Availability & Pricing

Step 1

Select a start date

from the calendar below

Unavailable

Available

Start Day

Your Booking

Step 2

Select your length of stay

Discounts available for 4 people or less staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using two rooms only.

Step 3

Tell us who's going

to help us calculate the price

Your booking:

Arrival:

Departure:

Price:

Please note that this price excludes our booking fee (£20), any supplement for use of a credit card, booking protection and any chargeable extras such as dogs.

Book Now

This gorgeous barn conversion was originally a grain store and cow shed and has been lovingly transformed into a bright and spacious holiday cottage with an enclosed garden, several decking areas and also a built in barbecue for whiling away the warm summer evenings. The Mealhouse is only a mile inland from the spectacular north Cornwall coast around Crackington Haven. With this dramatic coastline and stunning countryside all round to explore, this really is a fantastic place to stay. The farm offers guests the opportunity to relax against a stunning backdrop, whilst being located close to beaches and all the outdoor activities you would expect to enjoy from a holiday in Cornwall. There is a lovely village shop about a 15 minute walk away.

By prior arrangement, amazing cooked breakfasts can be delivered to you by the owners of the next door farmhouse where they run a B&B!

Accommodation
Ground floor: Enters into hallway with access to two bedrooms, both with a 5' double and 3' single bed, one of which also has an ensuite shower room & WC, both bedrooms have outside doors giving access to a secluded courtyard garden. There is also a large family bathroom with claw footed free standing bath, separate shower & WC. Stairs leading to;
First floor: Stairs lead up into a large bright open living area with high beamed ceiling. There is a fully fitted kitchen with central island. There are three leather sofas and a flat screen TV and DVD. Access into the dining room with a table big enough for 10, a beautifully bright room and a sun trap during the day with french doors leading out to the garden. At the other end of the living area is another large bedroom with 4'6" double bed and 3' single bed including distant sea views, there is an en suite cloakroom with WC.
Exterior: Drive with parking for 4 cars and approx. 1/2 acre of garden with brick built BBQ area.

Facilities & Services
Heating is via central heating and the wood burning stove. The kitchen is fully fitted with a range of units. There is an electric oven and hob, a microwave, toaster, kettle and fridge & dishwasher. The freezer is situated in the hallway downstairs. There is a washing machine. The lounge area has a flatscreen digital Freeview TV & DVD player, CD & Radio. There is free WiFi at the property. There is an iron & ironing board.

Miscellaneous
Electricity, heating, and bed linen are all included, towels maybe rented at a small additional charge per person per week. You will need to bring your own beach towels. We regret that dogs are not permitted and no smoking is allowed. There is off road parking for 4 cars. There is a cot, high chair available and stair gate available upon request.

General Booking Information
Arrival / Departure is normally a Friday.
Short breaks are available during the quieter months of the year.
£200 pre-authorised to your credit or debit card as a security deposit is required.
Discounts available for 4 people or less staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using two bedrooms only.
Short breaks are also available off season.

The farm is located one mile from Crackington Haven, which is included in the best surfing beaches in England and was recommended by the Marine Conservation Society in its Good Beach Guide.

The scenery in the beach area of the surrounding majestic cliffs is almost unrivalled. At high tide, the beach is a mass of quartz-veined pebbles and large boulders but at low tide, it reveals an expanse of sand and many rock pools. Only the road separates the sea from a couple of beach shops, two superb beach cafes and a public house with a restaurant and fantastic terrace. As you travel down the coastline, you can visit quaint coastal villages such as Boscastle, Tintagel and Port Isaac, the latter offering a range of fantastic restaurants where you can enjoy the freshest and most delicious fish.

Fifteen minutes up the coast is Bude, a popular tourist destination for both its surfing and fantastic family beaches in Widemouth Bay. The watchful eye of the RNLI lifeguards allows for some of the best surfing in the world alongside swimming and a whole host of water-based activities. Bude today is a lovely sea-side town, the main shopping streets and inter-connecting alleyways play host to a wide range of locally owned shops, restaurants and pubs. There are boutiques, shoes, arts & crafts, jewellery, hand-made gifts and souvenirs.

Six miles inland is Bodmin Moor, one of Cornwall's designated Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Cornwall at its wildest and rich in ancient history, Bodmin Moor stretches for 30 miles through the heart of the County of Cornwall and offers spectacular walking and horse riding. With easy access to the both the A30 and the Atlantic Highway you can quickly travel up and down the South-West to enjoy some of the larger tourist attractions that Devon and Cornwall have to offer.

5

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 5

Condition: 5

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2017-05-17

Guest from Bristol stayed for 3 nights.

Mealhouse Review

Perfect property for a large group or family. Great location to explore local coast. Very clean and comfortable.

5

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 5

Condition: 5

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2017-04-06

Guest from Harrow stayed for 3 nights.

Lovely cottage

Mealhouse is a very spacious cottage with a remote location. It has 3 bedrooms with a double and a single bed in each of them and so can easily accommodate 9 people. Kitchen and living room is very spacious and the fire place is excellent. We enjoyed the cottage! Just one thing to add, please take your towels with you as they are not provided in the cottage. There is a lovely 30min walk to the Crackington Haven village which has 2 cafes and kids can play on the pebble peach. Great local walks! And best place we visited was Tintagel castle some 6-8miles drive.

5

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 5

Condition: 5

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2016-10-16

Guest from Orleton, Nr Ludlow stayed for 14 nights.

Exceeds Expectations!!

We have one word to describe our stay at The Mealhouse - Excellent!! The cottage was well equipped with everything we needed for home cooking and the most amazing dining room, which also served as the music room for my husbands sax playing. There was plenty of hot water and heating and a great log burner for some of the chillier nights. As log burners go, this was a very good one. We have had holidays in this area for a number of years and each time we stay we love where we are, however, The Mealhouse is by far the one that hasn't left us wishing something was slightly different. We will be coming back year after year. I have allergies to all cleaning products and perfumes so contacted Cornwall Cottages to let them know. Rachel was in touch by email immediately and was very receptive to my needs. Rachel and Chris were there to meet us and made us feel very welcome. Chris popped by the day after to ensure everything was okay and that we had their contact details if we needed anything, pointing them out in the welcome pack. Although we were out and about during the day Chris was often seen on the farm doing his work which added to the ambience of our holiday "on a farm!" The wi-fi was excellent, which is always a bonus. Crackington Haven is in an AONB and The Mealhouse has been converted from a barn exceptionally well. The surrounding cottages are also in a good order which gives the whole area a wonderful feeling of being in the heart of the hills but with the security of neighbours. The walk down to the beach is amazing, but quite a hike back up and in late summer not always easy. We highly recommend The Mealhouse to anyone looking for a secret escape away from the madding crowds....

2.8

Out Of Five

Not Recommended

Cleanliness: 2

Service and Staff: 2

Comfort: 3

Condition: 3

Location: 5

Value For Money: 2

Review Date:2016-09-19

Guest from Fleet stayed for 7 nights.

Disappointing

We have used several holiday companies in the past to book cottages in the UK, this is the first time no one was the to greet us or to call in to see if we arrived and to tell us about the area, it was by chance we bumped into the farmer who the asked if everything was okay. Usually, there is milk in the fridge particularly if you are travelling more than four hours, there was also dishwasher tablets. The location was fantastic and it was incredibly peaceful, however, the cottage inside needed a good deep clean, floors and surfaces were just wiped over but as we cooked a meal one evening we cleaned up and the cloths were filthy. Windows were dirty and the sky light Windows when opened were caked in inches of dirt and debris, we had to close them immediately as it was falling onto the table. We only used the bedrooms upstairs but there should have been a blind on the sky light, again, we couldn't open the skylight due to layers of caked dirt, the bathroom was carpeted which unfortunately smelt of strong urine. As mentioned above, it is a fantastic location but there is clearly no love in the cottage. Furnishings were tired and details of walks, places to visit were just thrown into a basket (some out of date) with old food crumbs at the bottom! We were really disappointed in our stay, particularly for the price charged for the week.

Reply from Rachel Crocker

Thank you for taking the time to review Mealhouse. We are very sorry and rather perplexed that you were so disappointed with your stay and when we saw you and asked, you said that everything was fine and we regret that you did not say anything so that we could have improved your stay. We live nearby and are always available as detailed on the welcome letter. Guests arrive at all times and our policy is to be available but to leave guests to settle in and enjoy their holiday in peace. Previous guests have not had any issues with the cleanliness of the property. Skylights are cleaned on a ladder a few times during the season and we are sorry you experienced some dust when they were opened. A blind for the sky-light in the upstairs bedroom is a good idea and is on order. We have already planned for total carpet replacement through the whole property. We know that the great majority of our guests are very happy with Mealhouse and we have many repeat bookings and we are just sorry we could not please you.

4.7

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 5

Condition: 5

Location: 5

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2016-08-28

Guest from Welling stayed for 7 nights.

Beautiful house, quiet location

We had a wonderful week at The Mealhouse and were all sad to leave. The house is beautifully presented: modern decoration, all the utilities we come to expect (dishwasher, washing machine), woodburnong stove, and plenty of space to comfortably sleep 2 families. The garden space was perfect for the children and we made use of the built-in BBQ. The location was perfect for exploring North Cornwall: Tintagel, Boscastle, Widemouth Bay, Trebarwith Strand and Eden was only an hour away. The lanes to get to and from the house are extremely narrow which made for exciting driving for us city-types!! Fortunately you rarely see another car... We were able to walk to the village store and children's playground (0.6 miles), but didn't manage the walk to the beach as our children wouldn't have managed the walk back up the steep hill. We did enjoy walking out to the cow fields to watch the sunset. Star-gazing here is spectacular!

4

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 4

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 4

Condition: 4

Location: 4

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2016-04-24

Guest from Shaftesbury stayed for 3 nights.

Lovely stay, had everything we needed.

Great place to stay, we really enjoyed it. Loved the dining room set a good atmosphere for evening meals. Great facilities had everything we needed...

4.8

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 5

Condition: 5

Location: 5

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2015-08-16

Guest from Wednesbury stayed for 7 nights.

Family friendly holiday

Can't speak highly enough about this place. 4 generations of my family enjoyed a fantastic stay here, lovely quiet location, very relaxing, clean & comfortable.

4.7

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 5

Condition: 5

Location: 5

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2015-08-09

Guest from Hull stayed for 7 nights.

very good all round, would definitely stay again

Spacious and comfortable barn conversion in a beautiful country setting, not far from the coast. Well equipped kitchen when you are cooking for a large family, but no serving dishes, we had to plate up all our meals. We didn't see much of the owner during our stay, but he did manage to catch up with us once to check if everything was ok. Cornwall is a great place for a holiday....BUT the traffic jams going to St Ives and Newquay are madness.

4.5

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 4

Condition: 4

Location: 5

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2015-04-12

Guest from Melton Mowbray stayed for 7 nights.

Easter Sun

We had a great holiday and The Mealhouse was in an ideal location for us to explore the coast line with our friends. Spacious house with lots of great features.

4.8

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 5

Condition: 5

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2015-04-05

Guest from South Brent stayed for 7 nights.

Great place to get away

Really enjoyed our stay. Very clean and comfy. Loads of space inside and out - we didn't get on top of each other even with an almost full house. Blackout curtains would be useful.

5

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 5

Condition: 5

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2014-11-06

Guest from Newton Abbot stayed for 3 nights.

Avery enjoyable cosy weekend.

We were five ladies on a girls weekend, and had a fantastic time in Cornwall, after a day out walking swimming etc, it was lovely to come back and light the log burner which is a real benefit to the house. very cosy and warm, with a nice glass of wine and nibbles. Overall we were all very satisfied, the house had a pleasent ambience.

5

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 5

Condition: 5

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2014-10-26

Guest from Dawlish stayed for 7 nights.

Great out of season break.

We had a lovely week at The Mealhouse. The log burner was a real boon. Really well placed for walks on the cliff paths and through the countryside. Had a great meal at The Wainhouse Inn.

5

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 5

Condition: 5

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2014-10-12

Guest from Redditch stayed for 7 nights.

A week at the mealhouse

We were looking for a peaceful break with the option of good places to visit.The mealhouse was delightful,Ideally located for all of the picturesque villages along the north coast,the property itself could not have been better.Set in its own gardens and beautifully arranged inside ,large rooms tastefully furnished we were delighted with our choice.Will definitley visit again!

4.3

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 4

Condition: 5

Location: 4

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2014-09-09

Guest from Unterhaching stayed for 7 nights.

A great place to stay !!!!!

We stayed for a week in this nice house and enjoyed it very much. This is a great place to relax and enjoy the nature. Walking distance to the beach, great!!!!

4.5

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 5

Condition: 5

Location: 4

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2014-08-24

Guest from Brecon stayed for 14 nights.

Quiet, clean, well equipped, spacious and light.

Comfortable stay. Quiet location (until we arrived). We were unlucky with the weather so with 3 small(ish) children we didn't walk down to the beach as it is a steep climb back. We enjoyed our stay and the location is good for exploring Cornwall when there is a tail end of a hurricane blowing. The house is well equipped and clean and nicely furnished. Thank you.

Hallagather Farmhouse
Sleeps up to 11

Location: Crackington Haven

Hallagather Farmhouse is a 600 year old magnificent building with large fireplaces, flagstones, medieval arrow slits and plenty of quirky features that add bags of character. With four separate bedrooms, three with en suite bath / shower rooms and all with their own unique character (Check the gallery out!) this holiday destination will provide an experience you will be keen to repeat There is a beautiful walk through fields and woods down to the stunning sandy beach at Crackington Haven.

Low occupancy discounts are available in the quieter times of the year, 30% - 2 people, 1 room, 20% - 4 people, 2 rooms, 10% - 6 people, 3 rooms

Shops within walking distanceDog FriendlyWiFiOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableCot availableHighchair availableGardenDiscount for a coupleFriday change over
More info
Woodgate
Sleeps up to 8

Location: Crackington Haven

In a splendid position in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and just inland from the immensely spectacular coastline around Crackington Haven this large detached farmhouse stands in its own garden and offers a wonderful place to stay.

Discounts available for 4 people or less staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using two rooms only.

Beach within walking distancePub within walking distanceDog FriendlyWiFiOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableCot availableHighchair availableGardenDiscount for a coupleFriday change over
More info
Lambs Barton Cottage
Sleeps up to 4

Location: Crackington Haven

This amazing converted barn with stunning views has been stylishly designed to provide one of the most beautiful and romantic cottages in North Cornwall. Just a few minutes walk from the spectacular beach at Crackington Haven.

Beach within walking distancePub within walking distanceWiFiOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableGardenFriday change over
More info
Trevigue Cottage
Sleeps up to 8

Location: Crackington Haven

This wonderful and homely cottage on the 200 acre farm at Trevigue set in a magnificent location on the north Cornwall cliffs close to Crackington Haven, just yards from the spectacular coastal footpath.

Discounts available for 4 people or less staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using two rooms only.

Beach within walking distanceDog FriendlyWiFiOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableCot availableHighchair availableGardenDiscount for a coupleSunday change over
More info
Barton Cottage
Sleeps up to 4

Location: Crackington Haven

This wonderful traditional cottage is in a quite spectacular position next door to the famous church at St Gennys which must have one of the most dramatic locations of any in the British Isles. This iconic cliff top location is an absolute haven for walkers and wildlife lovers, yet within walking distance of the beach at Crackington Haven.

Discounts are available for couples staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using one room only.

Sea viewsBeach within walking distancePub within walking distanceDog FriendlyWiFiOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableCot availableHighchair availableGardenDiscount for a coupleSaturday change over
More info
Church Cottage
Sleeps up to 4

Location: Crackington Haven

Tucked away in a secret little cluster of cottages beside the ancient church of St Gennys in the most amazing cliff top location. Church Cottage is quite delightful and will provide a relaxing retreat at any time of year.

Discounts available for couples staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using one room only.

Sea viewsBeach within walking distanceDog FriendlyWiFiOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableCot availableHighchair availableGardenSaturday change over
More info
The Old Cider House
Sleeps up to 2

Location: Crackington Haven

In a quite beautiful and peaceful spot, close to some of the most spectacular sections of Cornwalls north coast, The Old Cider House is a luxurious conversion providing spacious accommodation for a couple with the added advantage of a lovely private garden.

WiFiOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableCot availableHighchair availableGardenGolf Course nearbySunday change over
More info
Dutch Barn
Sleeps up to 8

Location: Crackington Haven

This amazing, newly constructed, eco-friendly, holiday home is located only a short distance from Crackington Haven and is a luxuriously appointed place to stay with a brilliant hot tub and some superb facilities available on the farm including a games room and some lovely spaces to explore.

A large discount is available for just 4 people using the Barn, when it is just converted to a 2 bedroom property.

Shops within walking distanceDog FriendlyWiFiOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableCot availableHighchair availableHot TubGardenDiscount for a coupleFriday change over
More info
Glentruan
Sleeps up to 6

Location: Crackington Haven

Located in beautiful countryside, yet only a 6 minute drive from the spectacular north Cornish coast, Glentruan is an imaginatively converted and extended cottage with a stunning two storey extension to the rear providing amazing views across a valley. Beautifully presented by the Owner throughout, there are also extensive gardens.

WiFiOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableCot availableHighchair availableGardenSaturday change over
More info
Apple Cottage
Sleeps up to 6

Location: Crackington Haven

This delightful 17th century farmhouse with many original features provides spacious accommodation for up to 6 people plus a cot. This North Cornwall cottage has a fantastic beamed lounge with granite stone fireplace and a good sized private garden.

Discounts available for couples staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using one bedroom only!

Shops within walking distanceDog FriendlyWiFiOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableCot availableHighchair availableGardenDiscount for a coupleFriday change over
More info

Top