• Home
  • Destination

    Discover the Regions of Cornwall

    North Cornwall

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in North Cornwall.

    Read More
    South East Cornwall

    Please find listed below all our holiday cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in South East Cornwall.

    Read More
    South West Cornwall

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in South West Cornwall.

    Read More
    The Roseland

    We have a wide selection of holiday cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation on the Roseland Peninsula and throughout St Mawes

    Read More
    The Atlantic Coast

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation on the Atlantic Coast

    Read More
    West Cornwall

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in West Cornwall.

    Read More
    South Cornwall

    Please find listed below all our cottages, holiday homes and self catering accommodation in South Cornwall.

    Read More
  • Inspiration

    Cornwall Holiday Inspiration

    Dog Friendly

    We have some lovely pet & dog friendly accommodation in Cornwall. Many of our holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall are pet and dog friendly. Cornwall is a fabulous place to bring your dog, with miles and miles or coastal and inland paths to explore. Do be careful near the cliffs as many edges are unprotected, or with only gorse or bracken separating your pet from the sea. Please check which beaches are dog friendly, many have restrictions during peak periods. Some properties may charge a small additional fee for pets.We have over 270 dog and pet friendly rental properties in all locations. Choose from countryside, town or beach cottages with wonderful views, apartments, barn conversions, beach houses, harbour side and cliff top cottages. Many of our pet friendly holiday homes have gardens and the beach on your doorstep providing the perfect setting for you and your dog.

    Hot Tub

    We have some lovely accommodation with hot tubs in Cornwall. We have an increasing number of holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall with hot tubs or whirlpools on site. A prefect way to relax after exploring the region. Many are private hot tubs, but a few are shared access, check individual properties for details.

    Sea Views

    We have some wonderful sea view cottages to rent in the finest waterside locations Being a Peninsula, Cornwall is bordered on two sides by the sea providing the most amazing sea views. From the crashing surf of the Atlantic Ocean to the soft idyllic views around the south coast, you are sure to enjoy the sights and smells of Cornish coastal living. Several of our properties have sea views and they are exactly as the pictures show. Please see individual details to see whether you will be lying in bed looking out to sea, or enjoying a glass of something on the terrace whilst watching the local regatta sail past. St Mawes has our highest density of sea view properties, but with new locations across Cornwall being added all the time please keep a look out until you find exactly what you are looking for. 

    Beach Within Walking Distance

    We have a large selection of accommodation within walking distance of a beach in Cornwall Many of our holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall are within easy reach of a fabulous beach. Picturesque walks along the cliffs or a short jaunt through cobbled streets, make walking to a beach a memory in itself. Cornwall offers long stretches of sandy beaches as we as cute coves with pebbles to skim. An increase in beach cafes across the region offer a range of home made cakes, Cornish ice creams, and even gourmet meals to refresh you after a long day on the beach.  Throughout the winter months you'll find an array of windsurfing, kite surfing, body-boarding and surfing beaches, predominantly across the north coast, but also if the wind is in the right direction the south can offering great waves.

    Luxury Cottages

    We have some amazing luxury homes, cottages and self catering accommodation to rent in some of Cornwall's finest locations.

    Romantic Cottages

    We have some lovely romantic accommodation in Cornwall. Cornwall offers the romantic many a quiet secluded location! With quaint tea rooms and cosy country pubs and roaring fires no wonder it is so popular with those wishing to pop the question or newlyweds just getting away from it all. St Mawes Castle is increasingly becoming the place to get married, either inside or on the lawns looking across the River Fal to Falmouth as the sun sets. Many of our properties deemed 'Romantic Holiday Cottages' are located in the depths of the county with log fires perfect for some cosy nights in.

    Budget Self Catering in Cornwall

    We have some lovely budget accommodation in Cornwall. Many of our holiday cottages and self catering accommodation across Cornwall offer excellent value for money. On a budget? Looking for a cheap cottage in Cornwall without compromising on quality? We have a lovely selection of affordable accommodation for your holiday in Cornwall. Please be assured that any of our 'cheap Cornwall cottages' are of good quality and represent excellent value for money. Many of our cottages are also available for shorter Cornwall breaks.

    Cornwall Breaks

    Weather looking good this weekend?  Do you fancy a last minute escape to Cornwall?  We have lots of great properties available for 3 day breaks starting on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday or midweek short breaks arriving on a Monday or a Tuesday.

    Last Minute Cornwall Cottages

    Weather looking good this weekend?  Do you fancy a last minute escape to Cornwall?  We have lots of great properties available for 3 day breaks starting on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday.

    Children's Activities

    Desperate for something to do to keep the kids occupied? Book a holiday home where there is plenty to keep the youngsters occupied. Climbing forts, train rides, farm animal feeding, indoor fun and games - these holiday cottages in Cornwall with children's activities have it all!

  • Blog
  • Help
  • Letting Your Holiday Home

T: 01872 264441

Menu
Explore 3D Space
Ask a Question 3D Tour View Photos

Aloft

Holiday Cottage in St Mawes

Sleeps 4 - Bedrooms 2 - From £420

Sea views
Beach within walking distance
Shops within walking distance
Pub within walking distance
Dog Friendly
WiFi
Open fire / woodburner
Parking available
Cot available
Highchair available
Fishing available
Friday change over
Aloft is an immaculately presented, south-west facing, apartment, there are magnificent views from both the bedrooms and the open plan living area, of St Mawes Harbour, Falmouth Bay, and stretching out to the Lizard in the distance. Aloft is a short walk from the Square in St Mawes and is dog friendly with the added bonus of a car parking space outside the property.

Property Details

Aloft is a first-floor apartment with magical views of St Mawes Harbour and the Lizard peninsula beyond from all main rooms. An open plan living/dining and kitchen area is bathed with light, there are leather sofas, a balcony with small table and chairs, a wood-burning stove, TV and DVD player. A link corridor to the rear of the apartment leads to the master bedroom with en-suite shower room, a twin bedroom and family shower room. There is a dedicated parking spot outside the property, which is suitable for all but the largest of cars, and a gentle flight of stairs lead up to the entrance porch.

Aloft is just a short 2-minute walk to the pretty harbour area of St Mawes. There is a selection of pubs, restaurants and hotels to choose from plus an eclectic range of shops. You can also access the passenger ferry to Falmouth. There are a plethora of brilliant walks, either from your door or within a short drive and a tremendous variety of beaches nearby whether you wish to find, golden sands, rock pools, dog-friendly, busy with facilities or quiet and secluded, all can be found close by on the Roseland. In 2020 Which poll, St Mawes was voted the number 1 seaside resort in the UK, if you haven't experienced the village before it will not take long to fall in love with astonishing vista before you.

Accommodation
First Floor only: Enter into a small porch with storage space for coats, boots and shoes. Corridor with doors leading to; Open plan living/dining and kitchen with sea views, comfortable sofas, glass doors lead to a small balcony, wood-burning stove, dining table and chairs, kitchen with fitted units and appliances. Master bedroom with sea views, 5' double bed and storage, en-suite shower room with WC and hand basin. Twin bedroom with 3' beds, sea views and storage. Family shower room with WC and hand basin.
Exterior: Parking for 1 car outside the property (large 4x4's will find the entrance tight!) A gentle staircase leads to the front door. Small balcony from the main living area with table and chairs.

Facilities & Services
Heating is via an electric central heating system with radiators and the wood-burning stove. The kitchen has a range of equipment. There are an electric oven and induction hob, a microwave, toaster, kettle, full-height fridge/freezer, combined washing machine/tumble dryer and a dishwasher. The sitting room has a flatscreen TV & a DVD player. There is a hairdryer, iron & ironing board.

Miscellaneous
Electricity, heating, bed linen & towels are all included but you will need to provide your own beach towels. There is parking for 1 vehicle. Unlimited WiFi is available. Well behaved dogs are welcome at Aloft at the small additional cost of £30 per dog per week. Dogs must not be left unattended in the property. There are a travel cot and high chair available on request.

General Booking Information
Arrival / Departure is normally a Friday.
Short breaks are available during quieter periods.
£250 pre-authorised to your credit or debit card as a security deposit is required.

Property Location


St Mawes is one of the finest waterside villages in Cornwall. Situated overlooking an idyllic bay on the eastern side of the famous Falmouth Estuary, St Mawes has one of the mildest climates in Britain due to its proximity to the Gulf Stream. The sea is at the heart of the village and has helped to shape St Mawes from the little fishing village to the fashionable holiday destination that is so popular with visitors. A mecca for boating enthusiasts, St Mawes is a particularly popular sailing centre. Weekly club racing, village regattas and larger events are commonplace on the superb waters of the bay all through the summer.

St Mawes has so much to offer the visitor. St Mawes Castle was built by Henry VIII and is a splendid place to take in the views of the Carrick Roads. There are miles of coastal and countryside walks to take in and some idyllic beaches on which to relax and watch the world go by. The little Place Ferry takes visitors to explore St Anthony's Head or there are regular ferries to Falmouth. Being situated on the seafront, the village is also known for the restaurants and pubs that serve superb fish and shellfish dishes all year round. There is a selection of pubs & hotels with restaurants, including the renowned Tresanton Hotel, the Idle Rocks, the Watch House and the St Mawes Hotel, all are within easy walking distance. There is a range of shops all within a few minutes’ walk including a well-stocked Cooperative store, Post Office, chemist, butchers, and art, book and clothes shops. The village also has a doctor’s surgery and a dentist’s surgery.

Supermarket deliveries are also available from Waitrose, Asda, Sainsbury's and Tesco.

Property Reviews

4.3 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Aloft July 22
Reviewed on 27/07/2022

Lovely property with only minor issues. 4 chairs for balcony would have been nice. Balcony could have been cleaner and better kept generally. Shame blown glass on patio door/window obscured the view at times. Needed a few more mugs and more cutlery as frequently had to get things we needed back out of dishwasher. Larger airer needed for drying 4 beach towels on.

Penny replied:
Thank you for your thoughts on Aloft. Your suggestions on 2 additional balcony chairs, more cutlery and mugs and a larger airer have now all been supplied. Interestingly the flat historically was rarely occupied by more than 2 people and now more frequently by 4 so these observations were helpful. Thank you too for identifying the blown glass, a fault of which we were unaware. It will be addressed during a vacant week later in the year.

4.8 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 4
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

90/100
Reviewed on 25/05/2022

All very good except no hot water or heating when we arrived. The trip was turned off in a remote cupboard outside which we did not locate until the next dat. According to the notes a recurring fault that needs curing though I think it was deliberately turned off!!

4.8 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Great stay
Reviewed on 02/05/2022

Thank you very much for such a great stay. Everything what you really need ,perfectly clean ,great location nice stay.

4.8 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Excellent break
Reviewed on 11/04/2022

We had a lovely time staying in Aloft . Very comfortable, beautiful view of St Mawes and great location. Penny was really helpful when we had a minor hiccup with the TV . Nothing significant ( other than our lack of technological know - how) and quickly resolveA great place to stay , well equipped , with plenty of space and comfort

4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 2
Comfort: 4
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

First impressions are the ones you remember!
Reviewed on 02/03/2022

Aloft is a clean, modern, well-placed apartment in the wonderful village of St Mawes. The view over the village and the sea is stunning and having your own parking place is worth its weight in gold. Once we had got everything in the apartment working we had a great stay. Our one gripe is as follows: having stayed in a few cottages over the years we'd come to expect a reasonably warm arrival: a pint of milk in the fridge, hot water and the heating on - or at least a warm house, perhaps switched on a little before we arrived (especially in February!)....but there was none of this at Aloft. On arrival, the flat was cold, there was no hot water and the fridge was bare. When we tried "boosting" the heating/water it had no effect - still no heating or hot water. After a five hour drive this was somewhat frustrating. OK, when we referred to the apartment's instructions folder it informed us that we'd need to locate the fusebox and re-set the heating: once we'd done this all was good with the world. However, having previously informed the owner of our arrival time it did seem somewhat disappointing that this wasn't all pre-sorted. You might think I am being overly critical but, compared to other places we've stayed, our "welcome" at Aloft made for a less-than-ideal start to the holiday. Apart from that we had a great week and I would recommend Aloft as a place to stay. As I said at the outset there is much going for it - we just had to work harder than expected to make it perfect.

Penny replied:
Dear Christopher I am sorry to hear the switch had tripped prior to your arrival, the heating and hot water had been set for your arrival the previous day to provide what you had expected as is our usual practice. Your arrival a day later has shown me we need to check all is well on the day of arrival in future. I am pleased that otherwise you had a great week - not such a great week for the weather though. Thank you for drawing this to my attention. Kind regards Penny

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Warm January Break
Reviewed on 30/01/2022

We had a delightful break at Aloft. Arriving on a cold January evening, we were very grateful that Penny had put the heating on earlier so that, literally, we had a warm welcome! Arriving in the dark, as we did, really necessitates a torch to see what youA?re doing as you park and head up the outside staircase to the apartment. However, once the motion sensor outdoor light is triggered, that helps enormously. It is a real bonus to have a parking space at the property. It requires careful manoeuvring to reverse into the space, especially for a larger car - we have a Discovery - but we fitted onto the designated area, leaving the shared access driveway clear. Located uphill from the harbour, the apartment has amazing views over the rooftops of St Mawes, across the harbour, Falmouth Bay and to St AnthonyA?s Head. We were blessed with winter sunshine and, although still chilly, a refreshing hot drink out on the balcony felt perfect. The open-plan living room and kitchen are modern in furnishing and the sofas are extremely comfortable. The bedrooms are well-equipped with wardrobes and drawers so that you donA?t need to live out of a suitcase. The main bedroom has an en-suite so that the twin bedroom occupants use the main bathroom - no need for a timetable re usage! The rooms all feel spacious and the timed heating system meant we had warmth when we needed it. The apartment is a few minutes walk from the harbour and beach as well as local shops, pubs and restaurants. If you take a second vehicle, street parking is unrestricted until April but there is the public car park should you prefer - plenty of space available at this time of year! There are a variety of local walks with circular routes - some from the doorstep, others a short drive away. All take in amazing views around the Roseland Peninsula, both natural (such as the estuary, bay, sea, seals and a wide variety of birds) and the built environment (such as the picturesque St Mawes Castle, St AnthonyA?s Lighthouse, St Just in Roseland Church, the King Harry Ferry and Trelissick Garden to name but a few). We would have no hesitation in recommending Aloft and look forward to booking another visit for ourselves.

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

A perfect Christmas break
Reviewed on 01/01/2022

A lovely bright flat with fantastic views across the harbour. The flat has everything you need for a comfortable stay and is a short walk from the village centre.

4.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 3
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 4
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Excellent stay in St Mawes
Reviewed on 13/10/2021

Lovely stay in Aloft. Great location and a spacious property with great views out across the sea. Only 5 mins walk from the Co Op but important to note that it is a steep climb back up to the property - views come at a price! There are two decent sized bathrooms - both with a decent shower. The lack of a small welcome basket of the basics I.e milk would have been helpful after a long journey but otherwise canA?t fault it. In addition St Mawes is a beautiful location and we will be back. If you are a dog owner most beaches are dog friendly from 1st Oct (and several from 1st Sept).

4.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 4
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Comfortable apartment in great location
Reviewed on 09/09/2021

We have just spent a lovely week staying at Aloft in St Mawes. A comfortable apartment right in the heart of the village - just a couple of minutes from the harbour in a very convenient location. It was perfect for 2 adults and 2 teenage children and has a parking space too which is a real bonus in St Mawes! Having two bathrooms for 4 people was ideal and we enjoyed the small balcony with the view down to the harbour.

4.5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

Absolutely great!
Reviewed on 28/07/2021

We had a lovely stay at Aloft. Fresh and clean, super views and convenient location. Perfect for a small family. St Mawes and the nearby beaches were great as was the food in the local restaurants

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

A lovely apartment in beautiful surroundings
Reviewed on 07/07/2021

We had a great week staying at Aloft. The apartment was bright, spacious and airy. It was modern, well equipped and comfortable. It really had everything we needed. The neighbours downstairs were also extremely friendly which was nice. The location was excellent - St Mawes really is a beautiful place. Stunning beaches, good food and plenty of walks. Our dog came with us and had a brilliant time; she loved swimming in the sea every day and exploring our lovely surroundings. We took the boat to Place which was well worth doing - we even saw some seals! We also did the coastal walk to St Just which was lovely. The takeaway fish & chips from The Watchout were delicious. The pubs in St Mawes were very nice, albeit very busy. Booking advised for eating out! The Victory in particular was lovely. We had an excellent and memorable holiday and would thoroughly recommend both Aloft and St Mawes. We look forward to our next visit!

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Aloft
Reviewed on 30/06/2021

We had a great stay at Aloft, it was perfect for us (and the dog!) The apartment is clean, comfy and well placed in St Mawes. Would book again.

5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 5

Aloft - Aclass
Reviewed on 02/06/2021

We have just had a week staying at the Aloft in St Mawes and although the weather wasnA?t great ( thatA?s Cornwall for you !! ) we were delighted with the accommodation, and the cream tea that was left in the kitchen and welcomed us after a long journey was a nice touch . The apartment is very nicely decorated and furnished, with every piece of equipment provided to make your stay comfortable. It is very well laid out with two good sized bedrooms ( with very comfortable beds ),each with their own bathroom complete with underfloor heating ( not that you need it, the apartment is very warm ). The kitchen / lounge is a good size for a family and as stated previously has all the equipment necessary if you want to self cater. Incidentally St Mawes does not have many restaurants, and we found they were all fully booked well in advance. So be warned - book in advance if you want to eat out . The apartment is well positioned with views to the harbour from all the windows and the balcony, and is just a short walk to the quayside ( although the road to and from the harbour road is quite steep, and might be difficult if you are disabled, as are the steps up to the apartment ). I know there are a couple of warnings in this review,but donA?t let these put you off, St Mawes is a beautiful place and ideal for those who like walking the local paths, and of course the harbour has the ferries to various destinations on other side of the river. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Aloft to anyone considering booking, with the proviso as above for anyone who is disabled.

4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4
Service and Staff: 4
Comfort: 4
Condition: 4
Location: 4
Value For Money: 4

Good central apartment
Reviewed on 02/06/2021

A very good, centrally located property. Not suitable for people who are less mobile as the property is up a very steep hill and requires climbing a steep set of steps to gain access into the property. A good size apartment. Fantastic views. Clean, comfortable and great with the two bathrooms (one en suite). Lovely little balcony to sit on and look out to sea.

4.8 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5
Service and Staff: 5
Comfort: 5
Condition: 5
Location: 5
Value For Money: 4

A lovely apartment with great views
Reviewed on 17/05/2021

We had a very pleasant stay at Aloft, insofar as it was possible with strong south westerly winds and rain and no indoor restaurants open - though none of that is a problem with the apartment itself! Comfortable beds, great view, wonderful to have off-street parking so close to the centre of St Mawes. The only tiny, and it's very tiny indeed, niggle was that there wasn't a pizza cutter. Mind you, we were only eating pizza because there weren't any restaurants or pubs serving food indoors, so it isn't anything serious. Finally, many, many thanks to Penny for sending my Firestick remote on so quickly, after I'd stupidly left it on the coffee table.

Penny replied:
Sorry about the weather, Michael and Jane, but very pleased you enjoyed Aloft. Thank you for the heads up on the pizza cutter, one is now in the kitchen. Glad the Firestick arrived safely too.

Read More

Property Floorplans

Street View

Nearby Properties

Nearby Attractions

Check availability & book