• Home
  • Destination

    Discover the Regions of Cornwall

    North Cornwall

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in North Cornwall.

    Read More
    South East Cornwall

    Please find listed below all our holiday cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in South East Cornwall.

    Read More
    South West Cornwall

    ​Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in South West Cornwall.

    Read More
    The Roseland

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in St Mawes and on the Roseland Peninsula.

    Read More
    The Atlantic Coast

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation on the Atlantic Coast

    Read More
    West Cornwall

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in West Cornwall.

    Read More
  • Inspiration

    Cornwall Holiday Inspiration

    Dog Friendly
    We have some lovely pet & dog friendly accommodation in Cornwall. Many of our holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall are pet and dog friendly. Cornwall is a fabulous place to bring your dog, with miles and miles or coastal and inland paths to explore. Do be careful near the cliffs as many edges are unprotected, or with only gorse or bracken separating your pet from the sea. Please check which beaches are dog friendly, many have restrictions during peak periods. Some properties may charge a small additional fee for pets.We have over 270 dog and pet friendly rental properties in all locations.  Choose from countryside, town or beach cottages with wonderful views, apartments, barn conversions, beach houses, harbour side and cliff top cottages. Many of our pet friendly holiday homes have gardens and the beach on your doorstep providing the perfect setting for you and your dog.
    Hot Tub
    We have some lovely accommodation with hot tubs in Cornwall. We have an increasing number of holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall with hot tubs or whirlpools on site. A prefect way to relax after exploring the region. Many are private hot tubs, but a few are shared access, check individual properties for details.
    Sea views
    We have some wonderful sea view cottages to rent in the finest waterside locations Being a Peninsula, Cornwall is bordered on two sides by the sea providing the most amazing sea views. From the crashing surf of the Atlantic Ocean to the soft idyllic views around the south coast, you are sure to enjoy the sights and smells of Cornish coastal living. Several of our properties have sea views and they are exactly as the pictures show. Please see individual details to see whether you will be lying in bed looking out to sea, or enjoying a glass of something on the terrace whilst watching the local regatta sail past. St Mawes has our highest density of sea view properties, but with new locations across Cornwall being added all the time please keep a look out until you find exactly what you are looking for. 
    Beach within walking distance
    We have a large selection of accommodation within walking distance of a beach in Cornwall Many of our holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall are within easy reach of a fabulous beach. Picturesque walks along the cliffs or a short jaunt through cobbled streets, make walking to a beach a memory in itself. Cornwall offers long stretches of sandy beaches as we as cute coves with pebbles to skim. An increase in beach cafes across the region offer a range of home made cakes, Cornish ice creams, and even gourmet meals to refresh you after a long day on the beach.  Throughout the winter months you'll find an array of windsurfing, kite surfing, body-boarding and surfing beaches, predominantly across the north coast, but also if the wind is in the right direction the south can offering great waves.
    Luxury holiday home
    We have some amazing luxury homes, cottages and self catering accommodation to rent in some of Cornwall's finest locations.
    Romantic cottage
    We have some lovely romantic accommodation in Cornwall. Cornwall offers the romantic many a quiet secluded location! With quaint tea rooms and cosy country pubs and roaring fires no wonder it is so popular with those wishing to pop the question or newlyweds just getting away from it all. St Mawes Castle is increasingly becoming the place to get married, either inside or on the lawns looking across the River Fal to Falmouth as the sun sets. Many of our properties deemed 'Romantic Holiday Cottages' are located in the depths of the county with log fires perfect for some cosy nights in.
    Budget self catering in Cornwall
    We have some lovely budget accommodation in Cornwall. Many of our holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall offer excellent value for money. On a budget? Looking for a cheap cottage in Cornwall without compromising on quality? We have a lovely selection of affordable accommodation for your holiday in Cornwall. Please be assured that any of our 'cheap Cornwall cottages' are of good quality and represent excellent value for money. Many of our cottages are also available for shorter Cornwall breaks.
    Cornwall Breaks

    Weather looking good this weekend?  Do you fancy a last minute escape to Cornwall?  We have lots of great properties available for 3 day breaks starting on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday or midweek short breaks arriving on a Monday or a Tuesday.

    Last Minute Cornwall Cottages

    Weather looking good this weekend?  Do you fancy a last minute escape to Cornwall?  We have lots of great properties available for 3 day breaks starting on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday.

  • Blog
  • Help

T: 01872 264441

Menu
The Square, Portscatho, Cornwall
Explore 3D Space
3D Tour View Photos

Hillside Cottage

Holiday Cottage in Portscatho

Sleeps 5 - Bedrooms 2 - From £339

Beach within walking distance
Shops within walking distance
Pub within walking distance
WiFi
Open fire / woodburner
Parking available
Highchair available
Garden
Discount for a couple
Friday change over
Hillside is a traditional cottage right in the heart of the harbour village of Portscatho on Cornwall's beautiful Roseland Peninsula. Full of character this cottage benefits from a gorgeous little sunny back garden and is only a few steps from the village beach or the dramatic coastal footpath. The cottage has a dedicated parking space which is essential in this small village.

Property Details

Hillside is a traditional cottage right in the heart of the harbour village of Portscatho on Cornwall's beautiful Roseland Peninsula. Full of character this cottage benefits from a gorgeous little sunny back garden and is only a few steps from the village beach or the dramatic coastal footpath. The cottage has a dedicated parking space which is essential in this small village. Positioned only a few steps from the beach, pub and local shop, the cottage is perfect for those looking for a relaxed holiday without the car! The cottage has had a new kitchen extension added for the summer of 2011 which has made the ground floor considerably larger and bring the facilities up to date. The living area is heavily beamed and there is a range of comfortable chairs around the large Cornish stone fireplace with woodburning stove. Upstairs there are two bedrooms, one a small twin with 2'6 beds and the other with one double bed and an additional single bed. There are glimpses of the sea from the first floor window.

Fully redecorated for 2017 season, both inside and out.

Accommodation
Ground Floor: Open Plan lounge & dining area with woodburning stove, newly fitted kitchen & stairs to the first floor.
First Floor: One bedroom with a 4'6" double bed & a separate 3' single bed with an en-suite shower room & WC. Twin bedroom with 2'6" zip and link beds which can be made up as a 5' double bed on request, family bathroom with handheld shower & WC.
Exterior: A small grassed garden which is a real little sun trap and benefits from sunshine for much of the day.

Facilities & Services
Heating is via night storage heating and the woodburning stove. The kitchen has a range of modern equipment. There is an electric oven and hob, a microwave, toaster, kettle, dishwasher, large fridge and freezer. There is also a washing machine. The sitting room area has a TV & DVD player. There is Superfast WiFi available at the property (approx 20-30mbps). There is an iron & ironing board. There is a stair gate at the top of the stairs.

Miscellaneous
Electricity, heating, bed linen and towels are provided but you will need to bring your own beach towels. An initial supply of wood is supplied for the woodburner. Regrettably no smoking or dogs are allowed. There is a dedicated off the road car parking space at the rear of the property for a medium sized car. Please be aware that access might be difficult for some makes of car. There is a high chair available (but no cot).

General Booking Information
Arrival / Departure is normally a Friday.
Short breaks are available during quieter periods.
£200 pre-authorised to your credit or debit card as a security deposit is required.

Discounts available for couples staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using one bedroom only.

Property Location


Portscatho and its neighbouring village of Gerrans are located on the eastern coast of the Roseland Peninsula, Cornwall, overlooking the dramatic Gerrans Bay. A truly peaceful waterside village, Portscatho is a lovely place for a holiday. There are miles of coastal and countryside footpaths to explore, particularly along St Anthony's Head. Portscatho was once a busy fishing harbour, but now it has become a haven for artists due to the striking light which is particularly good in the morning sun. More than anything, Portscatho is a relaxing place. The beaches such as Porthcurnick, Towan and Porthbeor are simply idyllic and these are only minutes from the village. With a superb local butchers shop, 2 great little pubs and a well stocked local store, Portscatho and Gerrans are a lovely place to spend a holiday.

Property Reviews

3 out of 5

Cleanliness: 2
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 3
Condition: 3
Location: 4
Value For Money: 3

Hillside

This house was a good base to experience the Roseland peninsular however it was very cold and was rather dirty....bathroom was a bit grubby and there were cobwebs in the front bedroom. The bed in the second bedroom was not made up as required and the mattresses were uncomfortable. Well equipped kitchen.

From the Owner:
Thank you for your comments, which I have passed on to our management company. They send their apologies that the bed in the back bedroom was not made up as you had requested. Sorry also that you hit a cold spell. Just to let you know, we are ordering a new mattress for the front bedroom.

4.2 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Hillside cottage

A great spot for a short break with the family - within walking distance of great beaches, cafes and coastline

From the Owner:

3.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 4
Condition: 3
Location: 5
Value For Money: 3

Hillside Cottage, Portscatho

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Hillside, but it would have been even better if bath towels were provided! We were also asked to strip the bed on the morning we were leaving, which I wasnA?t really happy about. We visit the Roseland twice a year and no other cottage rental has requested this.

From the Owner:

3.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 3
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 3
Condition: 3
Location: 5
Value For Money: 3

Great location

Nice location and the property is a bit dated but OK very small TV. Cleanliness could be better I had to clear the hairs in the sink plughole yuk.

From the Owner:
Thanks for your comments - I have passed the concern about the sink on to the management company. Thanks again.

4.2 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 4
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 3

Holiday

Hillside is a very comfortable holiday cottage situated in a beautiful fishing quay what is of to like . Bonus - hidden hut and TAtums pizza's. Certainlybook again .

From the Owner:

4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 3
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Hillside

Very nice holiday - wonderful village which has everything. The cottage it self was nice with all that is needed. There were a few minor bugbears: The BBQ was rusted solid. Some of the appliances did not have the handbook. The TV remote did not work and the handbook seemed to be for a different model. Other than that we loved it!

From the Owner:

4.3 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Spring Break

I have stayed in Hillside Cottage before and will hopefully do so again. It is not a warm cottage but the lounge becomes pleasant enough with the log burner doing its thing. Only one problem with water leaking into the dining room through the ceiling light socket... Otherwise a great location opposite The Plume of Feathers, next door to the butchers and 2 doors away from the best equipped village stores in England.

From the Owner:
Great to hear that you have returned to Hillside Cottage for a repeat visit, and that you love the location. Thank you so much for alerting us to the water leak - we are getting a plumber to come and look as a matter of urgency, and very grateful to you for letting us know about the problem. Thanks again.

4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 3
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

A comfortable cottage in a fabulous location

We enjoyed three nights in this comfortable cottage in the heart of Portscatho over a lovely early November weekend. The kitchen is very well equipped and a decent size with a table and chairs included. The living room has a table for dining as well and is a comfortable space. There is a good selection of books and games to enjoy on a longer stay. The bedroom spaces would be ideal for families with the on suite shower a useful addition to the family bathroom. We experienced a bit of noise from the pub over the road but that is balanced out by the proximity to the beach, harbour and coast path. The house was clean and well prepared for our visit however it would have been nice to have had the night storage heater put on for the night before our stay to warm the house. There were however some electric heaters to take the chill off.

From the Owner:
Thank you so much for your comments - we're delighted to hear that you found the cottage comfortable, clean and well equipped. The management company have certainly been briefed to put the night storage heating on the night before visitors arrive in order to make sure the cottage is warm for people on arrival. I have checked this with them, and have suggested that they put it on two nights before visitors arrive in the winter when it's particularly cold. Thanks again.

4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 3
Condition: 3
Location: 5
Value For Money: 3

Review

We have stayed in a number of properties in Portscatho over the years. This one is very well located, has great parking, and a nice downstairs layout with wood burner and excellent wifi. That said, it was cold without central heating during the day, somewhat basic compared to other properties in the village and the upstairs bedroom ensuite did not smell good which we think is something to do with the foul water system.

From the Owner:
Thank you for taking the trouble to leave your comments. We're glad you liked the downstairs layout with the new wood burner. Thanks for mentioning the foul smell - we've made inquiries and are told that there was a bad smell all over Portscatho the weekend you were there, but it's apparently disappeared now, so it's not clear what the cause was. But thanks for letting us know so that we could look into the issue.

4.8 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 4
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Portscatho Stay

Had a wonderful 2 week stay here at Hillside cottage. We usually stay in St Mawes but decided to try Portscatho for a change. We loved it. It was comfortable and clean and conveniently placed for the butcher and Ralfs store for our shopping. The pub was just acoss the road too, but the bonus was, unlike St Mawes it was blissfully quiet. The walks around the area were great , easy to get to Porthcurnick and the Hidden Hut or Towan beaches. The only criticism that we would recommend is that the mattresses on the beds could do with replacing as they are a tad lumpy and one of the duvets was very thin as the nights are getting cooler, pillows too. However this didn't spoil our delight in this lovely cottage. Would we book again, like a shot, we had a very restful holiday.

From the Owner:
Thanks for your comments - we're delighted to hear that you had such a lovely time in Portscatho, and found Hillside Cottage to be clean, comfortable and convenient. Just for information, after receiving your comments about being cold, we switched over to the warmer winter duvets. Thanks again - great to hear that you would book again.

4.2 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Lovely comfortable cottage in ideal location

Had a great time in this semi-detached cottage in Portscatho. Ideal location for us opposite the very nice and friendly pub Plume of Feathers and a few minutes walk away from the coastal path. Super beach at Porthcurnick a short walk away. Very clean, comfy & well equipped cottage would return for another holiday here and would recommend to friends. My only criticism would be that we had to take our recycling away ourselves,I really think that this should be organised by the people managing the property as there is a fortnightly recycling collection in the village.

From the Owner:
Thanks for your comments - glad you had a great time. Sorry you found it a nuisance to have to take your recycling away. The recycling facility is in Gerrans, in the car park behind The Standard pub, so not too far away.

4.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Hillside Cottage Portscatho - a comfortable, beautifully situated place with a lovely atmosphere

Really well equipped kitchen, powerful shower, cosy cottage with pretty garden, looked like place had just been painted and new kitchen, great holiday.

From the Owner:
Thank you for your comments. You are right - the cottage has been repainted inside and out this Spring

4.2 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 4
Condition: 3
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Comfortable cottage, excellent location, good local amenities, some attention to detail needed.

It would have been helpful to have been told to unload at the front of the cottage to avoid carrying luggage etc up and down the stepped garden.The Key Safe was not working, after a while we tried the back door which was unlocked and found the keys hanging in lounge. The front door seemed to be unused, the lock was jammed, we were concerned about having only one exit. Eventually we found a can of lubricating oil which, when applied, freed up the lock. One evening we had a storm and thought we were about to lose power, there were no candles/night lights and the only torch was not working. The TV remote did not function and was leaking acid. No towel rails in either bathroom for drying. Masses of Tourist Information, some going back ten years, definitely needs a clear out. Scratching heard in the loft at night.

From the Owner:
Thank you for your comments. I can confirm that there is a now new key safe, and the front door is fixed too. We've also put some candles in one of the drawers, and replaced the batteries in the TV remote. We have also cleared out the outdated Tourist information, and blocked the hole in the loft where there were birds getting in. Thanks again - I hope you managed to have a good holiday in spite of these issues.

2.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 2
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 2
Condition: 1
Location: 4
Value For Money: 2

Needs attention

FIrstly on a positive, position was good, very central. The kitchen was modern and bright, it was well equipped and appliances were clean and modern, sofas were comfortable. The bathrooms were modern.However, the cottage was quite shabby and poorly furnished. We had to call the caretaker out straight away to replace 3 light bulbs, remove a table lamp that had a burning smell, and replace batteries in the remote that had leaked acid, and remove the rubbish from the front of the cottage. The smell from the bin was so offensive, we had to move it away from the back door.The table lamp was replaced with a supermarket "Basics" model. The plastic cloths covering the tables left the cloth used to clean them filthy. The kitchen bowl was dirty and old, as was the plastic sink dish drainer, which was pitted and worn. OVer head lamps on landing and dining area covered in greasy dust. Shower door seal was mildewed. Drawer front in bedroom came off in hand. Bedroom paint marked, e.g swatted insect stains and had been touched up in places. Mattresses were all coil sprung and very uncomfortable, three without head boards. Despite us being warned in pre arrival information to remove all food stuffs upon departure, the cupboards contained out of date basic supplies. Most surfaces were covered in dusty collections of shells, and a family photograph on the fire place, had the word "dust" written on the reverse. The shower enclosure contained a rusty metal container. The bathroom towel storage rack was rusted and grubby. One of the wardrobes contained old off cuts of dirty carpets. Such a shame that the owners do not take basic action to remedy these minor points, that collectively made the cottage feel dirty and uncared for. I realise many of these cottages are cherished family holiday homes, and therefore expect to take account of out dated furnishings, but Hillside left a lot to be desired.

From the Owner:
Thanks for your comments. I'm pleased to say that the cottage has now been repainted inside and out, and we have replaced many of the items you have mentioned, so thanks again

4.8 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 4
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Our holiday in Portscatho

We were really delighted with Hillside and loved our stay there! - apart from the fact that I was laid very low by a horrible chest infection for the last 3 and a half days which rather put a dent in my happy state.(Portscatho surgery happily were very helpful and put me on a course of antibiotics which I'm sure made the train journey back to London more bearable) The surgery and its proximity and accessiblity is yet another of the many plusses of Portscatho which we -- my son and I- found ravishing. The cottage and its charming little garden where we breakfasted sometimes was lovely and very comfortable and homely and its location was more than ideal. In spite of being in the heart of the tiny village and 3 mins from the coastal path and beach, it seemed amazingly calm and unbustly and we felt very uncrowded and private there - just strolling out of the house to the benches beyond the old fashioned phone box and we felt bathed in peace and beauty- I had had some misgivings about feeling crowded in there as the price to pay for the convenience and proximity of all the above amenities but no such things The kitchen was fine and well equipped. (Just two wee things would have made it even better for me : a hand held (or other) electric blender for making soups and a "last lick") Last but by no means least we really appreciated the wide range of very interesting books to read and browse and all the local travel and walking booklets and pamphlets. Many thanks to the owners!

From the Owner:

3.8 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 3
Location: 4
Value For Money: 4

Great position

Great position in a beautiful part of the world . Well situated for local shops ,pub ,cafes etc as well ,of course coastal walks . Comfortable accommodation.

From the Owner:

3.2 out of 5

Cleanliness: 2
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 3
Condition: 2
Location: 5
Value For Money: 2

Hillside Cottage in need of some TLC

This cottage has so much potential. It's location and size is amazing and it's fully equipped with everything you need. The views of the sea from the bedroom are lovely. However, it's really quite grubby and could do with a lick of paint, a really good clean and update as it's very tired looking. The ensuite has rusty furniture and the shower needs unblocking as the water doesn't drain away ( you have to turn it of half way through showering then turn it on again). Lampshades have holes and cracks them and the front of the drawers in the bedroom kept coming of in my hand. The walls are grubby and the pictures and books are dusty. There are also huge weeds coming out the window ledges. We stayed in Spring time and did put the extra heaters on at night to take the edge of but I can imagine in the winter it would've freezing, even with a fire on. The curtains move even with the windows shut. Overall, we enjoyed our stay as we totally love Cornwall, in fact getting married there next year. This cottage could be so lovely with just a little bit of TLC :-)

From the Owner:
Response from the owners: Thanks for your comments. Since your visit, we've been to stay in the cottage ourselves, and the property has now had a really good thorough clean. We agree that the cottage could do with a coat of paint, and have arranged for the decorator to come at the end of this summer season. We've also replaced lampshades, mended bedroom drawers, removed weeds and generally given the cottage some of that TLC you felt it was in need of. Good to hear that you love Cornwall, and I hope you have a wonderful wedding next year!

2 out of 5

Cleanliness: 2
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 1
Condition: 2
Location: 2
Value For Money: 2

A disappointing cottage

An inadequately heated property particularly for this time of year which meant that we were cold Night storage heaters give out very little heat during the day when one is out. Consequently there is nothing left for the evening so hopeless for a holiday cottage. Extra blow heaters and a halogen heater were not the answer. We were informed that logs could be purchased for the open fire but we had no wish to take the responsibility for lighting these. the fire looked unsafe. We arrived to half the living/dining room lights not working and, additionally grubby windows and kitchen walls. The caretaker replaced light bulbs but two still did not work. Moreover, the dining room lights flickered when used. The general appearance of the property is tired and not what we expect.

From the Owner:
Response from the owners of Hillside Cottage. Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you found the cottage to be grubby, and have asked the caretaking company to ensure it is cleaned properly in future, and have also arranged for the window cleaner to come more frequently. Since this is a traditional stone cottage in which the main form of heating is an open fire with fire guard, we appreciate that it can be cold if the fire is not lit. Previous winter visitors have commented on how cosy the cottage is with the fire, so we are sorry that you didn't feel able to use it.

4.2 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Short stay by the sea

We had a very enjoyable stay in Hillside Cottage. It's location in the heart of Portscatho is very convenient and a designated car parking space is a real advantage as parking can be tricky in this little village. The property was very well equipped especially the kitchen. We like to cook and there were plenty of pots, pans, etc. The kitchen and bathrooms are quite modern, the shower worked well. The rest of the house is starting to look a little tired, but was perfectly clean and comfortable. The fire was lovely in the evenings. We really enjoyed our visits to Tatams, (one minute walk) for wonderful coffees in the morning and amazing takeaway pizzas and kebabs in the evening. I am sure that the garden at the cottage would be lovely during the summer months. I would definitely visit again.

From the Owner:

3 out of 5

Cleanliness: 3
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 3
Condition: 3
Location: 3
Value For Money: 3

Great place

Great place, only thing to mention, on behalf of my female travelmate, are the spiderweb in front of almost every window, also on the inside... Cleanliness in the important places like kitchen and bathrooms was perfect. We would come again ;-) Oh, by the way, there were 3 !!! already important looking letters from the cornwall council or such.

From the Owner:

4.2 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 4
Condition: 3
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Beautifully located cottage.

A well equipped,cosy cottage with a pleasant garden and parking. Perfect location in Portscatho, next to butcher's, opposite pub, a few doors from shop and an easy walk to sandy beaches. Clean bedding and towels and comfortable double bed.

From the Owner:

3.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 3
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 3
Condition: 3
Location: 4
Value For Money: 4

On the whole satisfactory.

On the whole we were pleased with Hillside Cottage. There were one or two minor irritants. The first being that it took about ten minutes to get the key out of the key safe, mainly because of our age and eyesight and the angle and height of the safe. Some of the furniture (bedside cabinets) need a bit of attention, e.g. drawer fronts come apart. We did have a problem with the shower leaking but this was very promptly dealt with by the agent. We also found the agent helpful and efficient when we contacted her. She dealt with the problem of the broken toilet seat from the previous visitors quickly and was helpful in repairing a dining room chair with loose screws and checked the other chairs to make sure they were safe. Very good service from her. Otherwise we were comfortable and found everything satisfactory. The kitchen is very well equipped.

From the Owner:

4.2 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

May 2015

We had a lovely stay at Hillside cottage. We loved the location in the centre of Portcatho with a deli and butcher on either side and pub/ restaurant across the road. The beach was less than a minute walk and our boys age 8 and 10 were running up and down to the beach constantly. There are beautiful beaches all around the area. The house was 2 bedroom and had a lovely bright kitchen with all facilities you would need for a family holiday. We also used the barbecue there which made the most delicious burgers. We would definitely come back to Hillside cottage again.

From the Owner:

4.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

A lovely cottage in a great location!

We stayed for a few days in Hillside Cottage. Its in a fantastic location next to butchers and grocers and opposite the pub whilst being a stone's throw from the beach! . Great for hikes also, as minutes from the coastal path. It is a cosy, warm and welcoming cottage which is extremely well equipped, apart from a lack of broom! A sweet little garden at the back too. It was lovely to come back to after a day at the beach and light the fire, it was very toasty in there. Its not supersmart, but spotless and relaxed, which is what we like on holiday. We would definitely recommend a stay there. The shop is an aladdins den, pasties and everything else you could want, we didn't have to get into our car once, great! The pub looked lovely, but didn't manage to get there. Fantastic stone baked pizzas by the harbour a few nights a week and a very cool, retro fish and chip van "Atlantic Fryer" made up for not going to the pub.

From the Owner:

4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Hillside Cottage

Excellent location for South West Coast Path walkers. Village is pleasant with shops and pub close by. Open air pizzas on the quay are new and very very good.

From the Owner:

4.3 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 3

No problems whatsoever

Everything like polished clockwork. Clean, comfortable, convenient. Will definitely use again.

From the Owner:

4.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

A very nice place to spend a week

The cottage was, for us, almost perfect. It is in the very centre of a very friendly village, opposite the pub, next door to an excellent butcher and next door but one to the village shop (which for once is not a Spar!), and literally 90 seconds walk from the little beach (There is a better bathing beach half-a-mile along the Coast Path.). It is a lovely, light and surprisingly spacious house and although there were only the two of us we don't think it would feel overcrowed even with five people staying. It was very clean and tidy, with all domestic essentials supplied but a half-pint of fresh milk in the fridge would have been nice after more than five hours travelling down, rather than the UHT catering pots supplied. Downstairs the kitchen is roomy, light and well equipped and the living space uncramped with a comfortable suite. The bedrooms and bathroom are a decent size and the bed comfortable. The ensuite is on the small side but perfectly adequate. Our only real gripe was the soft, unsupportive pillows but that is a personal preference. There is a small, sunny back garden overlooking the cottage. The parking space could best be described as a challenge but worth it for being able to park in the middle of a Cornish fishing village - not for anything much bigger than a Ford Focus though. One omission we found surprising was a visitor's book. It is really useful to have previous guests' impressions and tips of what is on offer locally, especially for eating and drinking, and the information provided, which is quite comprehensive, is rather out of date. Something for next year perhaps? We'd never been to the Roseland before and its a beautiful area, less spoilt than much of Cornwall, with some lovely coast and the Fal River estuary. It has the added bonus of having several petrol stations selling fuel cheaper than almost anwhere else in the country - a pleasant surprise! We will definitely be back here again. All in all, Hillside Cottage is highly recommended.

From the Owner:

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Hillside Cottage

Delightful cosy cottage situated close to the beach and harbour, and right next door to the minimarket with fresh bread at 7am each morning! Extremely well equipped kitchen. Appreciated the Wi-Fi and off-street parking. Would have used the garden too if the sun had shone! Right on the coast path for stunning views from the cliffs either side of the village.

From the Owner:

4.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 4
Value For Money: 5

The best cottage for value for money

I found the cottage excellent in all aspects. Location, comfort, so well equiped and value for money, The small garden was useful as a relaxation point after a good walk along the cliffs, as did the comfy beds! I have stayed in several cottages and can honestly say it was the best for the above without having to spend a fortune. I will certainly be looking for it's equivelant again.

From the Owner:

4.2 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Portscatho Easter hols

Portscatho is a fantastic place for walkers and young families alike. Plenty to do and see. The cottage is a stones throw from the sea and dangerously close to the local pub and shops. Great week had by all.

From the Owner:

3.3 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 2
Condition: 3
Location: 4
Value For Money: 4

Hillside Cottage, Portscatho

Cottage was well equipped and the bathrooms and kitchen were fine. The bed, quilt and pillows were uncomfortable and could have been better quality. The living room and bedrooms were a little tired from the furnishing point of view and looked dated. But a good position and the parking was appreciated.

From the Owner:

4.2 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Great village location

We really enjoyed our stay - great village location with pub shop butchers all on the doorstep and lovely to be able to walk to the beach (fishing beach tho) and drive to numerous others all within a couple of miles/minutes. Garden lovely but I recommend it more for slightly older kids so they can come and go as our youngest (aged 10 months) had to be supervised due to steps and no gate at top.

From the Owner:

Read More

Property Floorplans

Street View

Nearby Properties

Nearby Attractions

Check availability & book

Calendar Loading...