• Home
  • Destination

    Discover the Regions of Cornwall

    North Cornwall

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in North Cornwall.

    Read More
    South East Cornwall

    Please find listed below all our holiday cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in South East Cornwall.

    Read More
    South West Cornwall

    ​Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in South West Cornwall.

    Read More
    The Roseland

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in St Mawes and on the Roseland Peninsula.

    Read More
    The Atlantic Coast

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation on the Atlantic Coast

    Read More
    West Cornwall

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in West Cornwall.

    Read More
  • Inspiration

    Cornwall Holiday Inspiration

    Dog Friendly
    We have some lovely pet & dog friendly accommodation in Cornwall. Many of our holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall are pet and dog friendly. Cornwall is a fabulous place to bring your dog, with miles and miles or coastal and inland paths to explore. Do be careful near the cliffs as many edges are unprotected, or with only gorse or bracken separating your pet from the sea. Please check which beaches are dog friendly, many have restrictions during peak periods. Some properties may charge a small additional fee for pets.We have over 270 dog and pet friendly rental properties in all locations.  Choose from countryside, town or beach cottages with wonderful views, apartments, barn conversions, beach houses, harbour side and cliff top cottages. Many of our pet friendly holiday homes have gardens and the beach on your doorstep providing the perfect setting for you and your dog.
    Hot Tub
    We have some lovely accommodation with hot tubs in Cornwall. We have an increasing number of holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall with hot tubs or whirlpools on site. A prefect way to relax after exploring the region. Many are private hot tubs, but a few are shared access, check individual properties for details.
    Sea views
    We have some wonderful sea view cottages to rent in the finest waterside locations Being a Peninsula, Cornwall is bordered on two sides by the sea providing the most amazing sea views. From the crashing surf of the Atlantic Ocean to the soft idyllic views around the south coast, you are sure to enjoy the sights and smells of Cornish coastal living. Several of our properties have sea views and they are exactly as the pictures show. Please see individual details to see whether you will be lying in bed looking out to sea, or enjoying a glass of something on the terrace whilst watching the local regatta sail past. St Mawes has our highest density of sea view properties, but with new locations across Cornwall being added all the time please keep a look out until you find exactly what you are looking for. 
    Beach within walking distance
    We have a large selection of accommodation within walking distance of a beach in Cornwall Many of our holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall are within easy reach of a fabulous beach. Picturesque walks along the cliffs or a short jaunt through cobbled streets, make walking to a beach a memory in itself. Cornwall offers long stretches of sandy beaches as we as cute coves with pebbles to skim. An increase in beach cafes across the region offer a range of home made cakes, Cornish ice creams, and even gourmet meals to refresh you after a long day on the beach.  Throughout the winter months you'll find an array of windsurfing, kite surfing, body-boarding and surfing beaches, predominantly across the north coast, but also if the wind is in the right direction the south can offering great waves.
    Luxury holiday home
    We have some amazing luxury homes, cottages and self catering accommodation to rent in some of Cornwall's finest locations.
    Romantic cottage
    We have some lovely romantic accommodation in Cornwall. Cornwall offers the romantic many a quiet secluded location! With quaint tea rooms and cosy country pubs and roaring fires no wonder it is so popular with those wishing to pop the question or newlyweds just getting away from it all. St Mawes Castle is increasingly becoming the place to get married, either inside or on the lawns looking across the River Fal to Falmouth as the sun sets. Many of our properties deemed 'Romantic Holiday Cottages' are located in the depths of the county with log fires perfect for some cosy nights in.
    Budget self catering in Cornwall
    We have some lovely budget accommodation in Cornwall. Many of our holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall offer excellent value for money. On a budget? Looking for a cheap cottage in Cornwall without compromising on quality? We have a lovely selection of affordable accommodation for your holiday in Cornwall. Please be assured that any of our 'cheap Cornwall cottages' are of good quality and represent excellent value for money. Many of our cottages are also available for shorter Cornwall breaks.
    Cornwall Breaks

    Weather looking good this weekend?  Do you fancy a last minute escape to Cornwall?  We have lots of great properties available for 3 day breaks starting on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday or midweek short breaks arriving on a Monday or a Tuesday.

    Last Minute Cornwall Cottages

    Weather looking good this weekend?  Do you fancy a last minute escape to Cornwall?  We have lots of great properties available for 3 day breaks starting on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday.

  • Blog
  • Help

T: 01872 264441

Menu
Explore 3D Space
3D Tour View Photos

Porthallow Cottage

Holiday Cottage in Falmouth

Sleeps 4 - Bedrooms 2 - From £319

Dog Friendly
Parking available
Cot available
Highchair available
Hot Tub
Swimming Pool
Garden
Discount for a couple
Friday change over
Porthallow Cottage is situated in a peaceful location a short drive from South Cornwall's beautiful beaches and the sea faring town of Falmouth. The property is located on a small development of converted barns with a shared outdoor heated pool and large gardens. Up to 2 dogs are welcome at no additional charge.

Property Details

Tresooth Cottages is a select development of beautiful barn conversions and purpose built properties which are arranged neatly around a pretty courtyard offering guests free and unlimited access to an excellent range of leisure facilities including a communal heated swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna. Jacuzzi and sauna closed for annual maintenance in November.

Porthallow is one of two barns situated outside of the courtyard. A small walkway with mature garden and enclosed pond leads you into the barn. On entrance there is a hallway that takes you to an open plan living area. Upstairs there is one double bedroom with sloping ceiling and velux windows and one twin room both having en-suite shower rooms. It is located next to the swimming pool and has an outside seating area. Parking is shared with the other barns and located to the front of the complex.

This high end barn conversion is finished to an excellent standard and includes all of what you would expect from a modern home. The cottages are set around an enclosed courtyard that features its very own working water well. The barns are found tucked away in a peaceful centrally positioned location in a spacious area of natural beauty. Each cottage has a fully equipped farmhouse style kitchen with built in appliances including a microwave, dishwasher, washing machine, fridge and freezer. The living areas have flat screen TV, free-view and DVD players. Tresooth’s outstanding outdoor facilities include a large heated outdoor swimming pool with sun loungers (open 1st April - 30th September), jacuzzi, sauna, seating area, indoor games room (please note that some games are chargeable), a children’s play area with swings, trampoline, slide and an enclosed pond with fish.
Please note that the jazuzzi and sauna will be closed for annual maintenance during the month of November.
  • 1 x Double, 1 x bunk bed
  • 2x Bathrooms
  • Microwave, dishwasher, washing machine, fridge and freezer
  • Flatscreen TV with freeview, DVD player
  • Large outdoor communal heated swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna. Jacuzzi and sauna closed for annual maintenance in November.
  • Games room - please note that some games are chargeable.
  • Enclosed play area and dog area
  • Children's play field with swings, trampoline, slide and games lawn
  • Fish pond

Miscellaneous
Electricity, heating, bed linen & towels are all included but you will need to provide your own beach towels. There is parking available for a number of cars on the property. Up to two well behaved dogs are welcome at no additional charge, although please remember that you cannot leave dogs unattended in the cottage alone. Regrettably no smoking is allowed. There is an iron and ironing board. A cot, high chair and stair gate are available upon request.

General Booking Information
Arrival / Departure is normally a Friday.
Short breaks are available during quieter periods.
£200 security deposit pre-authorised on your card is required.

Discounts available for couples staying 7 nights outside the peak season, using one room only.

Property Location


Porthallow Cottage is situated just one mile from the quaint Cornish village Mawnan Smith, and three miles from the bustling port of Falmouth. Here you will find a host of shops, bars and restaurants, the award winning National Maritime Museum and Trebah Gardens which is not to be missed.

Falmouth is one of Cornwall's most popular places to visit because of its unique mix of attractions, water sports, beaches, history and place to eat. The National Maritime Museum Cornwall and Pendennis Castle are both high on visitors lists of places to visit and the views from Pendennis on a fine day a truly magical. Falmouth is the sailing capital of Cornwall with its spectacular deep water natural harbour offering a haven for both cruisers and racers. Many events are held through the summer culminating in the famous Falmouth Regatta Week and associated shore side events.

The beaches at Gyllingvase & Swanpool are coarse sand and are wonderfully sunny south facing spots. You can ride the ferry to beautiful St Mawes for the day or take a delightful trip around the estuary stopping off at either Trelissick Gardens or Smugglers Cottage for a cream tea! There are plenty of places to eat & drink in Falmouth and recently Rick Stein has opened his Fish & Chip Restaurant & Oyster Bar at Discovery Quay adding to the superb mix across the town.

Property Reviews

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Wonderful

We all had a great time, four of us & the two dogs were made most welcome.. Lovely location & plenty to do even if its raining.. games room, jacuzzi etc.. Thank you cornwalls cottage's, will stay again

From the Owner:

4.3 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 3
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Last minute booking

I have to say for the first time in rented accommodation we had the wow factor as soon as the door opened, separate bedrooms and separate en-suites was great, full kitchen facilities inc fridge and freezer. I would recommend this quiet location for anyone wanting to get away and relax with all local amenities only a 15 min drive. Faults if I had to name any, one of the shower trays got blocked on the first night but resolved this myself, zip on sofa arms were not connected and annoyingly kept moving and dining table chairs had zero padding so felt like you were sitting on a square frame, otherwise very clean and still highly recommended.

From the Owner:
Thanks for taking the time to review, we are glad you had an enjoyable stay. I've passed your comments to the onsite manager.

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Lovely stay at Porthallow Cottage

We had a lovely 2 week stay at Porthallow cottage. We had 2 kids and a dog. Pool and jacuzzi brilliant, esp when the weather wasn't great, the kids were in the pool most days. Reclining sofas in the cottage - perfect for resting aching feet! Great play area and field for the kids and dog too. Surrounded by fields so felt remote but an Asda just down the road. 10 min drive to Falmouth. Perfectly located to get to local beaches and things to do. Would definitely recommend.

From the Owner:
Thank you for taking the time to leave a nice review Gayle. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and will hopefully welcome you back again one day!

2.8 out of 5

Cleanliness: 2
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 3
Condition: 3
Location: 3
Value For Money: 3

Porthallow Cottage

General Cleanliness could have been better. One or two kitchen items missing, measuring jug, Mixing Bowl, pot to cook with for the microwave. Bed had a new mattress and was very comfortable. The facilities looked a lot better on the internet compared to how we found them. A problem with the shower was quickly and satisfactorily solved by the on site Manager.

From the Owner:
Thanks for your feedback I've passed comments onto the onsite Manager do discuss with the cleaners.

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

a most excellent vacation.

Peace and quiet......bliss. it,s like dropping out of the ratrace. no worries. no problems. just relaxing and enjoying a hassle free time.in fact i never looked at time all week?

From the Owner:
Thanks Caroline for your lovely review. We are pleased you had a nice relaxing time.

4.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Brilliant week at Porthallow Cottage, great location.

We had a fabulous week here in July, location was great and we traveled around locally and also went further afield. We used the pool most days and the Jacuzzi both which were kept really well, it was nice to come back after a day of sight seeing for a relaxing swim. The on site Manager was friendly, he introduced himself when we arrived and made sure we were happy with everything, and he was always around had we had needed him. We liked the way it was relaxed in regards to our dog. There is a big enclosed area for them to run in but they are allowed to be off the lead on site if your dog is well behaved, and its completely safe, there were a few dogs the week we were there and they all got on well. The cottage itself was perfect for us, two adults, two children and a dog. It was spotlessly clean. The bedrooms were lovely, having an en suite on both rooms was really handy. All in all we had a great stay in a beautiful part of the country, we will definitely be back.

From the Owner:

4.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

holiday cottage

Lovely venue and surroundings. Garden in some need of some care and attention. Would have benefited from Internet connection. There was some internet connection in the games room but not enough to send small word documents. Really enjoyed our stay and would like to return there.

From the Owner:
Hi Lesley, Thanks for taking the time to review one of our properties. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay overall and we will look into the garden comment as we have gardener's down there. Kind Regards

3.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 2
Comfort: 3
Condition: 4
Location: 4
Value For Money: 4

its Ok.

Stayed at the one of the cottage- booked as it had some facilities like swimming, Jacuzzi & sauna facilities and an ideal location to visit many places- everything was great but no proper management- no instruction to how to use the facilities nothing worked properly - the cottage was fine clean spacious. Contact number for management was provided but all the time it was greeted with "welcome to Tesco mobile " If you are not looking to use them facilities - its a great place to stay.

From the Owner:
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review one of our cottages. There are manuals & instructions for all appliances in the drawers of the cottage. Due to the rural location phone signal isn't very good on site which is why you would have got the managers voice message. If you had left a message he would have come and seen you as he lives just onsite & opposite the cottage you were staying in. All past guests have found him to be very helpful and assist in any queries you may have during your stay. Many thanks

4.8 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 4
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

comfy and cosy

Very comfortable and cosy converted barn, very warm and the facilities on site were brilliant. I was especially impressed with the jacuzzi and sauni and options in the games room. Very easy access to Falmouth both walking or driving. The site was quiet and a great place to take some time out from normal lives.

From the Owner:

3 out of 5

Cleanliness: 3
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 3
Condition: 3
Location: 3
Value For Money: 3

Ever so slight disappointed.....

This complex has lots to offer, the pool area is great, but we felt needed a little attention to cleaning, both the pool and surrounding area.. The Jacuzzi was good, we didn't try the Sauna. Porthallow itself was OK, but not high end in our mind, very compact, the double mattress was uncomfortable, however the lounge furniture was very comfortable. We were disappointed with the Wi-Fi promised in the games room, as we could only connect to it once during our stay. We had fantastic weather and visited several places of interest during the week but were not within sensible walking distance of any.

From the Owner:

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Chilled cornwall week

Fabulous week. Although September we used the pool daily and the hot tub was a welcomed treat after a day out.The barn was so comfortable and the grounds a gorgeous setting very quiet and friendly.A great base for touring various places in Cornwall. We will definitely be returning and would recommend it .

From the Owner:

3 out of 5

Cleanliness: 3
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 3
Condition: 3
Location: 3
Value For Money: 3

Summer holiday

The cottage was lovely was just a shame we had to buy in tea towels so we could dry pots and get our food out of the oven. Hot tub was a big hit. Thank you

From the Owner:
Hi Megan, Thanks for taking the time to review one of our properties. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and are sorry for the niggles. I'm not sure why you didn't have tea towels as we usually provide tea towels and oven cloths. I'll look into what has happened in the case of your booking. It's a shame you didn't call us in the office or see the onsite manager Darren who could have arranged a supply for you. I hope this didn't dampen things too much and hopefully we will welcome you back again one day. Kind Regards Country View Cottages

2.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 2
Condition: 2
Location: 2
Value For Money: 2

A marred holiday

Advert did not make clear that wifi was limited to the games room and not available in our accommodation Dining furniture rickety and uncomfortable Beds too short Washing machines dryer not working properly - drying rack and tumble dryer in a she'd not viable alternative Sauna not operating properly Difficult to walk from the property, and situated in bland landscape in the middle of nowhere Limited kitchen equipment no corkscrew, coffee maker with the incorrect top Lightbulbs replaced after we arrived not before Not what you expect after paying 760 pounds

From the Owner:

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

porthallow cottage

We had a great stay in a lovely cottage in a fantastic location. It had everything we needed and the facilities were great. The cottage was clean and well maintained.

From the Owner:
Dear Louise, Many thanks for taking the time to review Porthallow cottage. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again one day. Kind Regards Country View Cottages

3.8 out of 5

Cleanliness: 3
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 4
Value For Money: 3

l

Cleanliness issues: - needed to wash dishes, cutlery on entry .... not that it was overtly 'dirty' but greasy so not ready to use. - hoover was huge, noisy and VERY SMELLY!!! - VERY poor drainage in master bedroom shower - games room very musty / not really pleasant to spend time there (for example for internet) Staff - Darron, local manager was very helpful throughout and that was appreciated. Internet access - We may be interested to return but not having internet in the house itself is a real negative! Its almost a commodity today, particularly for this standard of accomodation.

From the Owner:
Thank you for taking the time to review Porthallow. We are sorry that you had a few issues during your stay. I've spoken to the housekeeping team down there who have assured me that this won't happen again. With regards to the hoover they are emptied every departure so we are going to look into getting some odour neutralisers for them. The games room is currently undergoing maintenance but it's always last on the list after we have completed the cottages, as we feel this is more important. Darren is an asset to our company and we are pleased you found him helpful. Finally the internet situation is on going, we are awaiting Superfast Broadband to be rolled out over the next few months and until that time it will be a limited supply. We only advertise it as being in the games room. I hope you still managed to have an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again one day.

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Great getaway from it all!!

Comfortable cottage with every thing you need. Both bedrooms have on suite. Great facilities on complex, Pool, sauna, jacuzzi and games room. Grounds always clean and tidy. Within a couple of miles for Falmouth and Asda.

From the Owner:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again one day.

Read More

Property Floorplans



Street View

Nearby Properties

Nearby Attractions

Check availability & book

Calendar Loading...