Availability & Pricing

Step 1

Select a start date

from the calendar below

Unavailable

Available

Start Day

Your Booking

Step 2

Select your length of stay

Discounts available for couples staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using one room only.

Step 3

Tell us who's going

to help us calculate the price

Your booking:

Arrival:

Departure:

Price:

Please note that this price excludes our booking fee (£20), any supplement for use of a credit card, booking protection and any chargeable extras such as dogs.

Book Now

Kernyk Cottage nestles behind the main farm house and is a beautiful traditional granite Cornish Cottage, you enter the courtyard garden down some rustic granite steps which are characterful though not even, these are probably not best suited to those with balance difficulties or young children (please ask for more information if required), however the courtyard is quiet and sheltered and is a sun trap in the afternoon and evenings. Inside is a dining / breakfast room and an open plan lounge and kitchen all packed with traditional features, large exposed blocks of granite, thick walls and beamed ceiling. To the front of the main farmhouse is a communal child's play area that is shared with the other 2 cottages, Ruby Farm cottage and Dingley cottage.

Porkellis is a superb place to stay with stunning access to the bustling port of Falmouth, with its vibrant atmosphere, Helford River, one of the most beautiful tidal creeks in the country made famous by Daphne Du Maurier's classic novel Frenchman's Creek, and onwards to the untamed beauty and splendour of the Lizard peninsula.


Also available on this site are Ruby Farm Cottage (sleeps 5) and Dingley Cottage (sleeps 3).

Accommodation
Ground floor: The front door leads into the breakfast / dining room with a bright and airy feel, a door leads into the open plan kitchen / lounge with a full range of fitted units, sofa, chairs and TV, stairs lead up to;
First floor: Open onto a landing with doors to; double bedroom with en-suite shower room and WC, twin bedroom with en suite bathroom with WC and hand basin.
Exterior: Drive with parking for 1 car to the rear of the property, further parking is available on request. Rustic granite steps lead to a private patio area with table, chairs and barbecue. There is a communal playground area. Guests may walk their dogs around some of the fields on the farm.

Facilities & Services
The property has gas central heating. The kitchen is fully fitted with a range of units. There is a gas oven and hob, a microwave, dishwasher, toaster, kettle, fridge with small freezer compartment. There is a combined washing machine and tumble dryer. The lounge area has a flatscreen digital Freeview TV with an integrated DVD player, CD & Radio. There is an iron & ironing board. WiFi is available at the property however it is through a satellite and therefore has a download limit (great for emails, not so good for streaming films).

Miscellaneous
Electricity, heating and bed linen are all included but you will need to bring your own towels and beach towels. Up to 2 well behaved dogs are welcome at an additional £25 per dog per week, although please remember that dogs cannot be left unattended in the cottage alone. Regrettably no smoking is allowed. There is off road parking for 1 car. There is a barbecue.

General Booking Information
Arrival / Departure is Saturday in 2015 and Friday in 2016.
Short breaks are available during the quieter months of the year.
£150 pre-authorised to your credit or debit card as a security deposit is required.

Please note the steps:


?With easy access to Falmouth, attractions such as The National Maritime Museum Falmouth, Rick Steins Fish and Chips on Discovery Quay, Pendennis Castle and even St Mawes Castle via a 20 minute foot ferry, are all within reach. Falmouth is one of Cornwall's most popular places to visit because of its unique mix of attractions, water sports, beaches, history and place to eat. The National Maritime Museum Cornwall and Pendennis Castle are both high on visitors' lists of places to visit and the views from Pendennis on a fine day a truly magical. Falmouth is the sailing capital of Cornwall with its spectacular deep water natural harbour offering a haven for both cruisers and racers. Many events are held through the summer culminating in the famous Falmouth Regatta Week and associated shore side events. The beaches at Gyllingvase & Swanpool are coarse sand and are wonderfully sunny south facing spots. You can ride the ferry to beautiful St Mawes for the day or take a delightful trip around the estuary stopping off at either Trelissick Gardens or Smugglers Cottage for a cream tea! There are plenty of places to eat & drink in Falmouth and recently Rick Stein has opened his Fish & Chip Restaurant & Oyster Bar at Discovery Quay adding to the superb mix across the town.

Helston was originally a thriving port, however as the river silted up over the years, this ceased to be. Where the river joins the sea, is now Cornwall's largest freshwater lake. The market town has a mixture of Georgian & Victorian architecture. On Coinagehall Street is the Blue Anchor, originally a rest house for monks, which became a tavern in the 15th century. This is possibly the oldest brewery in the country selling the strong local brew, Spingo. Helston is the gateway to the Lizard Peninsula and to the Helford River, which has some beautiful villages, namely St Anthony in Meneage & Helford Village.

Porthleven is approximate 3.5 miles southwest of Helston. This charming fishing harbour also has world class surf break.

A little further along the coast, towards Penzance is Praa Sands, which has a mile of sandy beach.

North Helford covers the area from Maenporth to Helston and includes places such as Mawnan Smith, Helford Passage, Constantine & Gweek. The area has many delights such as Trebah and Glendurgan Gardens, The Seal Sanctuary at Gweek, Goonhilly Earth and Satellite Station and The Ferry Boat Inn.

Daphne du Maurier wrote her only romantic novel Frenchmans Creek about the River Helford, and who can blame her, the views really are beautiful. Glendurgan Gardens run by the National Trust hold a 176 year old laurel maze and the 'Giants Stride' swing most popular with children. St Anthony-in-Meneage holds a lovely little church primarily of medieval architecture. Maenporth beach tucked away on the westerly edge of Falmouth Bay boast spectacular views, well worth a visit.

5

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 5

Condition: 5

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2017-06-19

Guest from Diss stayed for 7 nights.

Summer break

We chose Kernyk cottage as we initially intended to take our dogs with us. From past experience dog friendly cottages are bit shabby. This is not the case with Kernyk. The cottage is well cared for, very clean and comfortable. It suited the three of us perfectly. The only minor improvement we would suggest is the provision of a simple handrail to the garden steps which could become slippery in the wet. The location was ideal for us, tucked away but near enough to Falmouth to make visiting our relatives easy.

5

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 5

Condition: 5

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2017-04-02

Guest from Cheltenham stayed for 7 nights.

Fantastic holiday cottage

The cottage was very comfortable,warm,clean and everything you could possibly need was provided. All you need to take is your towels and yourselves. There were homemade scones and clotted cream, and a vase of flowers to greet me and milk in the fridge so felt really loved. Arran came to meet me and assured me that if there were any problems to just let her know. The cottage is out in the country side so all there was to wake me were the birds and sheep, a wonderful place to get away from it all. My only concern is that there is no rail at the bottom of the first set of steps so if they were slippery or anyone stumbled there is nothing to stop them falling into the court yard. I will DEFINATELY return when I go back to Cornwall.

4.3

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 4

Condition: 4

Location: 4

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2016-08-23

Guest from Aylesbury stayed for 7 nights.

Our stay at Kernyk

We couldn't have asked for a more perfect location in which to explore some of the most beautiful parts of Cornwall. Yes, the cottage is located away from the coast, but it's precise location meant that the west,south and eastern coastal areas were all about 30 minutes away. The cottage is a real dichotomy: it's basic, but perfect at the same time, cosy and snug comes to mind, but is fitted with everything (and I mean everything), you would require for a 2 week break or longer. The owner - Arran - is incredibly friendly and made us very welcome, cream tea with homemade jam - perfect again! A lot of people have mentioned the steep steps leading down to the front door - I expected a lot worse to be honest, but if you want a flat landscape, go to Lincolnshire - Cornwall is not the place for you! Dog friendly, with lots of dog friendly beaches nearby. Perfect! We would/will happily return.

Reply from Arran

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in Kernyk Cottage. I'm sorry we were not up to 5's all round but the feedback is very helpful all the same. They are an ongoing project and as soon as we update one thing something else rears it's head, Ah the beauty of 200 plus year old buildings, and their contents. Glad to hear you were not concerned by the granite steps, as uneven as they are, they are rather lovely but a Cornish hazard none the less. I hope you had a safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Maybe you can try our homemade beer as well as the jam next time!

3.8

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 4

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 4

Condition: 4

Location: 4

Value For Money: 3

Review Date:2016-08-21

Guest from Sheffield stayed for 7 nights.

Good cottage

Lovely place, had everything we needed, good location for exploring many parts of Cornwall. Very private and undisturbed. This website insists my review is a minimum of one hundred and fifty characters so I've added this rather pointless final sentence to comply.

Reply from Arran

Firstly, thank for taking the time to write a review for us and also thank you for the lovely message you left in our review book in the cottage. It is very helpful to know what guests liked and what they find lacking so improvements can be made where possible. Having read this review I'm so sorry to see from the marks you have awarded us that we were not entirely up to your expectations. Especially value for money. £24.96 per person per day for a cottage, that along with all the usual you would expect, provides a dish washer, washing machine, dryer, central heating ( which the guest has control of anytime of the year) & limitless hot water, no extra charge whatsoever, in a central part of South West Cornwall, quiet and very private, incredibly reasonable. In order to make a profit we would have to increase our prices by at least 20%! The amount we charge doesn't entirely cover maintenance/renewal/updating costs or overheads. But we would rather keep the cottages in use & have guests to visit and explore Cornwall from a comfortable, central base & at least cover some costs. So I am disappointed to read you did not feel it value for money but hope you got enjoyment out of your stay in Cornwall all the same & thank you for the feedback. I'm glad I was able to introduce your children to all our animals while here and hoped they enjoyed the play area, although I didn't see them out and about much, and that your enjoyed the scones. I trust you had a safe journey home. P.S. The green flashing light on the landing meant you were not connected to the internet, I'm so sorry you used your own internet allowance, rather than letting me know in the week, as I could have sorted it within 5 mins. I'm afraid I get no notification of this in the house.

4.3

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 4

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 4

Condition: 4

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2016-06-05

Guest from Sheffield stayed for 7 nights.

Very nice cottage in good location

Lovely cottage in a very good location that has all home comforts. The cottage is situated close to many attractions and beaches (by car). Will be returning.

Reply from Arran

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

4.3

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 4

Condition: 5

Location: 4

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2016-03-30

Guest from London stayed for 3 nights.

perfect place to stay!

We stayed at Kernyk for a short period during easter. The cottage is in an ideal location to connect you to Lands End, the Lizard and few others. The only draw back we had was the weather, which was expected. Apart from that it was an amazing experience. The cottage was well maintained and cozy. The owner was always around to check on you and making sure we were comfortable. I strongly recommend this place to all

5

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 5

Condition: 5

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2016-02-21

Guest from Bronygarth stayed for 7 nights.

Cosy, well

We arrived late but it was no problem, the cottage was warm and has a friendly feel. Plenty of nearby roads and tracks for dog walking. Delicious drinking water - really - as good as our spring at home! We were visiting my son at Penryn Campus and had a lovely room with dining table for entertaining him and his friends to supper and a good kitchen for cooking. Close enough to pop over any time. Visited masses of National Trust beaches and had lots of lovely walks.

Reply from Arran Fleur

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. It's lovely to hear that you found the cottage warm and welcoming and was suitable for you and your son. Very pleased too that you enjoyed visiting lots of lovely places nearby. Hope to welcome you back again.

4.3

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 4

Condition: 3

Location: 4

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2015-10-05

Guest from Rushden stayed for 7 nights.

Our Stay

The cottage was clean and tidy and the scones and cream left for us were a nice touch. My concern were the steps down to the cottage very narrow very steep with no hand rail, if you slipped or lost you footing on these steps there is about a 20 foot drop to the courtyard at the bottom, it needs something to stop anyone who lost their footing falling to the bottom.

Reply from Arran

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review. I'm very sorry to hear that you found the old granite steps an issue. Although they are a feature of old cottages in Cornwall we are also very aware that these are not suitable for some people and this is why there are pictures of them and that we highlight them on the information about this cottage. We woud like to put some railings up when time and money allow, I'm afraid a new boiler made it to the top of last years "to do list" but we will do our best to get things sorted before next Summer.

5

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 5

Condition: 5

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2015-08-11

Guest from Wantage stayed for 7 nights.

Things to improve

Steps were very steep with no hand rail this was a constant worry with young children. The shower door was difficult to open and shut. The cream teas and fresh flowers were a very nice welcoming

Reply from Arran

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review. I'm very sorry to hear that you found the old granite steps an issue. Although they are a feature of old cottages in Cornwall we are also very aware that these are not suitable for some people and this is why there are pictures of them and that we highlight them on the information about this cottage as not being suitable for people unstable on their feet, including young children. We woud like to put some railings up when time and money allow, I'm afraid a new boiler made it to the top of last years "to do list" but we will do our best to get things sorted before next Summer. The shower door is being replaced.

3.3

Out Of Five

Not Recommended

Cleanliness: 4

Service and Staff: 3

Comfort: 3

Condition: 4

Location: 3

Value For Money: 3

Review Date:2015-07-26

Guest from Boston stayed for 7 nights.

Access a problem

The cottage was ok, but should point out the access is a real issue. The steep stone steps down to the front door are a real hazard especially if it is wet and they become slippery. Also there is no hand rail making it rather dangerous. I would suggest decent steps be erected with a supporting hand rail on either side as an urgent priority. The outside light failed to work which made it a further issue at night. Not a lot of room in the kitchen area and the interior steps rather steep. Not quite up to the standard we are used to.

Reply from Arran

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review. I'm very sorry to hear that you found the old granite steps an issue. Although they are a feature of old cottages in Cornwall we are also very aware that these are not suitable for some people and this is why there are pictures of them and that we highlight them on the information about this cottage. We woud like to put some railings up when time and money allow, I'm afraid a new boiler made it to the top of last years "to do list" but we will do our best to get things sorted before next Summer. I'm very sorry about the outside light, I hope you used the torch we provide. I would have had it fixed when you were here had I known, but thanks to your review it is now fixed.

4

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 4

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 4

Condition: 4

Location: 4

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2015-07-08

Guest from Wigan stayed for 7 nights.

week in cornwall

Great base for touring the area. Cottage clean and tidy and quiet. No noise from neighbours. Stone access steps down so not ideal for elderly and infirm.

Reply from Arran

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review. I'm very pleased to hear that you found the cottage clean & tidy. So sorry to hear that you found the old granite steps an issue. Although they are a feature of old cottages in Cornwall we are also very aware that these are not suitable for some people and this is why there are pictures of them and that we highlight them on the information about this cottage as not being suitable for people unsteady on their feet. We woud like to put some railings up when time and money allow, I'm afraid a new boiler made it to the top of last years "to do list" but we will do our best to get things sorted before next Summer.

4.7

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 5

Condition: 5

Location: 4

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2015-07-06

Guest from Buckland St Mary stayed for 7 nights.

steps

Steps to the cottage could do with a hand rail other that the Cottage was top notch would recommend. Very good location lovely setting. Even the dog loved his vacation.

Reply from Arran

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review. Lovely to hear you found the cottage "Top Notch!" and that your dog enjoyed his holiday here too. Very sorry to hear that you found the old granite steps an issue. Although they are a feature of old cottages in Cornwall we are also very aware that these are not suitable for some people and this is why there are pictures of them and that we highlight them on the information about this cottage. We woud like to put some railings up when time and money allow, I'm afraid a new boiler made it to the top of last years "to do list" but we will do our best to get things sorted before next Summer.

4.7

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 5

Condition: 4

Location: 4

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2015-04-09

Guest from Kennington Oxford stayed for 3 nights.

A very well presented cozy cottage

A very well presented cozy cottage. Ideal location in a small community. Owner very helpful. Would certainly want to go back for few extra days. Highly recommended.

Reply from Arran

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Super to hear that you enjoyed your time here. Hope to welcome you back again.

5

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 5

Condition: 5

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2015-03-23

Guest from Bristol stayed for 4 nights.

Four days of perfection!

I can't think how the owners could possibly have made this cottage any better. Two grateful old grotties and two Jack Rs. Even the "mizzle" only targeted us once! (If you don't know, ask a Cornishman - better, ask a Cornish Lady - you could even get a cream tea welcome! The six "stars" is NOT a misprint.

Reply from Arran

Thank you! What a super review, thank you very much for taking the time to write it. As you can see, I've only just found the time to answer! Sorry about that. Hope we can welcome you back one day.

Dingley Cottage
Sleeps up to 3

Location: Porkellis near Falmouth

Nestled next to Ruby farmhouse up a short, tree lined drive is Dingley Cottage, a superbly equipped little bolthole with its own private courtyard garden. Child and dog friendly, there are fields to run off some steam and a communal play area to generally entertain. The vibrant resort of Falmouth, picturesque Helston, the glorious Helford River and the Lizard peninsula are all within easy reach.

Discounts available for couples staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using one room only.

Pub within walking distanceDog FriendlyWiFiParking availableCot availableHighchair availableGardenDiscount for a coupleFriday change over
More info
Ruby Farm Cottage
Sleeps up to 5

Location: Porkellis near Falmouth

Ruby Farm Cottage is a traditional granite Cornish cottage nestled behind the main farmhouse up a picturesque little gravel drive. If you are after a peaceful rural retreat that is relatively close to Falmouth, the Helford and the Lizard then go no further, with plenty of fields to exercise your dogs and a purpose built playground to exercise your children Ruby Farm Cottage will provide your ideal Cornish holiday.

Discounts available for couples staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using one room only.

Pub within walking distanceDog FriendlyWiFiParking availableCot availableHighchair availableGardenDiscount for a coupleFriday change over
More info
Nine Maidens
Sleeps up to 2

Location: Wendron, near Helston

Nine Maidens is a spacious one bedroom barn conversion set on a working 25 acre small holding sheep farm. This superb holiday home is fantastically situated at the gateway to the Lizard peninsula with easy access to both coasts and numerous holiday attractions.

WiFiOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableSaturday change over
More info
Orchard View at Higher Carthew
Sleeps up to 2

Location: Wendron, near Helston

Orchard View is a spacious one bedroom barn conversion set on a working 25 acre small holding sheep farm. This superb holiday home is ideally situated at the gateway to the Lizard peninsula with easy access to both coasts and numerous holiday attractions.

WiFiOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableSaturday change over
More info
Foxglove
Sleeps up to 2

Location: Wendron, near Helston

Foxglove is a romantic studio style barn conversion set on a working 25 acre small holding sheep farm. This lovely conversion is fantastically situated at the gateway to the Lizard peninsula with easy access to both coasts and numerous holiday attractions.

WiFiOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableFriday change over
More info
Gribbas Cottage
Sleeps up to 2

Location: Stithians

A delightful one bedroom cottage in the little village of Stithians. With thick granite stone walls and heavily beamed ceilings, this is a really proper little Cornish cottage. Ideally placed for exploring the Lizard, yet close to Falmouth and the north Helford area and within easy reach of the north coast. Great cycling can be had nearby on the Bissoe Trail, the old mining tramway that runs from south to north coasts.

Shops within walking distancePub within walking distanceDog FriendlyParking availableCot availableHighchair availableGardenFriday change over
More info
Nelly's Cottage
Sleeps up to 6

Location: Constantine, Helford River

An amazing house with a grand galleried living space. Only constructed 5 years ago, this stunning timber framed holiday home is located just a short distance from Falmouth and the beautiful Helford River. The house benefits from a covered veranda and is surrounded by about 2 acres of paddock.

Discounts available for couples staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using one room only.

Dog FriendlyWiFiOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableHighchair availableGardenDiscount for a coupleSaturday change over
More info
Tremayne Barn
Sleeps up to 6

Location: Ponsanooth near Falmouth

A beautifully converted barn on a courtyard of buildings in the grounds of Cosawes Barton in rolling countryside about 15 minutes' drive north of Falmouth.
Awarded Silver in the 2016/17 Cornwall Tourism Awards

Discounts available for couples staying outside the peak season, using one room only.

Shops within walking distancePub within walking distanceDog FriendlyWiFiOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableCot availableHighchair availableGardenDiscount for a coupleFriday change over
More info
Carvosso Mill
Sleeps up to 6

Location: Ponsanooth near Falmouth

A beautifully converted mill on a courtyard of buildings in the grounds of Cosawes Barton in rolling countryside about 15 minutes drive north of Falmouth. Awarded Silver in the 2016/17 Cornwall Tourism Awards.

Discounts available for couples staying outside the peak season, using one room only.

Shops within walking distancePub within walking distanceDog FriendlyWiFiOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableCot availableHighchair availableWheelchair AccessGardenDiscount for a coupleFriday change over
More info
The Linhay at Cosawes
Sleeps up to 6

Location: Ponsanooth near Falmouth

A beautifully converted barn on a courtyard of buildings in the grounds of Cosawes Barton in rolling countryside about 15 minutes drive north of Falmouth.
Awarded Silver in the 2016/17 Cornwall Tourism Awards

Discounts available for couples staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using one room only.

Shops within walking distancePub within walking distanceDog FriendlyWiFiOpen fire / woodburnerParking availableCot availableHighchair availableGardenDiscount for a coupleFriday change over
More info

Top