raining every day, we had a lovely stay and will certainly want to return to Scadden House in future.

From the Owner:

4.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

A grand stay at Scadden House, Paul

My husband and I had two lovely weeks at Scadden House in Paul, Cornwall. This is a well appointed stone house in a fantastic location which suited us to the ground. There was easy access to friends in Lamorna and to the Harbour at Mousehole. The house is comfortable without being pretentious and all we could need(except I couldn't find the lid to the saucepan) but probably not Scadden House's fault! We are certainly planning our next stay with Scadden House in mind Helen

From the Owner:

3.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 3
Value For Money: 3

a nice small cottage

Scadden House is a nice small cottage and is actually better than appears in the photo's. Furniture in the sitting room is new and the whole house had been re-painted. On arrival the house was very stuffy and it took time to unlock the windows some which were stuck. The equipment all worked well such as hot water, cooker, TV etc with the exception of the microwave which decided it was on strike. The beds were comfortable but I was glad that there was only 3 of us so we had a bed each as the doubles were small sized rather than king. The driveway was too small to park our car which had to sit on the road. No problem with that though. The church bells are not for the faint hearted and sunday morning was certainly a surprise. The location is great with a pub round the corner and a 15 minute walk down to Mousehole. Fields round the back to walk the dog were superb with a small footpath down the side of the pub to access these. We had a good time in Scadden House and the area.

From the Owner:

Read More

Property Floorplans

Street View

Nearby Properties

Nearby Attractions

Check availability & book

Calendar Loading...