• Home
  • Destination

    Discover the Regions of Cornwall

    North Cornwall

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in North Cornwall.

    Read More
    South East Cornwall

    Please find listed below all our holiday cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in South East Cornwall.

    Read More
    South West Cornwall

    ​Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in South West Cornwall.

    Read More
    The Roseland

    Roseland Cottages

    We have a wide selection of holiday cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation on the Roseland Peninsula and throughout St Mawes.

    Read More
    The Atlantic Coast

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation on the Atlantic Coast

    Read More
    West Cornwall

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in West Cornwall.

    Read More
  • Inspiration

    Cornwall Holiday Inspiration

    Dog Friendly
    We have some lovely pet & dog friendly accommodation in Cornwall. Many of our holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall are pet and dog friendly. Cornwall is a fabulous place to bring your dog, with miles and miles or coastal and inland paths to explore. Do be careful near the cliffs as many edges are unprotected, or with only gorse or bracken separating your pet from the sea. Please check which beaches are dog friendly, many have restrictions during peak periods. Some properties may charge a small additional fee for pets.We have over 270 dog and pet friendly rental properties in all locations.  Choose from countryside, town or beach cottages with wonderful views, apartments, barn conversions, beach houses, harbour side and cliff top cottages. Many of our pet friendly holiday homes have gardens and the beach on your doorstep providing the perfect setting for you and your dog.
    Hot Tub
    We have some lovely accommodation with hot tubs in Cornwall. We have an increasing number of holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall with hot tubs or whirlpools on site. A prefect way to relax after exploring the region. Many are private hot tubs, but a few are shared access, check individual properties for details.
    Sea views
    We have some wonderful sea view cottages to rent in the finest waterside locations Being a Peninsula, Cornwall is bordered on two sides by the sea providing the most amazing sea views. From the crashing surf of the Atlantic Ocean to the soft idyllic views around the south coast, you are sure to enjoy the sights and smells of Cornish coastal living. Several of our properties have sea views and they are exactly as the pictures show. Please see individual details to see whether you will be lying in bed looking out to sea, or enjoying a glass of something on the terrace whilst watching the local regatta sail past. St Mawes has our highest density of sea view properties, but with new locations across Cornwall being added all the time please keep a look out until you find exactly what you are looking for. 
    Beach within walking distance
    We have a large selection of accommodation within walking distance of a beach in Cornwall Many of our holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall are within easy reach of a fabulous beach. Picturesque walks along the cliffs or a short jaunt through cobbled streets, make walking to a beach a memory in itself. Cornwall offers long stretches of sandy beaches as we as cute coves with pebbles to skim. An increase in beach cafes across the region offer a range of home made cakes, Cornish ice creams, and even gourmet meals to refresh you after a long day on the beach.  Throughout the winter months you'll find an array of windsurfing, kite surfing, body-boarding and surfing beaches, predominantly across the north coast, but also if the wind is in the right direction the south can offering great waves.
    Luxury holiday home
    We have some amazing luxury homes, cottages and self catering accommodation to rent in some of Cornwall's finest locations.
    Romantic cottage
    We have some lovely romantic accommodation in Cornwall. Cornwall offers the romantic many a quiet secluded location! With quaint tea rooms and cosy country pubs and roaring fires no wonder it is so popular with those wishing to pop the question or newlyweds just getting away from it all. St Mawes Castle is increasingly becoming the place to get married, either inside or on the lawns looking across the River Fal to Falmouth as the sun sets. Many of our properties deemed 'Romantic Holiday Cottages' are located in the depths of the county with log fires perfect for some cosy nights in.
    Budget self catering in Cornwall
    We have some lovely budget accommodation in Cornwall. Many of our holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall offer excellent value for money. On a budget? Looking for a cheap cottage in Cornwall without compromising on quality? We have a lovely selection of affordable accommodation for your holiday in Cornwall. Please be assured that any of our 'cheap Cornwall cottages' are of good quality and represent excellent value for money. Many of our cottages are also available for shorter Cornwall breaks.
    Cornwall Breaks

    Weather looking good this weekend?  Do you fancy a last minute escape to Cornwall?  We have lots of great properties available for 3 day breaks starting on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday or midweek short breaks arriving on a Monday or a Tuesday.

    Last Minute Cornwall Cottages

    Weather looking good this weekend?  Do you fancy a last minute escape to Cornwall?  We have lots of great properties available for 3 day breaks starting on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday.

  • Blog
  • Help

T: 01872 264441

Menu
Explore 3D Space
3D Tour View Photos

Kernyk Cottage

Holiday Cottage in Falmouth

Sleeps 4 - Bedrooms 2 - From £279

Pub within walking distance
Dog Friendly
WiFi
Parking available
Garden
Discount for a couple
Friday change over
Kernyk Cottage is a traditional granite Cornish cottage nestled behind the main farmhouse up a picturesque little gravel drive. If you are after a peaceful rural retreat that is relatively close to Falmouth, the Helford and the Lizard then go no further, with plenty of fields to exercise your dogs and a purpose built playground to exercise your children Kernyk Cottage will provide your ideal Cornish holiday.

Property Details

Kernyk Cottage nestles behind the main farm house and is a beautiful traditional granite Cornish Cottage, you enter the courtyard garden down some rustic granite steps which are characterful though not even, these are probably not best suited to those with balance difficulties or young children (please ask for more information if required), however the courtyard is quiet and sheltered and is a sun trap in the afternoon and evenings. Inside is a dining / breakfast room and an open plan lounge and kitchen all packed with traditional features, large exposed blocks of granite, thick walls and beamed ceiling. To the front of the main farmhouse is a communal child's play area that is shared with the other 2 cottages, Ruby Farm cottage and Dingley cottage.

Porkellis is a superb place to stay with stunning access to the bustling port of Falmouth, with its vibrant atmosphere, Helford River, one of the most beautiful tidal creeks in the country made famous by Daphne Du Maurier's classic novel Frenchman's Creek, and onwards to the untamed beauty and splendour of the Lizard peninsula.


Also available on this site are Ruby Farm Cottage (sleeps 5) and Dingley Cottage (sleeps 3).

Accommodation
Ground floor: The front door leads into the breakfast / dining room with a bright and airy feel, a door leads into the open plan kitchen / lounge with a full range of fitted units, sofa, chairs and TV, stairs lead up to;
First floor: Open onto a landing with doors to; double bedroom with en-suite shower room and WC, twin bedroom with en suite bathroom with WC and hand basin.
Exterior: Drive with parking for 1 car to the rear of the property, further parking is available on request. Rustic granite steps lead to a private patio area with table, chairs and barbecue. There is a communal playground area. Guests may walk their dogs around some of the fields on the farm.

Facilities & Services
The property has gas central heating. The kitchen is fully fitted with a range of units. There is a gas oven and hob, a microwave, dishwasher, toaster, kettle, fridge with small freezer compartment. There is a combined washing machine and tumble dryer. The lounge area has a flatscreen digital Freeview TV with an integrated DVD player, CD & Radio. There is an iron & ironing board. WiFi is available at the property however it is through a satellite and therefore has a download limit (great for emails, not so good for streaming films).

Miscellaneous
Electricity, heating, bed linen and towels are all included but you will need to bring your own beach towels. Up to 2 well behaved dogs are welcome at an additional £25 per dog per week, although please remember that dogs cannot be left unattended in the cottage alone. Regrettably no smoking is allowed. There is off road parking for 1 car. There is a barbecue.

General Booking Information
Arrival / Departure is a Friday
Short breaks are available during the quieter months of the year.
£200 pre-authorised to your credit or debit card as a security deposit is required.

Discounts available for couples staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using one room only.

Please note the steps:

Property Location


?With easy access to Falmouth, attractions such as The National Maritime Museum Falmouth, Rick Steins Fish and Chips on Discovery Quay, Pendennis Castle and even St Mawes Castle via a 20 minute foot ferry, are all within reach. Falmouth is one of Cornwall's most popular places to visit because of its unique mix of attractions, water sports, beaches, history and place to eat. The National Maritime Museum Cornwall and Pendennis Castle are both high on visitors' lists of places to visit and the views from Pendennis on a fine day a truly magical. Falmouth is the sailing capital of Cornwall with its spectacular deep water natural harbour offering a haven for both cruisers and racers. Many events are held through the summer culminating in the famous Falmouth Regatta Week and associated shore side events. The beaches at Gyllingvase & Swanpool are coarse sand and are wonderfully sunny south facing spots. You can ride the ferry to beautiful St Mawes for the day or take a delightful trip around the estuary stopping off at either Trelissick Gardens or Smugglers Cottage for a cream tea!

Helston was originally a thriving port, however as the river silted up over the years, this ceased to be. Where the river joins the sea, is now Cornwall's largest freshwater lake. The market town has a mixture of Georgian & Victorian architecture. On Coinagehall Street is the Blue Anchor, originally a rest house for monks, which became a tavern in the 15th century. This is possibly the oldest brewery in the country selling the strong local brew, Spingo. Helston is the gateway to the Lizard Peninsula and to the Helford River, which has some beautiful villages, namely St Anthony in Meneage & Helford Village.

Porthleven is approximate 3.5 miles southwest of Helston. This charming fishing harbour also has world class surf break.

A little further along the coast, towards Penzance is Praa Sands, which has a mile of sandy beach.

North Helford covers the area from Maenporth to Helston and includes places such as Mawnan Smith, Helford Passage, Constantine & Gweek. The area has many delights such as Trebah and Glendurgan Gardens, The Seal Sanctuary at Gweek, Goonhilly Earth and Satellite Station and The Ferry Boat Inn.

Daphne du Maurier wrote her only romantic novel Frenchmans Creek about the River Helford, and who can blame her, the views really are beautiful. Glendurgan Gardens run by the National Trust hold a 176 year old laurel maze and the 'Giants Stride' swing most popular with children. St Anthony-in-Meneage holds a lovely little church primarily of medieval architecture. Maenporth beach tucked away on the westerly edge of Falmouth Bay boast spectacular views, well worth a visit.

Property Reviews

3.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 3
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 3
Location: 4
Value For Money: 3

Pleasant stay

Where the cottage is makes it easy for visiting lots of lovely places. Not easy if you have problems going up and down stone steps.

From the Owner:

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

lovely spot, very peaceful.

We loved our stay in Cornwall, made better by the cottage. private, peaceful. Clean, well equipped, not a thing we found to complain about. Good shower, plenty of hot water, good kitchen (we baked bread), makes for a very economical stay to eat in a few times, breakfast in the garden, bird song, a very tranquil stay. we found the heating on when we arrived, which we turned off, the cottage was so cosy. I think we may well return. scones on arrival, jam and cream, much appreciated Arran. Thank you.

From the Owner:
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay in Kernyk Cottage. Hope you had a safe journey home and hope to welcome you back in the future.

4.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Excellent short stay at Kernyk Cottage

Kernyk Cottage proved an excellent location from which to visit the attractions of the west end of Cornwall, it was quiet and the facilities were good. We even discovered that that the smoke alarm functioned efficiently when using the grill. There was also a local village pub that gave a warm welcome and evening meals. And the one-track country lanes made for an interesting driving experience.

From the Owner:
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for your stay in Kernyk Cottage. Glad you found it a good spot to explore this part of Cornwall from. Apologies about the smoke alarm! I'm sure they have made them more sensitive over the years. We are very lucky to have such a welcoming village pub, glad you enjoyed a visit. Sorry you didn't find it complete value for money, I have to say I think 19.95 per person, per 24 hrs for everything including the wifi, towels, heating, electric and a whole cottage is pretty good value. Bed & Breakfast for one is £70 & upwards per night per person. Hope your journey home went well.

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Absolutely wonderful, the perfect getaway!

Not only was this an excellent find, everything about the cottage is Cornish, from the narrow roads that the Romans never attempted to the granite steps that lead you down to the cottage. Most locations to visit were only 20 minutes away, including Asda for everything that I forgot to pack. The owners are very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Looking to book again! Thank you to the Middleton family.

From the Owner:
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review for Kernyk Cottage. So glad to hear that you enjoyed Cornwall and Kernyk Cottage too. It is in the perfect spot to explore the South West of Cornwall and peaceful too. Hope to welcome you again

3.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 2
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 3
Value For Money: 4

kernyk cottage

one of the cleanest cottages i have stayed in and that is a lot over the years. It would have been nice to see our host, it was only next door. local pub very cliquey. The steps at the cottage are challenging to say the least , not a place for children or anyone infirm.ALL considered its very clean and comfortable and good value for money. the other rental properties on the farm looked very nice also.

From the Owner:
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write your review. Hope you had a good journey home with no traffic jams. Very pleased to hear that you found Kernyk lovely and clean, shame you don't always experience this in the places you have stayed in, but a shame you were not so pleased with the location. It is in a good place to explore Cornwall though. I'm very sorry that you found the steps a challenge, that is why I asked Cornwalls Cottages to e mail you and check that you were fine with them as soon as I received your booking, Cornwalls Cottages replied & assured me that said you would be fine. It is why I insist there are photos of them on the web page for people to look at before they book and why I say they are not suitable for young children or anyone unsteady on their feet in the details. Glad you were able to use the easier entrance in from Ruby Cottage. I'm sorry we missed a proper "Hello". When you kindly rang to speak about leaving times, I apologised. I'm afraid the side effects of daily radiotherapy had got the better of me when you were here but I don't tend to explain this to guests as they are on holiday and have far better things to do than listen to excuses from the owner! Life is for living and enjoying.

4.8 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 4
Value For Money: 5

September break at Kernyk Cottage

The cottage is a lovely traditional stone property but has all the modern gadgets to make the stay a very comfortable one. The bedrooms are light and airy, one with a shower and the other with a bath. I had the best sleep in a long time whilst at the cottage, probably due to the comfy bed and the Cornish air! The living room is cosy and spacious, with a selection of games and books provided by the owners. There is also good wi-fi at the property. The kitchen is well-equipped and has everything you would need. There is a lovely little garden, with a patio and BBQ area. The stone steps going down to the cottage were not a problem for us, once we got used to them. The owner is very approachable and helpful, and having a gorgeous cream tea set out for us on arrival, plus a vase of flowers in the dining room, our holiday got off to a good start. Both my daughter and myself enjoyed our stay at the cottage, and our dog loved the walks down the lanes.

From the Owner:
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the cottage and had all you needed.

4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 4
Value For Money: 4

KERNYK COTTAGE STAY

Enjoyed our stay at the cottage very much & had added bonus of enclosed paddock for the dog to have a good run. Very good & would recommend.

From the Owner:
Thank you very much for your review, lovely to hear your dog enjoyed his stay too!

4.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 4
Value For Money: 5

Cozy Comfy

We found Kernyk Cottage as cozy as advertised - beautiful location and adequately furnished. The 2-bedroom 2-bath suited our needs perfectly. We highly recommend this charming accommodation!

From the Owner:
Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed Kernyk Cottage and would recommend it.

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Tranquil cosyness.

What a fantastic find. We enjoyed a long weekend at Kernyk Cottage last week and had a lovely time. On arrival there were delicious scones,jam and clotted cream to enjoy in the airy dining room with a beautiful view out to the primrose and Camelia garden. The cottage is located to the rear of an old farmhouse and is so very peaceful. A short walk to the local pub and there's not much else in the area but rolling fields and farmland, a great get away from it all location, but not so far that you are miles from civilisation. We enjoyed many of the towns within 15-20 minutes drive, Falmouth and Helston, Hayle and St Ives. I love Gunwalloe beach for a cracking dog walk with Halzephron Inn to pop into before or afterwards. Returning after a day out to the cosy cottage was always a pleasure and we all slept wonderfully each night and enjoyed the excellent shower too. We would highly recommend a stay here!

From the Owner:
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. And what a wonderful review it is too! So glad to read that you were so comfortable and enjoyed the area. Always lovely to hear when guests enjoy a stay in Kernyk.

4.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 4
Value For Money: 4

Good time, despite wet weather.

Kernyk cottage is cosy, comfortable, and very clean. The kitchen is extremely well equipped, better than any other cottage we've stayed in. The garden was rather muddy when we were there, which made it difficult to keep the carpet( a cream one) Clean, maybe a bigger doormat could be useful. Although we had been warned about the very steep steps, and being agile, had no difficulty, we feel that a rail would make for much better safety. We understand that this is on the owners ' to do' list! We enjoyed our holiday exploring the lizard peninsular.

From the Owner:
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. Lovely to hear that you found Kernyk, clean, cosy and comfortable. So sorry it has rained here all winter and some! Think we will make the path a bit bigger to maybe help with the "mud' situation. The large rug, as you walk in, gets a wash after every stay so no worries about a bit of mud on there. Glad the kitchen had everything you needed.

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Private, peaceful

We walked in and immediately felt at home. Everything we needed was there. It was great having the farm space to walk our dog and a bit of lawn as well. The location was excellent as mid way between everywhere we wanted to visit. We were very pleased with the choice we made to stay here.

From the Owner:
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for Kernyk Cottage. Lovely to hear that Kernyk suited all your needs and you enjoyed your stay there. Glad to hear you agree it is a good location for exploring the South West of Cornwall. Hope you had a good journey home. It would be lovely to welcome you back again one day.

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Summer break

We chose Kernyk cottage as we initially intended to take our dogs with us. From past experience dog friendly cottages are bit shabby. This is not the case with Kernyk. The cottage is well cared for, very clean and comfortable. It suited the three of us perfectly. The only minor improvement we would suggest is the provision of a simple handrail to the garden steps which could become slippery in the wet. The location was ideal for us, tucked away but near enough to Falmouth to make visiting our relatives easy.

From the Owner:

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Fantastic holiday cottage

The cottage was very comfortable,warm,clean and everything you could possibly need was provided. All you need to take is your towels and yourselves. There were homemade scones and clotted cream, and a vase of flowers to greet me and milk in the fridge so felt really loved. Arran came to meet me and assured me that if there were any problems to just let her know. The cottage is out in the country side so all there was to wake me were the birds and sheep, a wonderful place to get away from it all. My only concern is that there is no rail at the bottom of the first set of steps so if they were slippery or anyone stumbled there is nothing to stop them falling into the court yard. I will DEFINATELY return when I go back to Cornwall.

From the Owner:

4.3 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 4
Value For Money: 4

Our stay at Kernyk

We couldn't have asked for a more perfect location in which to explore some of the most beautiful parts of Cornwall. Yes, the cottage is located away from the coast, but it's precise location meant that the west,south and eastern coastal areas were all about 30 minutes away. The cottage is a real dichotomy: it's basic, but perfect at the same time, cosy and snug comes to mind, but is fitted with everything (and I mean everything), you would require for a 2 week break or longer. The owner - Arran - is incredibly friendly and made us very welcome, cream tea with homemade jam - perfect again! A lot of people have mentioned the steep steps leading down to the front door - I expected a lot worse to be honest, but if you want a flat landscape, go to Lincolnshire - Cornwall is not the place for you! Dog friendly, with lots of dog friendly beaches nearby. Perfect! We would/will happily return.

From the Owner:
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in Kernyk Cottage. I'm sorry we were not up to 5's all round but the feedback is very helpful all the same. They are an ongoing project and as soon as we update one thing something else rears it's head, Ah the beauty of 200 plus year old buildings, and their contents. Glad to hear you were not concerned by the granite steps, as uneven as they are, they are rather lovely but a Cornish hazard none the less. I hope you had a safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Maybe you can try our homemade beer as well as the jam next time!

3.8 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 4
Value For Money: 3

Good cottage

Lovely place, had everything we needed, good location for exploring many parts of Cornwall. Very private and undisturbed. This website insists my review is a minimum of one hundred and fifty characters so I've added this rather pointless final sentence to comply.

From the Owner:
Firstly, thank for taking the time to write a review for us and also thank you for the lovely message you left in our review book in the cottage. It is very helpful to know what guests liked and what they find lacking so improvements can be made where possible. Having read this review I'm so sorry to see from the marks you have awarded us that we were not entirely up to your expectations. Especially value for money. £24.96 per person per day for a cottage, that along with all the usual you would expect, provides a dish washer, washing machine, dryer, central heating ( which the guest has control of anytime of the year) & limitless hot water, no extra charge whatsoever, in a central part of South West Cornwall, quiet and very private, incredibly reasonable. In order to make a profit we would have to increase our prices by at least 20%! The amount we charge doesn't entirely cover maintenance/renewal/updating costs or overheads. But we would rather keep the cottages in use & have guests to visit and explore Cornwall from a comfortable, central base & at least cover some costs. So I am disappointed to read you did not feel it value for money but hope you got enjoyment out of your stay in Cornwall all the same & thank you for the feedback. I'm glad I was able to introduce your children to all our animals while here and hoped they enjoyed the play area, although I didn't see them out and about much, and that your enjoyed the scones. I trust you had a safe journey home. P.S. The green flashing light on the landing meant you were not connected to the internet, I'm so sorry you used your own internet allowance, rather than letting me know in the week, as I could have sorted it within 5 mins. I'm afraid I get no notification of this in the house.

4.3 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Very nice cottage in good location

Lovely cottage in a very good location that has all home comforts. The cottage is situated close to many attractions and beaches (by car). Will be returning.

From the Owner:
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

4.3 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 5
Location: 4
Value For Money: 4

perfect place to stay!

We stayed at Kernyk for a short period during easter. The cottage is in an ideal location to connect you to Lands End, the Lizard and few others. The only draw back we had was the weather, which was expected. Apart from that it was an amazing experience. The cottage was well maintained and cozy. The owner was always around to check on you and making sure we were comfortable. I strongly recommend this place to all

From the Owner:

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Cosy, well

We arrived late but it was no problem, the cottage was warm and has a friendly feel. Plenty of nearby roads and tracks for dog walking. Delicious drinking water - really - as good as our spring at home! We were visiting my son at Penryn Campus and had a lovely room with dining table for entertaining him and his friends to supper and a good kitchen for cooking. Close enough to pop over any time. Visited masses of National Trust beaches and had lots of lovely walks.

From the Owner:
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. It's lovely to hear that you found the cottage warm and welcoming and was suitable for you and your son. Very pleased too that you enjoyed visiting lots of lovely places nearby. Hope to welcome you back again.

4.3 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 4
Condition: 3
Location: 4
Value For Money: 5

Our Stay

The cottage was clean and tidy and the scones and cream left for us were a nice touch. My concern were the steps down to the cottage very narrow very steep with no hand rail, if you slipped or lost you footing on these steps there is about a 20 foot drop to the courtyard at the bottom, it needs something to stop anyone who lost their footing falling to the bottom.

From the Owner:
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review. I'm very sorry to hear that you found the old granite steps an issue. Although they are a feature of old cottages in Cornwall we are also very aware that these are not suitable for some people and this is why there are pictures of them and that we highlight them on the information about this cottage. We woud like to put some railings up when time and money allow, I'm afraid a new boiler made it to the top of last years "to do list" but we will do our best to get things sorted before next Summer.

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Things to improve

Steps were very steep with no hand rail this was a constant worry with young children. The shower door was difficult to open and shut. The cream teas and fresh flowers were a very nice welcoming

From the Owner:
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review. I'm very sorry to hear that you found the old granite steps an issue. Although they are a feature of old cottages in Cornwall we are also very aware that these are not suitable for some people and this is why there are pictures of them and that we highlight them on the information about this cottage as not being suitable for people unstable on their feet, including young children. We woud like to put some railings up when time and money allow, I'm afraid a new boiler made it to the top of last years "to do list" but we will do our best to get things sorted before next Summer. The shower door is being replaced.

3.3 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 3
Condition: 4
Location: 3
Value For Money: 3

Access a problem

The cottage was ok, but should point out the access is a real issue. The steep stone steps down to the front door are a real hazard especially if it is wet and they become slippery. Also there is no hand rail making it rather dangerous. I would suggest decent steps be erected with a supporting hand rail on either side as an urgent priority. The outside light failed to work which made it a further issue at night. Not a lot of room in the kitchen area and the interior steps rather steep. Not quite up to the standard we are used to.

From the Owner:
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review. I'm very sorry to hear that you found the old granite steps an issue. Although they are a feature of old cottages in Cornwall we are also very aware that these are not suitable for some people and this is why there are pictures of them and that we highlight them on the information about this cottage. We woud like to put some railings up when time and money allow, I'm afraid a new boiler made it to the top of last years "to do list" but we will do our best to get things sorted before next Summer. I'm very sorry about the outside light, I hope you used the torch we provide. I would have had it fixed when you were here had I known, but thanks to your review it is now fixed.

4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 4
Value For Money: 4

week in cornwall

Great base for touring the area. Cottage clean and tidy and quiet. No noise from neighbours. Stone access steps down so not ideal for elderly and infirm.

From the Owner:
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review. I'm very pleased to hear that you found the cottage clean & tidy. So sorry to hear that you found the old granite steps an issue. Although they are a feature of old cottages in Cornwall we are also very aware that these are not suitable for some people and this is why there are pictures of them and that we highlight them on the information about this cottage as not being suitable for people unsteady on their feet. We woud like to put some railings up when time and money allow, I'm afraid a new boiler made it to the top of last years "to do list" but we will do our best to get things sorted before next Summer.

4.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 4
Value For Money: 4

steps

Steps to the cottage could do with a hand rail other that the Cottage was top notch would recommend. Very good location lovely setting. Even the dog loved his vacation.

From the Owner:
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review. Lovely to hear you found the cottage "Top Notch!" and that your dog enjoyed his holiday here too. Very sorry to hear that you found the old granite steps an issue. Although they are a feature of old cottages in Cornwall we are also very aware that these are not suitable for some people and this is why there are pictures of them and that we highlight them on the information about this cottage. We woud like to put some railings up when time and money allow, I'm afraid a new boiler made it to the top of last years "to do list" but we will do our best to get things sorted before next Summer.

4.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 4
Location: 4
Value For Money: 5

A very well presented cozy cottage

A very well presented cozy cottage. Ideal location in a small community. Owner very helpful. Would certainly want to go back for few extra days. Highly recommended.

From the Owner:
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Super to hear that you enjoyed your time here. Hope to welcome you back again.

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Four days of perfection!

I can't think how the owners could possibly have made this cottage any better. Two grateful old grotties and two Jack Rs. Even the "mizzle" only targeted us once! (If you don't know, ask a Cornishman - better, ask a Cornish Lady - you could even get a cream tea welcome! The six "stars" is NOT a misprint.

From the Owner:
Thank you! What a super review, thank you very much for taking the time to write it. As you can see, I've only just found the time to answer! Sorry about that. Hope we can welcome you back one day.

Read More

Property Floorplans

Street View

Nearby Properties

Nearby Attractions

Check availability & book

Calendar Loading...