• Home
  • Destination

    Discover the Regions of Cornwall

    North Cornwall

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in North Cornwall.

    Read More
    South East Cornwall

    Please find listed below all our holiday cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in South East Cornwall.

    Read More
    South West Cornwall

    ​Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in South West Cornwall.

    Read More
    The Roseland

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in St Mawes and on the Roseland Peninsula.

    Read More
    The Atlantic Coast

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation on the Atlantic Coast

    Read More
    West Cornwall

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in West Cornwall.

    Read More
  • Inspiration

    Cornwall Holiday Inspiration

    Dog Friendly
    We have some lovely pet & dog friendly accommodation in Cornwall. Many of our holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall are pet and dog friendly. Cornwall is a fabulous place to bring your dog, with miles and miles or coastal and inland paths to explore. Do be careful near the cliffs as many edges are unprotected, or with only gorse or bracken separating your pet from the sea. Please check which beaches are dog friendly, many have restrictions during peak periods. Some properties may charge a small additional fee for pets.We have over 270 dog and pet friendly rental properties in all locations.  Choose from countryside, town or beach cottages with wonderful views, apartments, barn conversions, beach houses, harbour side and cliff top cottages. Many of our pet friendly holiday homes have gardens and the beach on your doorstep providing the perfect setting for you and your dog.
    Hot Tub
    We have some lovely accommodation with hot tubs in Cornwall. We have an increasing number of holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall with hot tubs or whirlpools on site. A prefect way to relax after exploring the region. Many are private hot tubs, but a few are shared access, check individual properties for details.
    Sea views
    We have some wonderful sea view cottages to rent in the finest waterside locations Being a Peninsula, Cornwall is bordered on two sides by the sea providing the most amazing sea views. From the crashing surf of the Atlantic Ocean to the soft idyllic views around the south coast, you are sure to enjoy the sights and smells of Cornish coastal living. Several of our properties have sea views and they are exactly as the pictures show. Please see individual details to see whether you will be lying in bed looking out to sea, or enjoying a glass of something on the terrace whilst watching the local regatta sail past. St Mawes has our highest density of sea view properties, but with new locations across Cornwall being added all the time please keep a look out until you find exactly what you are looking for. 
    Beach within walking distance
    We have a large selection of accommodation within walking distance of a beach in Cornwall Many of our holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall are within easy reach of a fabulous beach. Picturesque walks along the cliffs or a short jaunt through cobbled streets, make walking to a beach a memory in itself. Cornwall offers long stretches of sandy beaches as we as cute coves with pebbles to skim. An increase in beach cafes across the region offer a range of home made cakes, Cornish ice creams, and even gourmet meals to refresh you after a long day on the beach.  Throughout the winter months you'll find an array of windsurfing, kite surfing, body-boarding and surfing beaches, predominantly across the north coast, but also if the wind is in the right direction the south can offering great waves.
    Luxury holiday home
    We have some amazing luxury homes, cottages and self catering accommodation to rent in some of Cornwall's finest locations.
    Romantic cottage
    We have some lovely romantic accommodation in Cornwall. Cornwall offers the romantic many a quiet secluded location! With quaint tea rooms and cosy country pubs and roaring fires no wonder it is so popular with those wishing to pop the question or newlyweds just getting away from it all. St Mawes Castle is increasingly becoming the place to get married, either inside or on the lawns looking across the River Fal to Falmouth as the sun sets. Many of our properties deemed 'Romantic Holiday Cottages' are located in the depths of the county with log fires perfect for some cosy nights in.
    Budget self catering in Cornwall
    We have some lovely budget accommodation in Cornwall. Many of our holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall offer excellent value for money. On a budget? Looking for a cheap cottage in Cornwall without compromising on quality? We have a lovely selection of affordable accommodation for your holiday in Cornwall. Please be assured that any of our 'cheap Cornwall cottages' are of good quality and represent excellent value for money. Many of our cottages are also available for shorter Cornwall breaks.
    Cornwall Breaks

    Weather looking good this weekend?  Do you fancy a last minute escape to Cornwall?  We have lots of great properties available for 3 day breaks starting on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday or midweek short breaks arriving on a Monday or a Tuesday.

    Last Minute Cornwall Cottages

    Weather looking good this weekend?  Do you fancy a last minute escape to Cornwall?  We have lots of great properties available for 3 day breaks starting on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday.

  • Blog
  • Help

T: 01872 264441

Menu
Explore 3D Space
3D Tour View Photos

Helford Cottage

Holiday Cottage in Falmouth

Sleeps 2 - Bedrooms 1 - From £299

Dog Friendly
Parking available
Cot available
Highchair available
Hot Tub
Swimming Pool
Garden
Friday change over
Helford Cottage has been built for couples with a modern and romantic design. Located on the beautiful South Cornish coast, it is situated in a peaceful location a short drive from South Cornwall's beautiful beaches and the sea faring town of Falmouth. The property is located on a small development of a collection of converted barns with a shared outdoor heated pool, jacuzzi, sauna and large gardens. Jacuzzi and sauna closed for annual maintenance in November. Up to 2 dogs are welcome at no additional charge.

Property Details

Tresooth Cottages are a select development of beautiful barn conversions and purpose built properties and are arranged neatly around a pretty courtyard which offer guests free and unlimited access to an excellent range of leisure facilities including a communal heated swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna (closed for annual maintenance in November).

Helford Cottage is situated in a small row of modern glassed buildings in a select development of beautiful barn conversions and purpose built properties.

Helford is outside of the courtyard and has been built for couples with a modern and romantic design. The mezzanine floor bedroom with super king sized bed looks over onto an open plan living room, kitchen/diner and a separate shower room. The complete glass frontage of this property creates a light and airy feeling. The front door from the living area leads out onto your own patio complete with furniture.

Parking is shared with the other barns and located to the front of the complex.

This high end barn is finished to an excellent standard and includes all of what you would expect from a modern home. The cottages are set around an enclosed courtyard that features its very own working water well. The barns are found tucked away in a peaceful centrally positioned location in a spacious area of natural beauty. Each cottage has a fully equipped farmhouse style kitchen with built in appliances including a microwave, dishwasher, washing machine, fridge and freezer. The living areas have flat screen TV, free-view and DVD players. Tresooth’s outstanding outdoor facilities include a large heated outdoor swimming pool with sun loungers (open 1st April - 30th September), jacuzzi & sauna, seating area, indoor games room (please note that some games are chargeable), a children’s play area with trampoline, swings, slide and an enclosed pond with fish.
Please note that the jazuzzi and sauna will be closed for annual maintenance during the month of November.
  • 1 x Superking
  • 1 x Shower room
  • Microwave, dishwasher, washing machine, fridge and freezer
  • Flatscreen TV with freeview, DVD player
  • Large outdoor communal heated swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna. Jacuzzi and Sauna closed for annual maintenance in November.
  • Games room - please note that some games are chargeable.
  • Enclosed play area and dog area
  • Children's play field with swings, trampoline, slide and games lawn
  • Fish pond

Miscellaneous
Electricity, heating, bed linen & towels are all included but you will need to provide your own beach towels. There is parking available for a number of cars on the property. Up to 2 well behaved dogs are permitted at no additional cost, although please remember that you cannot leave dogs unattended alone in the cottage. Regrettably no smoking is allowed. There is an iron and ironing board. A cot, high chair and stair gate are available upon request.

General Booking Information
Arrival / Departure is normally a Friday.
Short breaks are available during quieter periods.
£200 security deposit pre-authorised on your card is required.

Property Location


Helford Cottage is situated just one mile from the quaint Cornish village Mawnan Smith, and three miles from the bustling port of Falmouth. Here you will find a host of shops, bars and restaurants, the award winning National Maritime Museum and Trebah Gardens which is not to be missed. Falmouth is one of Cornwall's most popular places to visit because of its unique mix of attractions, water sports, beaches, history and place to eat. The National Maritime Museum Cornwall and Pendennis Castle are both high on visitors lists of places to visit and the views from Pendennis on a fine day a truly magical.

Falmouth is the sailing capital of Cornwall with its spectacular deep water natural harbour offering a haven for both cruisers and racers. Many events are held through the summer culminating in the famous Falmouth Regatta Week and associated shore side events. You can enjoy the fireworks from your very own balcony! The beaches at Gyllingvase & Swanpool are coarse sand and are wonderfully sunny south facing spots. You can ride the ferry to beautiful St Mawes for the day or take a delightful trip around the estuary stopping off at either Trelissick Gardens or Smugglers Cottage for a cream tea! There are plenty of places to eat & drink in Falmouth and recently Rick Stein has opened his Fish & Chip Restaurant & Oyster Bar at Discovery Quay adding to the superb mix across the town.

Property Reviews

4.8 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Stunning secret hideaway

This was our first time visiting Cornwall for many years, but could not speak highly enough of Tresooth Cottages. Probably 2 or 3 miles from the local pub and supermarket but such a brilliant hideaway. Make sure to cvisit Argal Reservoir for some fishing, Swan pool beath for kayaking and remember plenty of change for pay and display car parks

From the Owner:

3.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 3
Condition: 4
Location: 3
Value For Money: 3

Functional accommodation

Helford Cottage is one of a row of holiday properties created from the conversion of some farm buildings. If you are looking for a cosy, traditional, quaint Cornish cottage, move on: this is not the place for you. The front wall is fully glazed, top to bottom, while the interior decor (any colour you like so long as it is white) is definitely minimalist. However, if you don't mind the somewhat industrial ambience, then the cottage is a good, well-located place for exploring central Cornwall. The kitchen is well-equipped (the white units co-ordinating nicely with the rest of the decor). The bathroom has plenty of space, with an electric shower. The bedroom, which is upstairs on a kind of mezzanine floor, is also very spacious, and the bed itself is probably the most comfortable that we have ever experienced in holiday cottages around the country. In keeping with the decor, furnishing is also minimalist; a single, low-level settee, a circular table and three dining chairs, and a TV downstairs, and a wardrobe, dressing table and bedside cabinets upstairs. We found Helford Cottage fine as a base for travelling out each day. It helped that the weather was excellent for the whole time that we were there. Internet access is patchy unless you go down to the games room at the end of the row of cottages. We did not make use of the pool (still being filled after the winter), but could see that that would be a good attraction during the summer. To summarise: it served our needs perfectly well for a week away, with the proviso that its appearance and decor may not be to everyone's taste.

From the Owner:

4.8 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 4
Value For Money: 5

Week in Cornwall

Our stay in Helford cottage was lovely. We had an issue with the hot tub which was fixed immediately. It was a relaxing cottage. Good location to get around Cornwall, however, you do need a car to get to shops and pubs (at night).

From the Owner:

4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 4
Value For Money: 4

Ideal for taking a dog

A very comfortable and clean property. Ideal for the 2 of us and our dog. So nice to have such comfort where dogs are welcome. The only negative point was the scalding hot water from the tap in kitchen and bathroom. This was reported at the end of our stay to the booking company. I would recommend this property to other people and their dog.

From the Owner:

4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 4
Value For Money: 4

Lovely accommodation slightly spoilt by the dogs next door being left in all day barkink!!

Would definitely return if the Manager of the site did ensure that other people abided by the rules and did not leave dogs unattended in the accommodation barking all day

From the Owner:
Thanks for taking the time to review Mousehole I'm glad you had an enjoyable stay and I'm sorry about the dogs barking sadly there are some irresponsible owners.

4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 4
Value For Money: 4

20160826-helford

Cottage good. Kitchen equipment good. Brand new shower mat and clean shower curtain. Excellent base for travelling around Cornwall. Phone signal dreadful and no internet either. Overall I love the cottages. This is our second visit. Better value and freedom than a hotel or B&B.

From the Owner:
Thanks for taking the time to review Caroline. We are pleased you had another enjoyable stay. We do provide internet in the communal games room but signal can be intermittent. We will hopefully welcome you back again next year too. Many thanks

3 out of 5

Cleanliness: 3
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 3
Condition: 3
Location: 3
Value For Money: 3

great area, great cottage loved Cornwall & the people

cottage was in a great area, found it difficult to keep the dogs from going upstairs as the open plan makes this difficult ended up putting the chairs at the stairs. Did find it surprising only i hand/bath towel for a week i know when we asked we were advised the washing machine was there and the dryers were at the outside of the cottage but when your on your holidays its the only escape i get from not washing. overall loved cornwall but found it frustrating with all the beach bans for the dogs that was a challenge. Cornwall people are amazing friendly and could not do enough for you we loved speaking to all the people we met.

From the Owner:
Hi Jan, Thanks for taking the time to review one of our properties. As far as I'm aware one towel PP for a week is standard practice in self catering accommodation. If you needed more Darren the onsite manager would have been happy to provide them, you just needed to ask. We can also provide stairgates if needed for dogs and children. I'm sorry about the beach bans but for future reference there are numerous websites where you can get all dog info around areas and beaches etc. We have 2 sites and the one near Newquay doesn't have as many bans on beaches. Thanks

3.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 2
Value For Money: 3

good let in a terrible location

The accommodation was clean and well equipped, although would have been more relaxing with blackout blinds to bedroom window. The manager took the trouble to introduce himself on arrival and was helpful throughout our stay. It was impossible to enjoy the surrounding area on foot making it essential to always travel by car to access the river or beaches. In a nutshell, good accommodation in an inaccessible, remote location

From the Owner:
Thank you for taking the time to review Helford Jean. We are glad you had a nice stay but sorry you found the location remote. It's clearly shown on the map where it is and in the description on the listing. Most guests love being a 5/10 min drive from the River Helford and out in the peace and quiet.

3 out of 5

Cleanliness: 3
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 3
Condition: 3
Location: 3
Value For Money: 3

disappointingly average

we booked this holiday for our 10th Wedding Anniversary as it has a hot tub/jacuzzi and king size beds . the accommodation was clean and tidy and was spacious . the accommodation lacked in a few basic areas . the shower was old and the extractor was full of dust and cobwebs , the bathroom smelled of damp for the whole of our stay despite leaving the extractor on . The shower had no shelf of area to put toiletries for use in the shower , and the temperature control had 2 settings cold or tepid. The shower was exceedingly slow to drain , so if you were in there for longer than 30 seconds the tray filled with water . Suggestion for future renovation - make this a wet room with a power shower and decent extraction. The kitchen : the extractor seemed to pull the smoke and steam from the cooker straight up on to the smoke detector , resulting in us setting of the alarms The pots and pans are very cheap and basic , neither of the grill pan handles actually fit the grill pan ! the torch didnt work when i went to use it . washer dryer had a notice informing us that due to a design fault the tumble dryer function was near useless , so an alternative tumble dryer was available across the car park . that said the kitchen was clean and useable . The lounge area was pleasant and clean and the tv etc all worked fine . there were pet stains upstairs on the carpet and some kind of cosmetic stains on the dressing table and curtains . the bed was a super king , but is old and has seen better days , because of this my husband has had to find a chiropractor whilst we were away to try and help with the back pain it caused . the swimming pool had quite a lot of dead leaves in it and you were required to remove the pool cover yourself to use it , then put it back on afterwards , whilst i appreciate the environmental aspect of this rule , it was not easy to do this alone . the sauna was adequate and functioned ok , but you had to put it on a few times in quick succession to get it up to temperature . the spa pool/jacuzzi has a bubble cut off time of 9pm , which isn't mentioned in the literature , we didn't realise this until it wouldn't work when we tried to use it at 9.30pm .

From the Owner:
Dear Jill, Thanks for taking the time to review one of our properties and I'm sorry you had an average time. It's a shame some of these issues weren't raised when you were there with the onsite manager as we could have got some of these rectified for you. I can confirm the extractor fan has been replaced and that the shower runs freely. Grill pan handles fit fine and we have put a new torch in. We can't see a problem with the bed . In my experience Combi washer/dryers are never that effective which is why we provide a separate tumble dryer to use. The location of the pool is around trees so I'm afraid leaves do enter and are removed daily. This is another reason we leave the cover on to try and stop some of this happening and to keep it nice and warm. Due to noise for properties surrounding the pool this area is closed at night and not available 24 hours. Thanks

4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 4
Value For Money: 4

Comfort

Would b nice with another sofa and black out curtains. Would b nice to return in the summer to get the benefits in using outdoor pool & jacuzzi as didn't say on original advert they closed in September . Thanks

From the Owner:
Thanks for taking the time to review one of our properties, as they only sleep 2 people there is only one sofa put in. I will make a note about black out curtains as a possible addition next season. I'm not sure if you missed it but the advert has always stated the pool is only open from April 1st - 30th Sep. Hopefully we will welcome you back again in the season so you can try it out. Kind Regards

4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 4
Value For Money: 4

Great place to stay to explore this corner of Cornwall

Comfortable with lots of space although the clean, modern style inside might surprise some. More storage would perhaps be useful eg small bookcase downstairs for maps, books etc that we brought, extra shelf in the bathroom for all my wife's cosmetics + more drawer space upstairs for clothes. Kitchen is better equipped than many cottages we have stayed in. The dog walking field was very useful + much enjoyed by Oscar.

From the Owner:
Thank you for taking the time to review one of our properties we are glad you enjoyed it. I've made a note of the extra storage suggestion and will add it to the file for improvements. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day. Thanks

4.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 3

.,june holiday

This was the second time of visiting,and enjoyed our stay this time as well as the first,this time we took a 10month old puppy,with us after the first couple of days he'd learn;t the rules,& mixing with other dog's.the whole of the accommodation was first class,nice and informal.all being well we hope to return next year.

From the Owner:
Thank you for taking the time to review Helford Cottage. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and that your 4 legged friend also had a nice time. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year. Kind Regards Jodie

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Great holiday

Lovely cottage and setting very comfortable. The only criticism was that the curtains were too thin especially as bedroom faced east and we were woken up at 6am each morning. Staff were very friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great location close to Falmouth, we will be back, dog enjoyed it too.

From the Owner:

4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 4
Value For Money: 4

Nice stay, car needed

The cottage is in good condition. The architecture is good for holidays but I donA't want to live there. ItA's an open room and when you cook it smells. The white carpet is a problem when you walked on a rainy day. The equipment works but itA's the cheapest and there are only 4 spoons etc. Due to the location you need a car. I would come back again.

From the Owner:
Thanks for taking the time to review our property, we are sorry you experienced a few minor issues. I’m afraid as they are open plan for light there can be some smells from cooking. As these properties are set up for 2 people leaving 4 items of cutlery is more than enough we feel for 2 people and with regards to furnishing and appliances they weren’t the cheapest, we thought that would be problematic through the amount of usage the cottages get. We are glad you would come again and look forward to welcoming you back.

3.2 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 2
Condition: 4
Location: 2
Value For Money: 3

Helford Cottage

Firstly, the cottage was clean and the kitchen well equipped. The owners have tried to ensure guests have to a good range of facilities in the pool and sauna (although we didn't use them). Having said that, there were some niggles which made our stay less than comfortable. The front of the cottage was largely glass but only one small window opened upstairs and there were no opening windows downstairs. The week we stayed at Helford cottage was hot in the daytime and humid in the evenings. The cottage was very uncomfortable as the only way to let in any air was to have the door open allowing slugs and snails from the patio come inside! The cottage was dog friendly and we looked forward to taking our dog on the 'woodland walk'. This in fact turned out to be a short path around a tiny wooded area behind the row of cottages which took about 2 minutes to walk. There was no plug point near a mirror in the bedroom, difficult for ladies to style their hair. This was mentioned several times in the visitors book by previous guests but obviously not acknowledged nor acted upon (we had to buy an extension lead). The location was disappointing, we expected to be able to walk into a village but as it was the complex of cottages was quite isolated. The cottage was advertised with a very professional and tempting online video tour and I think we may have had high expectations, the reality being somewhat disappointing.

From the Owner:
Thank you for taking the time to review Helford. Firstly we are glad you found the cottage well equipped and clean with good facilities. With regards to the Helford being hot and not being able to open windows. This is something we’ve been made aware of recently due to it being a very warm August and have now purchased some fans which will be distributed in the barns. This is as much as we can do obviously as the windows have already been fitted we can’t gain any more openers in them now. The final issue you raised of “woodland walk” someone else made this point so we changed the description to say “Small rural path to walk the dog with white dove house” a few weeks ago. I’ve forwarded the comments of plug to the manager down there and told him to purchase an extension lead. I hope the above issue didn’t put too much of a dampener on your holiday and you still enjoyed the peace and quiet that we offer. Thanks, Country View Cottages

3.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 2
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 4
Value For Money: 3

Great property, not so great property management...

We really enjoyed our stay at Helford, a lovely set up in a great location. Our main source of negative feedback is the upkeep and cleanliness of the property. The property manager lives next door and he was very friendly and open, however, the property had merely been left tidy, but was not "cleaned". The hob, work surface and floors were dirty, there were cobwebs in every corner with spiders, the windows were fithy and there were dead moths and flies by the windows to vacuum up too. I did clean the property with my own wipes and detergents, but the small patio area and garden tubs were also out of repair. I asked for my own yard brush to sweep all the dead leaves and rubbish up, to prevent us from constantly walking it into the barn. I think the property manager felt guilty as he came to prune some of the bushes whilst I was cleaning the patio. The glossy pictures on your website are definitely NOT a true reflection of the current upkeep of these properties. A good spring clean, and tidy of the gardens and grounds is long overdue. We did not let this have a negative impact on our holiday, but I feel the owner of the complex should either do some work to bring them back up to spec, or update your website with the "more mature" photos of how it is today. Kind Regards Sharon & Steve Yapp

From the Owner:

Read More

Property Floorplans


Street View

Nearby Properties

Nearby Attractions

Check availability & book

Calendar Loading...