• Home
  • Destination

    Discover the Regions of Cornwall

    North Cornwall

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in North Cornwall.

    Read More
    South East Cornwall

    Please find listed below all our holiday cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in South East Cornwall.

    Read More
    South West Cornwall

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in South West Cornwall.

    Read More
    The Roseland

    We have a wide selection of holiday cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation on the Roseland Peninsula and throughout St Mawes

    Read More
    The Atlanic Coast

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation on the Atlantic Coast

    Read More
    West Cornwall

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in West Cornwall.

    Read More
  • Inspiration

    Cornwall Holiday Inspiration

    Dog Friendly

    We have some lovely pet & dog friendly accommodation in Cornwall. Many of our holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall are pet and dog friendly. Cornwall is a fabulous place to bring your dog, with miles and miles or coastal and inland paths to explore. Do be careful near the cliffs as many edges are unprotected, or with only gorse or bracken separating your pet from the sea. Please check which beaches are dog friendly, many have restrictions during peak periods. Some properties may charge a small additional fee for pets.We have over 270 dog and pet friendly rental properties in all locations. Choose from countryside, town or beach cottages with wonderful views, apartments, barn conversions, beach houses, harbour side and cliff top cottages. Many of our pet friendly holiday homes have gardens and the beach on your doorstep providing the perfect setting for you and your dog.

    Hot Tub

    We have some lovely accommodation with hot tubs in Cornwall. We have an increasing number of holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall with hot tubs or whirlpools on site. A prefect way to relax after exploring the region. Many are private hot tubs, but a few are shared access, check individual properties for details.

    Sea Views

    We have some wonderful sea view cottages to rent in the finest waterside locations Being a Peninsula, Cornwall is bordered on two sides by the sea providing the most amazing sea views. From the crashing surf of the Atlantic Ocean to the soft idyllic views around the south coast, you are sure to enjoy the sights and smells of Cornish coastal living. Several of our properties have sea views and they are exactly as the pictures show. Please see individual details to see whether you will be lying in bed looking out to sea, or enjoying a glass of something on the terrace whilst watching the local regatta sail past. St Mawes has our highest density of sea view properties, but with new locations across Cornwall being added all the time please keep a look out until you find exactly what you are looking for. 

    Beach Within Walking Distance

    We have a large selection of accommodation within walking distance of a beach in Cornwall Many of our holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall are within easy reach of a fabulous beach. Picturesque walks along the cliffs or a short jaunt through cobbled streets, make walking to a beach a memory in itself. Cornwall offers long stretches of sandy beaches as we as cute coves with pebbles to skim. An increase in beach cafes across the region offer a range of home made cakes, Cornish ice creams, and even gourmet meals to refresh you after a long day on the beach.  Throughout the winter months you'll find an array of windsurfing, kite surfing, body-boarding and surfing beaches, predominantly across the north coast, but also if the wind is in the right direction the south can offering great waves.

    Luxury Holiday Home

    We have some amazing luxury homes, cottages and self catering accommodation to rent in some of Cornwall's finest locations.

    Romantic Cottage

    We have some lovely romantic accommodation in Cornwall. Cornwall offers the romantic many a quiet secluded location! With quaint tea rooms and cosy country pubs and roaring fires no wonder it is so popular with those wishing to pop the question or newlyweds just getting away from it all. St Mawes Castle is increasingly becoming the place to get married, either inside or on the lawns looking across the River Fal to Falmouth as the sun sets. Many of our properties deemed 'Romantic Holiday Cottages' are located in the depths of the county with log fires perfect for some cosy nights in.

    Budget Self Catering in Cornwall

    We have some lovely budget accommodation in Cornwall. Many of our holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall offer excellent value for money. On a budget? Looking for a cheap cottage in Cornwall without compromising on quality? We have a lovely selection of affordable accommodation for your holiday in Cornwall. Please be assured that any of our 'cheap Cornwall cottages' are of good quality and represent excellent value for money. Many of our cottages are also available for shorter Cornwall breaks.

    Cornwall Breaks

    Weather looking good this weekend?  Do you fancy a last minute escape to Cornwall?  We have lots of great properties available for 3 day breaks starting on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday or midweek short breaks arriving on a Monday or a Tuesday.

    Last Minute Cornwall Cottages

    Weather looking good this weekend?  Do you fancy a last minute escape to Cornwall?  We have lots of great properties available for 3 day breaks starting on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday.

  • Blog
  • Help

T: 01872 264441

Menu
Explore 3D Space
3D Tour View Photos

Greenaway Lodge

Holiday Cottage in Portscatho

Sleeps 6 - Bedrooms 3 - From £389

Sea views
Beach within walking distance
Dog Friendly
Parking available
Cot available
Highchair available
Hot Tub
Swimming Pool
Garden
Friday change over
Greenaway is a comfortable 3 bedroom lodge on the idyllic Trewince Manor Estate. This beautiful estate has a creek on one side and the stunning Roseland coastline within easy walk of the other. There is a luxury indoor heated swimming pool, jacuzzi & sauna to use on the estate and extensive grounds. The harbour village of Portscatho is nearby and there are superb beaches within a short drive.

Property Details

Greenaway is a comfortable 3 bedroom lodge on the idyllic Trewince Manor Estate, located close to the harbour village of Portscatho. This beautiful estate has a creek on one side and the stunning Roseland coastline within easy walk of the other. Trewince has a range of facilities including wonderful and expansive grounds (apart from the walled garden which is private) and a swimming pool, jacuzzi & sauna for use by guests at Greenaway at no charge. Please note that although the pool is open all year, the hours are restricted during the winter. There is also a slipway (available for a fee) for the launching of boats by direct arrangement with Trewince Estate. The walks available from the Estate lead to the spectacular coastal footpath around the creeks and cliffs of the St Anthony headland.

The house itself is a 3 bedroom lodge with a lounge deck area to the front and a first floor balcony. The main living area is spacious with a good sized kitchen and sitting area. The first floor bedroom has sea views.

Accommodation
Ground Floor: Open plan kitchen, dining and sitting area. Shower room with WC and basin, 2 twin bedrooms to the rear. Hallway / cloak area.
First Floor: Master double bedroom (5' bed), landing area and bathroom with roll top bath with hand held shower, separate shower, WC and basin.
Exterior: Large deck area with picnic table.

Facilities & Services
Heating is via night storage heating, electric fire and panel heaters. The kitchen is well equipped with a range of cupboards, electric oven and hob, a microwave, fridge / freezer, dishwasher and washer / dryer. The sitting area has a radio / CD player as well as a TV / DVD player with satellite TV. There is an iron & ironing board.

Miscellaneous
Electricity, heating, bed linen and towels are all included but you will need to provide your own towels for the swimming pool and beach. There is ample room to park two cars outside the property. Up to a maximum of 3 well-behaved dogs will be permitted at a small additional cost of £25 per dog / per week, although you must respect the rules of the Estate and please remember that you cannot leave dogs unattended in the cottage alone. Regrettably no smoking is allowed. There is a cot & high chair available upon request.
WiFi is available from Trewince Manor and you will need to obtain the WiFi password from Reception. There is no charge for the WiFi as it is not always reliable due to the rural location. However, during opening hours, there is the facility to access the internet in the Reception and Cafe/Bar where there is a stronger connection.

General Booking Information
Arrival / Departure is normally a Friday.
Shortbreaks are available during quieter periods.
£100 pre-authorised to your credit or debit card as a security deposit is required.
Discounts available for couples staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using one room only.

Property Location


Portscatho and its neighbouring village of Gerrans are located on the eastern coast of the Roseland Peninsula, Cornwall, overlooking the dramatic Gerrans Bay. A truly peaceful waterside village, Portscatho is a lovely place for a holiday. There are miles of coastal and countryside footpaths to explore, particularly along St Anthony's Head. Portscatho was once a busy fishing harbour, but now it has become a haven for artists due to the striking light which is particularly good in the morning sun. More than anything, Portscatho is a relaxing place. The beaches such as Porthcurnick, Towan and Porthbeor are simply idyllic and these are only minutes from the village. With a superb local butchers shop, 2 great little pubs and a well stocked local store, Portscatho and Gerrans are a lovely place to spend a holiday.

Property Reviews

3.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 3
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 4
Condition: 3
Location: 3
Value For Money: 3

If you want peace

ItA?s was very nice to stay here... itA?s just way too isolated from everything. You have to drive everywhere. There are no shops or even a little bar nearby. We had our dog with us which was fabulous that we could take her but again because of the location of the lodge we had to walk her on the narrow road that sometimes got tricky because of the traffic. Other then that it was ok over all.

From the Owner:
Thankyou for taking the time to review Greenaway. Yes it is in a very quiet, peaceful and tucked away part of the Roseland - it’s just over a miles to Portscatho village Where there is a well stocked shop and two lovely pubs and a restaurant. There are loads of walks on the estate itself and whilst the roads around are traditional narrow country lanes - there is easy access to the south west coast path and lovely off road footpaths also.

2.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 2
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 2
Condition: 2
Location: 3
Value For Money: 2

Cleanliness of lodge

The cleanliness of the lodge was very poor The living room area was very shabby and poor Kitchen okay

From the Owner:
We are really disappointed to read this review after such positive feedback this season - June our housekeeper cleans to very high standards and this week was no different. June met you all at the lodge with the welcome pack and no mention was made of any problems. She was also on hand all week to deal with any concerns you might have had and would have been delighted to assist with any issues in order that you had a happy and comfortable holiday. We strongly feel that at less than £30 per night per person this week (to include the stay of your dog, full use of the hot tub pool and all the leisure facilities in Trewince) that Greenaway offers excellent value for money.

4.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

A Cornish Delight

This comfortable and spacious lodge is part of the Trewince Esate, on the delightful Roseland Peninsula, that despite its popularity, still manages not to feel too crowded. The lodge offered two of us plenty of room and everything we could want. The estate is very pleasant with a swimming pool, and a wooded area to walk in towards a headland. You can walk to the nearest beach at Towan but need to be fit as there is steep hill to walk back up!! There is a good general shop and excellent butchers in Portscatho a small drive away. Overall we enjoyed just sitting and reading in the lodge, especially on the upstairs balcony with sea views. There is adequate Wi-fi for emails etc. but slow for downloading A?papersA? - we gather Fibre will arrive in August.

From the Owner:

3.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 3
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 3
Condition: 3
Location: 4
Value For Money: 3

Greenaway Lodge, Trewince - August 2018

The site facilities - swimming pool, recepton services were very good, staff were very friendly and helpful. The lodge itself was disappointing, it smelled musty in all bedrooms and living spaces, there were a lot of cobwebs around the patio area/balcomy, the picnic table on the patio had a large burn mark, there was only one recliner sun chair. The lounge windows were very smeared and the sofas were not very comfortble or well covered. The light in the top hallway didn't work There was no house information booklet. Overall, I feel that the care and upkeep of the property for letting purposes was half hearted. The property itself was a good size and the washing machine/ dryer was very good.

From the Owner:
I am sorry that Greenaway wasnt up to standard. We live abroad so rely heavily on our housekeepers to keep the place spotless and inform us if anything needs replacing. We now have a new, fantastic and passionate housekeeping/management team in place (June & Ted) who have spent the winter deep cleaning Greenaway and giving it a thorough make over. They are contactable throughout your stay if you have any concerns or questions. All the comments have been taken on board and everything has been given a thorough overhaul. We are confident Greenaway is now a comfortable, clean and cosy retreat and has all the elements in place for a wonderful holiday.

4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 3
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

A Nice house in a beautiful location

The house is located near portscatho. A lovely village with a beach, several restaurants (reservation is required!) and a little supermarket with every day freshly baked bread. The house itself is simple but spacious and neat. The terrace is very nice. It would be Nice if thereA?s a guide from the house, we didnA?t know how the shower worked. A parasol would be Nice For the terrace. The sunbathing bed was broken, it has to be replaced.

From the Owner:

3.3 out of 5

Cleanliness: 3
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 3
Condition: 3
Location: 5
Value For Money: 2

A disappointing stay at Greenaway

Greenaway Lodge appears to be uncared for. The double bed upstairs has seen better days and is very uncomfortable. It is impossible to get a good nights sleep in this bed. On arrival the headboard needed reattaching. The wall clock had been taken off the wall downstairs and left discarded on the sideboard. There are chips on the rims of some of the plates. The white plates have numerous grey marks on them and although are clean, are unpleasant to eat off. On windy days, the lodge is cold as the windows allow drafts through. We ended up stuffing kitchen roll in the window cracks to keep warm. There are gaps in the grout between the kitchen floor tiles. The cupboard where the washing machine is was messy and the floor wasn't clean. I'm afraid it was a disappointing stay and not good value for money. With some TLC and attention to detail, this could be a wonderful place to stay.

From the Owner:
We are very sad to hear your stay wasnt as comfortable as expected. We are grateful for your helpful feedback. We have reviewed and addressed all the issues you have raised. We have now replaced the upstairs mattress with a high quality Silent Night mattress. The headboards have all been checked and tightened. The plates and mugs have all been replaced. Kitchen and bathroom items have been renewed. There are 5 new windows being installed in the lodge next week. The grout has been redone, the woodwork sanded and sealed and our cleaning team have done a thorough deep clean.

4.3 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

A perfect week in a fantastic location

We had a brilliant week at Greenaway lodge ,the weather was excellent ,because it was so hot having French doors and decking was a real plus ,the lodge was comfortable and meet all our needs ,would definitely visit again

From the Owner:

3 out of 5

Cleanliness: 3
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 3
Condition: 3
Location: 3
Value For Money: 3

A lovely holiday with a few downsides!

Overall we had a lovely holiday. The log cabin was comfortable. However, things to note are that there is around 20 minutes of unavoidable, very windy roads to reach the cabin. No welcome pack/ visitors guide is left by the owners which is disappointing. The cabin was also not the cleanest but this didn't impact much on our stay. Having the pool and beaches so close made for a very relaxing holiday. The Plume of Feathers was a lovely pub to eat in. One final comment was that the owners would be wise to add a mattress topper or change the mattress in the double room, as the springs are very uncomfortable.

From the Owner:

3.3 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 3
Location: 2
Value For Money: 3

Our recent holiday May 2017

Location was poor especially if you like to travel around Cornwall. Extremely quiet which was nice.

From the Owner:

4.8 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 4
Value For Money: 5

Excellent quite get away

Lovely place, had everything we could have wanted other than a small fee for wifi. Pool facilities were excellent and was only an hours drive away from St.Ives. Great value!

From the Owner:

4.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

A short break

The lodge was all that we expected. It is well located in that it is near to Beaches, shops and parks etc. It was a quiet location with a reasonable size swimming pool. All out party young and mature enjoyed ourselves.

From the Owner:

3.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 3
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 3
Location: 4
Value For Money: 4

Family holiday July 2016

On arrival to Greenaway we found that the property had been cleaned but not to a good standard. Lots of dust and cobwebs. Kitchen/oven clean though. Shower head broke and they replaced the following day. Pool facilities excellent. Good location. We enjoyed our stay!

From the Owner:

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Lovely Lodge

This lodge was all we hoped for and more. A well appointed accommodation in a lovely location, with excellent facilities. We will be very happy to book again.

From the Owner:

4.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Lovely stay at Trewince

We had a lovely stay at Greenaway lodge ,the lodge was very clean and equipped to a high standard ,we had our cocker spaniel with us and the walks around the estate was superb, The swimming pool was easy to get into as was the jacuzzi,the changing rooms were large and clean , we would definitely visit again

From the Owner:

3.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 3
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 3
Location: 4
Value For Money: 4

Good times

The lodge was comfortable and functional. The manors pool, spa and sauna was excellent. Beautiful weather and nearby beaches combined with good restaurants resulted in a good times.

From the Owner:

3.8 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 3
Value For Money: 4

Review

Overall the property was in good condition and was in a nice location but needed more to do on site we felt. Couple bits were disappointing(duvet condition under the cover was in poor state for example)

From the Owner:

3.3 out of 5

Cleanliness: 3
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 4
Condition: 3
Location: 4
Value For Money: 3

a good place to stay

The light in the bathrooms was to low especially upstaiers. The corridor light has got a breakdown. Inside the house was a bit bad smell.

From the Owner:

3.2 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 2
Condition: 3
Location: 4
Value For Money: 3

Greenaway Lodge June 2015

Double bed was uncomfortable to sleep in and we had problems with the downstairs shower which was repaired during our stay. The site was good and we enjoyed using the swimming pool and sauna. The lodge was well equipped with everything we needed for our stay. However we had to drive some distance to the nearest supermarket. There were quite a few dog friendly beaches nearby but we had to keep on the lead when onsite outside of the lodge and were disappointed that dogs were not permitted to walk down to the quay although there is a dog walking area on the site.

From the Owner:

3.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 3
Condition: 5
Location: 2
Value For Money: 3

good

Very clean and modern lodge. Only small things letting it down such as wooden tables marked and oven wasnt working properly. Bit of a drive out to get to places too not much to do around, but lodge is lovely.

From the Owner:

4.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 3
Value For Money: 5

Very nice accomodation

Loved the recently refurbished house with spacious living / kitchen area and a nice big bathroom upstairs. Very fair price, too. Weather was better than expected, so we were able to spend most time outside as planned. Since we had little kids with us we had to take the car wherever we wanted to go, but without kids you could just start walking straight from the house.

From the Owner:

4.2 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 5
Condition: 4
Location: 3
Value For Money: 5

Tranquil retreat

The lodge was lovely, well laid out and very comfortable. The grounds were lovely and the small pool was excellent for occupying the kids for a while. The balcony and deck were great for sitting out and enjoying the views albeit some of the chairs were broken - which we reported. If you want peace and quiet with great walks i would imagine this would be an ideal place. For getting about in the car it was a bit out of the way. Overall though i would totally recommend it we had a fab holiday and we loved the lodge itself.

From the Owner:

2.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 3
Service and Staff: 3
Comfort: 2
Condition: 3
Location: 3
Value For Money: 2

In need of some attention

The terrible damp smell in the ground floor bedrooms was not pleasant at all & led us to leave a day early. The beds were vey hard & uncomfortable - another reason to return home early. The gutter was overflowing with leaves etc & as we had 2 big storms blow through we had a huge puddle outside the door which caused such a mess getting in & out of the house. It just felt very tired & in need of a really good clean. Such a shame because it had such potential. Sorry, just not up to the standard we expected given the amount it cost.

From the Owner:
I am deeply sorry to hear you were not fully satisfied with your stay at Greenaway. We always try and ensure the lodge is very comfortable, cosy and spotlessly clean. We have a management team on call 24/7 who will quickly deal with any issues at all. Unfortunately over the xmas period there were severe storms throughout the uk and in the southwest causing extensive flooding and damage. As Greenaway is surrounded by trees this may go some way to explain the leaves in the guttering and the puddle outside the door. The grounds and the lodge exterior are serviced regularly and I understand there are additional checks taking place after the unprecedented weather. We stayed at Greenaway in November and there was no damp smell noted then however in view of your comments I have asked a plumber to inspect the downstairs shower room thoroughly. We have new mattresses in all four downstairs single beds which are top end hotel standard. They are firm as this was the only option available to us, when we purchased them, to ensure they complied to all regulation standards including fire for commercial lettings. We have covered them with luxury supersoft mattress toppers for those people who prefer a softer sleep. Greenaway is having a full exterior renovation over the next couple of months. The lovely slate floor is having a face lift. We have a brand new dishwasher in place in reponse to previous comments. We are looking forward to sharing our home in this beautiful part of the country in 2014.

4.2 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 3

Autumn break

Lovely location and cosy lodge. It was a shame the dishwasher wasn't working and that no washing up liquid was supplied so that we had to go out specifically to buy some. Also, although occupants should bring swimming towels, I am surprised that towels are not supplied as standard.

From the Owner:
Thankyou for your feedback, although the property is self catering And this does include cleaning products - we have spoken to our housekeepers regarding providing some essential provisions for the first couple We will be providing towels for lodge use next year but swimming And beach towels will still need to be brought with you.

4.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Great lodge in a beautiful peaceful location.

We had a lovely week at Greenaway lodge. The lodge provided everything we needed. We made use of the swimming pool which was lovely and clean. We can't wait to return!

From the Owner:

3.8 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 3
Location: 4
Value For Money: 4

Greenaway Lodge

Had a great time and great location. Attention to detail in lodge needs looking at. Dishwasher not working on arrival, no dishwasher tablets anyway and no washing up liquid for back up. You are asked to leave lodge as you would like to find it but cleaning products to minimum many light bulbs not working and no spares you really do need to take the kitchen sink with you!

From the Owner:

Read More

Property Floorplans

Street View

Nearby Properties

Nearby Attractions

Check availability & book

Calendar Loading...