Availability & Pricing

Step 1

Select a start date

from the calendar below

Unavailable

Available

Start Day

Your Booking

Step 2

Select your length of stay

Discounts available for smaller parties staying for 7 nights outside the peak season!

Step 3

Tell us who's going

to help us calculate the price

Your booking:

Arrival:

Departure:

Price:

Please note that this price excludes our booking fee (£20), any supplement for use of a credit card, booking protection and any chargeable extras such as dogs.

Book Now

The Roundhouse in Philleigh on the beautiful Roseland Peninsula is a truly unique place to stay. Originally constructed in 1760, this building was thought to be constructed by the same local vicar who was responsible for the Veryan Roundhouses, Jeremiah Twist. Roundhouses are built in such a way to ensure the devil has nowhere to hide! The village of Philleigh is a true rural idyll and a wonderful place to stay, being just a short drive from some wonderful coastline, sandy beaches and of course, the yachting mecca of St Mawes.

The Owners also run the Philleigh Way Cookery School and can provide some amazing courses, take a look at their website www.philleighway.co.uk. The Roundhouse has been extended to the rear from the original building with a master bedroom, second sitting room, second kitchen with breakfast room and utility room. The back garden is protected and in the summer, is quite an idyllic place to be, with views over the local countryside.

The Roundhouse normally sleeps six people comfortably, however there are sleeping facilities for up to 10 people on request, with a double sofa bed in the rear sitting room and a garden chalet with bunk beds (BEDDING IS NOT PROVIDED FOR THE SOFA BED OR THE GARDEN CHALET). IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO USE THE ROUNDHOUSE FOR 8-10 PEOPLE, PLEASE DO CONSIDER THAT THERE ARE ONLY TWO SHOWERS IN THE PROPERTY! WE WOULD RECOMMEND NO MORE THAN 6 ADULTS STAY IN THE PROPERTY NOR ANYBODY STAYING IN THE CHALET DURING THE WINTER MONTHS.

The Roundhouse is just a minute's walk from Bos Eglos which sleeps six people and the two properties together can therefore accommodate a good sized party.

Accommodation
Ground Floor: Main entrance leads to kitchen with circular shaped traditional units and a range cooker. Cosy circular sitting room with a gas effect wood burner and TV. To the rear is access to the conservatory with dining table and access to the garden. Doorway through to the ground floor extension. Double bedroom with 5’ bed and en-suite shower room (no WC), utility room with WC, washing machine and dryer, second fully fitted kitchen and breakfast room and second sitting room with comfortable sofas including a double sofa bed.
First Floor: Double bedroom with 4’6” bed followed by a twin room with two 2’6” beds and a shared shower room with WC and basin.
Exterior: Enclosed garden with furniture and BBQ facilities (gas provided), including a garden chalet with bunk beds with very small wall heater and no other facilities. This is extremely basic accommodation, ideally suited to younger children.

Facilities & Services
Heating is via oil fired central heating. The two kitchens have a range of equipment but only one of them is fully equipped with cutlery, crockery, cooking pots and pans. There is an electric oven and hob, range cooker, a microwave, toaster, 2 kettles, 2 fridges, freezer and dishwasher. There is a separate utility area with a washing machine and dryer. The sitting room area has a digital Freeview TV & DVD player. There is WiFi available at the property. There is an iron & ironing board.

Miscellaneous
Electricity, heating & bed linen (except for the sofa & bunk beds) are all included but you will need to provide your own hand, bath and beach towels. You will need to provide ALL bedding (i.e. duvets, pillows, duvet covers & sheets) for the sofa bed and for the bunk beds). Up to 2 well behaved dogs will be permitted at a small additional cost of £30 per dog / per week. Regrettably no smoking is allowed. Parking is available for one vehicle off road. There is on road parking available. If you need additional space to park a trailer, this is available at the farm.

General Booking Information
Arrival / Departure is normally a Friday.
Short breaks are available during quieter periods.
£100 pre-authorised to your credit or debit card as a security deposit is required.

The tiny tranquil Cornish village of Philleigh is in superb countryside in the heart of the rural Roseland Peninsula, Cornwall. Famous for its sixteenth century pub, The Roseland Inn, Philleigh is ideally located for exploring the countryside of the Roseland Peninsula whilst only a ten minute drive from the superb beaches around Portscatho. The D-Day embarkation points at Turnaware Point and Smugglers Cottage are only a short drive from Philleigh.

Local shops are available in Portscatho (3.8 miles), Veryan (3.7 miles) or St Mawes (5.7 miles). Pubs are available in Philleigh, Portscatho, St Mawes, Veryan or Ruan Lanihorne (3.6 miles). The Roseland Inn now has a small farm shop which sells basics plus some fine local produce. The pub also has its own brewery.

4

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 4

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 4

Condition: 4

Location: 4

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2017-09-04

Guest from Saffron Walden stayed for 7 nights.

A wonderful opportunity to stay in an historic house with the convenience of modern facilitites.

The Roundhouse is a beautiful historic house with many interesting features and complemented with a modern extension. The house is located in a lovely small hamlet with very quick access to beaches, country walks, gardens and tourist venues and has a fantastic pub opposite. The house was very comfortable and worked well for our family with four teenagers and a dog with lots of space and wifi capacity. My 15 year old said it was like staying in a fairy castle!

4.2

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 4

Condition: 4

Location: 4

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2016-11-15

Guest from Basildon stayed for 7 nights.

Lovely peaceful stay

Had a lovely visit to this unique property. Warm cosy and welcoming. Many thanks for great stay. Lovely part of the world.

4.5

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 5

Condition: 4

Location: 4

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2016-09-04

Guest from Worcester stayed for 7 nights.

Holiday to remember

A beautiful cottage plenty of space especially as there were 9 people and a large dog to contend with .Lovely scenery and a great pub just over the road excellent food no need to cook

3.8

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 4

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 4

Condition: 4

Location: 4

Value For Money: 3

Review Date:2016-06-06

Guest from Oxford stayed for 7 nights.

Very good stay

My wife and I stayed for the week with our son, daughter-in-law, and 3 grandchildren (aged 3-11). Very characterful house and its multiple rooms / complex geometry was a great fit for this mix. Children loved the space and garden, and horses - in field at back and in farm stables. Standard of facilities generally high. Minor niggles: range oven in (one of the) kitchens did not appear to work; hot water switches off at same time as central heating; no information provided on refuse disposal/collection.

Reply from James Martin

Dear Mr Feeny, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Roundhouse. We are very sorry that you experienced a problem with the oven in the front kitchen. The oven does come on when the timer is in the correct position, we are sorry if this was not clear. We are available 7 days a week should guests have any queries as we are based right opposite the property. Our contact numbers are also displayed in the property on the notice board should a guest require assistance during the evening or weekend. We are always happy for guests to contact us if they have any queries or require assistance which we feel is one of the benefits of staying at the Roundhouse. Information regarding boosting the hot water timings is mentioned in the visitor information folder provided for guests. There is information provided about the rubbish collection on the information board in the rear kitchen. We do hope you enjoyed your visit to the beautiful Roseland Peninsula. Kind regards, James

4.3

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 4

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 5

Condition: 4

Location: 4

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2016-01-10

Guest from Hereford stayed for 4 nights.

A Great New Year but milk please!!

We loved our stay at the Roundhouse for New Year - we were two families with a real mix of ages so the layout and two lounges were excellent for us. It's quirky but a real delight to stay at the Roundhouse, it rained the entire time but the house was warm and cosy. We all particularly noted how good the bedding was, we all slept well, the quality of the duvets and pillows was excellent as was the quality of the covers. We would love to visit in the Summer as close to the beach and some great walks (we didn't dare during storm Frank!) Small moans - no bins in the bathrooms, a full length mirror would have been useful and I had noticed on reviews before we went that someone had suggested a pint of milk for tea and coffee on arrival would have been useful and i agree. The cottage is in a remote place and we arrived in the dark and the rain as it was December, the Farm Shop wasn't open at all during our stay. There were a few tea bags & some coffee & sugar but no milk which I really think the owners should address given the location. We stay in lots of UK holiday cottages and there is always a courtesy pint of milk. That said we had a fabulous time and would recommend to friends, yes there is only wifi in some rooms of the house but we weren't bothered we were on holiday so nice to have and it and it met our needs but was not a priority - talk to each other instead!!

4

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 3

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 4

Condition: 3

Location: 4

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2015-12-30

Guest from Constantine stayed for 4 nights.

Fascinating Georgian cottage in Roseland village

Fascinating old cottage, much larger than initially appears. We stayed as a party of 6 adults and there was plenty of room. It could do with a bit of work in places, particularly the front kitchen worktop, which being wood, is now suffering from a good soaking from the taps and sinks! The two round bedrooms are charming and such fun to stay in. Given all the rooms and nooks and crannies, it is also an excellent house to play hide and seek in... The location is very convenient for meals at the pub across the road, or for access to the cookery school, also across the road. The KIng Harry ferry is only a few minutes drive away for access to Falmouth and Truro. The surrounding Roseland countryside is beautiful. Definitely want a doorbell like the one at the Roundhouse!

3.8

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 4

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 4

Condition: 4

Location: 4

Value For Money: 3

Review Date:2015-08-30

Guest from Grantham stayed for 7 nights.

Beautiful cottage

We stayed at the roundhouse as two families, a total of 9 people & 2 dogs. Really loved the house itself, and the location, & the fact that you can stay with dogs & that there's wifi. We found a few things lacking. We could have done with some extra kitchen equipment, in fact we bought a large lasagne type oven dish to use while we were there. It's quite a strange set up with the two kitchens when you want to eat all together but we got used to it, using the kitchen nearest the dining table as the 'base' and carrying everything to and from the other kitchen for the dishwasher! The wifi only reaches three rooms, and not the conservatory or main house. It's a shame that bedding isn't provided for all the beds - it was a squish in the cars bringing duvets and pillows for the bunk beds and sofa bed, wouldn't be so bad if we just had to bring duvet covers. The flowers on arrival were a nice touch, but would have appreciated a few courtesy items in the kitchen. There were two teabags. No coffee, milk, salt, sugar or oil - you usually expect to find those on turning up to a rental cottage, particularly as there are no shops nearby. We had a few problems with the showers, the upstairs one would stop running if someone got in the downstairs one. The downstairs one was very slow draining and the bedroom it is in does smell and feel damp. We had the windows open whenever we were in the house. Unfortunately the footpaths around the village seem to be permanently closed so we had to walk the dogs on the roads. On the whole I would recommend the house and we would stay here again as I love the character of the house and the location.

Reply from James Martin

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay at the Roundhouse. In terms of bedding and kitchen equipment the cottage is only advertised and priced as a sleep six. There is the potential to sleep four more people in the second sitting room (sofa bed) and the chalet (bunk beds) but we do not advertise it or price it as a sleep 10 because we feel that it does make the whole experience slightly cramped. Some people don't mind this and prefer to take advantage of the cost saving. We note your comments regarding the "essentials" sugar / milk etc. We've never had an issue with a damp smell before so we'll be sure to look into this and resolve it. There is a public footpath opposite the cottage that leads all the way down to the river Fal and back (a beautiful walk) that is never closed. The DEFRA footpath which we think you are referring to was a ten year scheme that came to an end last year. Many thanks and we hope to welcome you back one day.

4.5

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 4

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 5

Condition: 4

Location: 5

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2015-08-03

Guest from Bexhill-on-sea stayed for 7 nights.

A lovely property

We all enjoyed staying in this lovely and unusual property. The accommodation is very spacious and well equipped. The village pub opposite is also very convenient.

4

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 4

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 4

Condition: 4

Location: 4

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2015-05-13

Guest from Pantygog stayed for 3 nights.

family break

had a lovely 4 days at this cottage, great location to get out and explore cornwall. the pub across the road from cottage is lovely, the staff are very friendly & welcoming and the food is very good indeed. will definitely return.

5

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 5

Condition: 5

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2015-04-06

Guest from Cheddar stayed for 7 nights.

Fabulous stay at The Roundhouse

We had an exceptionally lovely holiday at The Roundhouse, having not had a holiday for a year it was a much needed break. The property is large, quirky & just gorgeous, situated opposite a pub, 5 mins from an idyllic beach. Well recommended

4.8

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 4

Condition: 5

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2015-01-06

Guest from Goodrich stayed for 7 nights.

New Year at The Roundhouse

Overall, our stay at the Roundhouse was a brilliant experience: the house was homely, clean and quirky in a very positive way. On the down side the house was stone cold when we arrived and we couldn't find any instructions on how to operate the gas fires; however, assistance was immediately on hand once we phoned. Similarly there were no instructions on how to operate the television and we didn't get any signal all holiday (despite one of our group being a television engineer). Finally, the kitchen was somewhat under-equipped. That said, we loved the house and found it great value for money.

5

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 5

Condition: 5

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2014-11-02

Guest from Northwich stayed for 7 nights.

Loved it!

Absolutely loved the roundhouse, pure fairy tale cottage, never stayed anywhere like it before. It was our first trip to Cornwall so took us a while to get the lay of the land but the handbook was extremely helpful, everything we needed to know from working the heating to catching ferries was in there.. The house itself was immaculate, comfortable and well equipped.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, as it was also big enough for my parents to join us.

4.3

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 4

Condition: 4

Location: 4

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2014-05-09

Guest from Milton Keynes stayed for 7 nights.

Fun House

Lovely house and setting with a great little pub with good food across the road, what more could you want! Reasonably priced, we would love to book again.

Pippin Cottage
Sleeps up to 6

Location: Philleigh

Pippin Cottage is an immaculately presented, spacious barn conversion with beautiful views across glorious rolling countryside. Just over a mile from Pendower beach and centrally located on the Roseland peninsula this is a perfect destination for a relaxing holiday.

Off season low occupancy deals - 5% discounts for groups of 3/4 when only using 2 bedrooms, 10% discount for a couple using 1 bedroom!!

Beach within walking distancePub within walking distanceWiFiOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableCot availableHighchair availableGardenDiscount for a coupleFriday change over
More info
Crowjy Ardevora
Sleeps up to 5

Location: Philleigh

Set amidst the rolling countryside and close to the upper reaches of the River Fal, this immaculately presented single storey converted barn is perfect for those looking for peace & tranquility, yet only 10 mins from the nearest beach and within easy reach of both St Mawes & Portscatho. Regret no dogs.

Discounts available for couples staying for 7 nights outside the peak season using just one room.

WiFiParking availableCot availableHighchair availableGardenDiscount for a coupleSunday change over
More info
Ardevora Vean
Sleeps up to 2

Location: Philleigh

If you are looking for a relaxing time, in a peaceful and stunning location, Ardevora Vean is perfect for you. Nestled in the beautiful countryside of the Roseland Peninsula and close to the upper reaches of the River Fal, this immaculately renovated west wing of Ardevora Mill is a great place to stay. Off the beaten track, yet only 10 mins from the nearest beach and within easy reach of both St Mawes & Portscatho. Regret no dogs.
If you are holidaying with family or friends, two additional cottages (Crowjy Ardevora & Ardevora an Gylen) are just across the courtyard - booking these will give you accommodation for 11 guests in total. N.B. Both these cottages have a Sunday changeover.

WiFiParking availableCot availableHighchair availableGardenFriday change over
More info
Ardevora an Gylen
Sleeps up to 4

Location: Philleigh

Converted from a barn, this light and spacious cottage is perfect for those looking for peace & tranquility, yet near to sandy beaches, coastal paths and the local villages of St Mawes & Portscatho. Regret no dogs.

Holidaying with family or friends? this property can be combined (by way of an internal connecting door) with Crowjy Ardevora which sleeps a further 5 persons. Ardevora Vean, across the courtyard, is also available and this cottage sleeps 2 (Friday changeover).

Discounts available for couples staying for 7 nights in the double room.

WiFiParking availableCot availableHighchair availableGardenDiscount for a coupleSunday change over
More info
Pendower Barn
Sleeps up to 4

Location: Portscatho

Just moments from beautiful Porthcurnick Beach and the famous Hidden Hut, Pendower Barn is a lovely tranquil spot to spend your holiday. A mere 10 minute walk to the beach or the South West coast path and close to the picturesque fishing villages of Portscatho and St Mawes, this is one of our many dog friendly holiday cottages in Cornwall.

Beach within walking distanceDog FriendlyWiFiOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableCot availableGardenDiscount for a coupleSaturday change over
More info
Quince Cottage, Pendower
Sleeps up to 4

Location: Veryan

Quince Cottage enjoys a magical location perched on a hill overlooking Gerrans Bay with stunning views over a field to Portscatho and beyond. Just a short walk from one of the South Coast's best beaches and in the heart of the extremely popular Roseland Peninsula, this is a holiday destination you won't forget!

Sea viewsBeach within walking distanceDog FriendlyWiFiOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableGardenSaturday change over
More info
Sammyshute
Sleeps up to 8

Location: Portscatho

Sammyshute is a substantial property with large, mature gardens and incredible views of Gerrans Bay and Pendower Beach and is within walking distance of the famous Hidden Hut on Porthcurnick Beach and the Michelin starred Driftwood Hotel. The pubs and galleries of Portscatho are a five minute drive away. Inside Sammyshute has been recently renovated and exudes a luxurious feel with tasteful decor and interior furnishings. However you will find your eyes constantly drawn to the magnificent view!

Discounts available for low occupancy - 15% based on a couple using one bedroom, 7.5% based on a group of 4 using only 2 bedrooms

Sea viewsBeach within walking distanceWiFiOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableHighchair availableGardenFishing availableDiscount for a coupleFriday change over
More info
Pollaughan Farmhouse
Sleeps up to 5

Location: Portscatho

Pollaughan Farmhouse is the beautifully restored Victorian Wing of the Owner's Farmhouse with completely separate entrance and a very private safely walled garden. Pollaughan Farm is secretively hidden just inland from Roseland’s best beaches and peacefully set among 22 acres of rolling pastures and lakes with an all weather tennis court on site and animal feeding/egg collecting for children.

Beach within walking distanceWiFiOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableCot availableHighchair availableGardenDiscount for a coupleFriday change over
More info
Farfield
Sleeps up to 8

Location: Rosevine, near Portscatho

Having one of the most exceptional and dramatic locations of any holiday home in Cornwall, Farfield also benefits from an enormous garden, direct access to the coastal path with a beach at the foot of the garden! A short walk from a Michelin starred restaurant, the famous Hidden Hut and beautiful Porthcurnick Beach - is there anywhere better?

Discounts available for 4 people or less staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using two rooms only.

Sea viewsBeach within walking distanceDog FriendlyWiFiParking availableCot availableHighchair availableGardenDiscount for a coupleFriday change over
More info
Vineyard Cottage
Sleeps up to 2

Location: Treworga, near Veryan

For those looking for peace & tranquillity, this immaculate cottage is situated on a former working vineyard in the heart of the Roseland Peninsula. This idyllic position is a haven for wildlife & offers the perfect retreat in beautiful countryside. The cottage is beautifully presented and benefits from a substantial living space for a 1 bedroom property.

WiFiParking availableGardenSaturday change over
More info

Top