Hillside is a traditional cottage right in the heart of the harbour village of Portscatho on Cornwall's beautiful Roseland Peninsula. Full of character this cottage benefits from a gorgeous little sunny back garden and is only a few steps from the village beach or the dramatic coastal footpath. The cottage has a dedicated parking space which is essential in this small village.
from the calendar below
to help us calculate the price
Please note that this price excludes our booking fee (£20), any supplement for use of a credit card, booking protection and any chargeable extras such as dogs.Book Now
Hillside is a traditional cottage right in the heart of the harbour village of Portscatho on Cornwall's beautiful Roseland Peninsula. Full of character this cottage benefits from a gorgeous little sunny back garden and is only a few steps from the village beach or the dramatic coastal footpath. The cottage has a dedicated parking space which is essential in this small village. Positioned only a few steps from the beach, pub and local shop, the cottage is perfect for those looking for a relaxed holiday without the car! The cottage has had a new kitchen extension added for the summer of 2011 which has made the ground floor considerably larger and bring the facilities up to date. The living area is heavily beamed and there is a range of comfortable chairs around the large Cornish stone fireplace with woodburning stove. Upstairs there are two bedrooms, one a small twin with 2'6 beds and the other with one double bed and an additional single bed. There are glimpses of the sea from the first floor window.
Fully redecorated for 2017 season, both inside and out.
Ground Floor: Open Plan lounge & dining area with woodburning stove, newly fitted kitchen & stairs to the first floor.
First Floor: One bedroom with a double bed & a separate 3' single bed with an en-suite shower room & WC. Twin bedroom, family bathroom with handheld shower & WC.
Exterior: A small grassed garden which is a real little sun trap and benefits from sunshine for much of the day.
Facilities & Services
Heating is via night storage heating and the woodburning stove. The kitchen has a range of modern equipment. There is an electric oven and hob, a microwave, toaster, kettle, dishwasher, large fridge and freezer. There is also a washing machine. The sitting room area has a TV & DVD player. There is Superfast WiFi available at the property (approx 20-30mbps). There is an iron & ironing board. There is a stair gate at the top of the stairs.
Electricity and bed linen is included but you will need to bring your own towels. An initial supply of wood is supplied for the woodburner. Regrettably no smoking or dogs are allowed. There is a dedicated off the road car parking space at the rear of the property for a medium sized car. Please be aware that access might be difficult for some makes of car. There is a high chair available (but no cot).
General Booking Information
Arrival / Departure is normally a Friday.
Short breaks are available during quieter periods.
£100 pre-authorised to your credit or debit card as a security deposit is required.
Portscatho and its neighbouring village of Gerrans are located on the eastern coast of the Roseland Peninsula, Cornwall, overlooking the dramatic Gerrans Bay. A truly peaceful waterside village, Portscatho is a lovely place for a holiday. There are miles of coastal and countryside footpaths to explore, particularly along St Anthony's Head. Portscatho was once a busy fishing harbour, but now it has become a haven for artists due to the striking light which is particularly good in the morning sun. More than anything, Portscatho is a relaxing place. The beaches such as Porthcurnick, Towan and Porthbeor are simply idyllic and these are only minutes from the village. With a superb local butchers shop, 2 great little pubs and a well stocked local store, Portscatho and Gerrans are a lovely place to spend a holiday.
Guest from Doncaster stayed for 7 nights.
Had a great time in this semi-detached cottage in Portscatho. Ideal location for us opposite the very nice and friendly pub Plume of Feathers and a few minutes walk away from the coastal path. Super beach at Porthcurnick a short walk away. Very clean, comfy & well equipped cottage would return for another holiday here and would recommend to friends. My only criticism would be that we had to take our recycling away ourselves,I really think that this should be organised by the people managing the property as there is a fortnightly recycling collection in the village.
Thanks for your comments - glad you had a great time. Sorry you found it a nuisance to have to take your recycling away. The recycling facility is in Gerrans, in the car park behind The Standard pub, so not too far away.
Guest from London stayed for 7 nights.
Really well equipped kitchen, powerful shower, cosy cottage with pretty garden, looked like place had just been painted and new kitchen, great holiday.
Thank you for your comments. You are right - the cottage has been repainted inside and out this Spring
Guest from Basingstoke stayed for 7 nights.
It would have been helpful to have been told to unload at the front of the cottage to avoid carrying luggage etc up and down the stepped garden.The Key Safe was not working, after a while we tried the back door which was unlocked and found the keys hanging in lounge. The front door seemed to be unused, the lock was jammed, we were concerned about having only one exit. Eventually we found a can of lubricating oil which, when applied, freed up the lock. One evening we had a storm and thought we were about to lose power, there were no candles/night lights and the only torch was not working. The TV remote did not function and was leaking acid. No towel rails in either bathroom for drying. Masses of Tourist Information, some going back ten years, definitely needs a clear out. Scratching heard in the loft at night.
Thank you for your comments. I can confirm that there is a now new key safe, and the front door is fixed too. We've also put some candles in one of the drawers, and replaced the batteries in the TV remote. We have also cleared out the outdated Tourist information, and blocked the hole in the loft where there were birds getting in. Thanks again - I hope you managed to have a good holiday in spite of these issues.
Guest from Neston stayed for 7 nights.
FIrstly on a positive, position was good, very central. The kitchen was modern and bright, it was well equipped and appliances were clean and modern, sofas were comfortable. The bathrooms were modern.However, the cottage was quite shabby and poorly furnished. We had to call the caretaker out straight away to replace 3 light bulbs, remove a table lamp that had a burning smell, and replace batteries in the remote that had leaked acid, and remove the rubbish from the front of the cottage. The smell from the bin was so offensive, we had to move it away from the back door.The table lamp was replaced with a supermarket "Basics" model. The plastic cloths covering the tables left the cloth used to clean them filthy. The kitchen bowl was dirty and old, as was the plastic sink dish drainer, which was pitted and worn. OVer head lamps on landing and dining area covered in greasy dust. Shower door seal was mildewed. Drawer front in bedroom came off in hand. Bedroom paint marked, e.g swatted insect stains and had been touched up in places. Mattresses were all coil sprung and very uncomfortable, three without head boards. Despite us being warned in pre arrival information to remove all food stuffs upon departure, the cupboards contained out of date basic supplies. Most surfaces were covered in dusty collections of shells, and a family photograph on the fire place, had the word "dust" written on the reverse. The shower enclosure contained a rusty metal container. The bathroom towel storage rack was rusted and grubby. One of the wardrobes contained old off cuts of dirty carpets. Such a shame that the owners do not take basic action to remedy these minor points, that collectively made the cottage feel dirty and uncared for. I realise many of these cottages are cherished family holiday homes, and therefore expect to take account of out dated furnishings, but Hillside left a lot to be desired.
Thanks for your comments. I'm pleased to say that the cottage has now been repainted inside and out, and we have replaced many of the items you have mentioned, so thanks again
Guest from London stayed for 7 nights.
We were really delighted with Hillside and loved our stay there! - apart from the fact that I was laid very low by a horrible chest infection for the last 3 and a half days which rather put a dent in my happy state.(Portscatho surgery happily were very helpful and put me on a course of antibiotics which I'm sure made the train journey back to London more bearable) The surgery and its proximity and accessiblity is yet another of the many plusses of Portscatho which we -- my son and I- found ravishing. The cottage and its charming little garden where we breakfasted sometimes was lovely and very comfortable and homely and its location was more than ideal. In spite of being in the heart of the tiny village and 3 mins from the coastal path and beach, it seemed amazingly calm and unbustly and we felt very uncrowded and private there - just strolling out of the house to the benches beyond the old fashioned phone box and we felt bathed in peace and beauty- I had had some misgivings about feeling crowded in there as the price to pay for the convenience and proximity of all the above amenities but no such things The kitchen was fine and well equipped. (Just two wee things would have made it even better for me : a hand held (or other) electric blender for making soups and a "last lick") Last but by no means least we really appreciated the wide range of very interesting books to read and browse and all the local travel and walking booklets and pamphlets. Many thanks to the owners!
Guest from Cheltenham stayed for 7 nights.
Great position in a beautiful part of the world . Well situated for local shops ,pub ,cafes etc as well ,of course coastal walks . Comfortable accommodation.
Guest from Wokingham stayed for 10 nights.
This cottage has so much potential. It's location and size is amazing and it's fully equipped with everything you need. The views of the sea from the bedroom are lovely. However, it's really quite grubby and could do with a lick of paint, a really good clean and update as it's very tired looking. The ensuite has rusty furniture and the shower needs unblocking as the water doesn't drain away ( you have to turn it of half way through showering then turn it on again). Lampshades have holes and cracks them and the front of the drawers in the bedroom kept coming of in my hand. The walls are grubby and the pictures and books are dusty. There are also huge weeds coming out the window ledges. We stayed in Spring time and did put the extra heaters on at night to take the edge of but I can imagine in the winter it would've freezing, even with a fire on. The curtains move even with the windows shut. Overall, we enjoyed our stay as we totally love Cornwall, in fact getting married there next year. This cottage could be so lovely with just a little bit of TLC :-)
Response from the owners: Thanks for your comments. Since your visit, we've been to stay in the cottage ourselves, and the property has now had a really good thorough clean. We agree that the cottage could do with a coat of paint, and have arranged for the decorator to come at the end of this summer season. We've also replaced lampshades, mended bedroom drawers, removed weeds and generally given the cottage some of that TLC you felt it was in need of. Good to hear that you love Cornwall, and I hope you have a wonderful wedding next year!
Guest from Warminster stayed for 7 nights.
An inadequately heated property particularly for this time of year which meant that we were cold Night storage heaters give out very little heat during the day when one is out. Consequently there is nothing left for the evening so hopeless for a holiday cottage. Extra blow heaters and a halogen heater were not the answer. We were informed that logs could be purchased for the open fire but we had no wish to take the responsibility for lighting these. the fire looked unsafe. We arrived to half the living/dining room lights not working and, additionally grubby windows and kitchen walls. The caretaker replaced light bulbs but two still did not work. Moreover, the dining room lights flickered when used. The general appearance of the property is tired and not what we expect.
Response from the owners of Hillside Cottage. Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you found the cottage to be grubby, and have asked the caretaking company to ensure it is cleaned properly in future, and have also arranged for the window cleaner to come more frequently. Since this is a traditional stone cottage in which the main form of heating is an open fire with fire guard, we appreciate that it can be cold if the fire is not lit. Previous winter visitors have commented on how cosy the cottage is with the fire, so we are sorry that you didn't feel able to use it.
Guest from Surrey stayed for 7 nights.
We had a very enjoyable stay in Hillside Cottage. It's location in the heart of Portscatho is very convenient and a designated car parking space is a real advantage as parking can be tricky in this little village. The property was very well equipped especially the kitchen. We like to cook and there were plenty of pots, pans, etc. The kitchen and bathrooms are quite modern, the shower worked well. The rest of the house is starting to look a little tired, but was perfectly clean and comfortable. The fire was lovely in the evenings. We really enjoyed our visits to Tatams, (one minute walk) for wonderful coffees in the morning and amazing takeaway pizzas and kebabs in the evening. I am sure that the garden at the cottage would be lovely during the summer months. I would definitely visit again.
Guest from Bottrop stayed for 3 nights.
Great place, only thing to mention, on behalf of my female travelmate, are the spiderweb in front of almost every window, also on the inside... Cleanliness in the important places like kitchen and bathrooms was perfect. We would come again ;-) Oh, by the way, there were 3 !!! already important looking letters from the cornwall council or such.
Guest from Pershore stayed for 7 nights.
A well equipped,cosy cottage with a pleasant garden and parking. Perfect location in Portscatho, next to butcher's, opposite pub, a few doors from shop and an easy walk to sandy beaches. Clean bedding and towels and comfortable double bed.
Guest from Oakham stayed for 7 nights.
On the whole we were pleased with Hillside Cottage. There were one or two minor irritants. The first being that it took about ten minutes to get the key out of the key safe, mainly because of our age and eyesight and the angle and height of the safe. Some of the furniture (bedside cabinets) need a bit of attention, e.g. drawer fronts come apart. We did have a problem with the shower leaking but this was very promptly dealt with by the agent. We also found the agent helpful and efficient when we contacted her. She dealt with the problem of the broken toilet seat from the previous visitors quickly and was helpful in repairing a dining room chair with loose screws and checked the other chairs to make sure they were safe. Very good service from her. Otherwise we were comfortable and found everything satisfactory. The kitchen is very well equipped.
Guest from Harpenden stayed for 4 nights.
We had a lovely stay at Hillside cottage. We loved the location in the centre of Portcatho with a deli and butcher on either side and pub/ restaurant across the road. The beach was less than a minute walk and our boys age 8 and 10 were running up and down to the beach constantly. There are beautiful beaches all around the area. The house was 2 bedroom and had a lovely bright kitchen with all facilities you would need for a family holiday. We also used the barbecue there which made the most delicious burgers. We would definitely come back to Hillside cottage again.
Guest from Bishops Lydeard stayed for 3 nights.
We stayed for a few days in Hillside Cottage. Its in a fantastic location next to butchers and grocers and opposite the pub whilst being a stone's throw from the beach! . Great for hikes also, as minutes from the coastal path. It is a cosy, warm and welcoming cottage which is extremely well equipped, apart from a lack of broom! A sweet little garden at the back too. It was lovely to come back to after a day at the beach and light the fire, it was very toasty in there. Its not supersmart, but spotless and relaxed, which is what we like on holiday. We would definitely recommend a stay there. The shop is an aladdins den, pasties and everything else you could want, we didn't have to get into our car once, great! The pub looked lovely, but didn't manage to get there. Fantastic stone baked pizzas by the harbour a few nights a week and a very cool, retro fish and chip van "Atlantic Fryer" made up for not going to the pub.
Guest from Wimborne stayed for 7 nights.
Excellent location for South West Coast Path walkers. Village is pleasant with shops and pub close by. Open air pizzas on the quay are new and very very good.
Guest from Pierrefiche D'olt stayed for 7 nights.
Everything like polished clockwork. Clean, comfortable, convenient. Will definitely use again.
Guest from Sheffield stayed for 7 nights.
The cottage was, for us, almost perfect. It is in the very centre of a very friendly village, opposite the pub, next door to an excellent butcher and next door but one to the village shop (which for once is not a Spar!), and literally 90 seconds walk from the little beach (There is a better bathing beach half-a-mile along the Coast Path.). It is a lovely, light and surprisingly spacious house and although there were only the two of us we don't think it would feel overcrowed even with five people staying. It was very clean and tidy, with all domestic essentials supplied but a half-pint of fresh milk in the fridge would have been nice after more than five hours travelling down, rather than the UHT catering pots supplied. Downstairs the kitchen is roomy, light and well equipped and the living space uncramped with a comfortable suite. The bedrooms and bathroom are a decent size and the bed comfortable. The ensuite is on the small side but perfectly adequate. Our only real gripe was the soft, unsupportive pillows but that is a personal preference. There is a small, sunny back garden overlooking the cottage. The parking space could best be described as a challenge but worth it for being able to park in the middle of a Cornish fishing village - not for anything much bigger than a Ford Focus though. One omission we found surprising was a visitor's book. It is really useful to have previous guests' impressions and tips of what is on offer locally, especially for eating and drinking, and the information provided, which is quite comprehensive, is rather out of date. Something for next year perhaps? We'd never been to the Roseland before and its a beautiful area, less spoilt than much of Cornwall, with some lovely coast and the Fal River estuary. It has the added bonus of having several petrol stations selling fuel cheaper than almost anwhere else in the country - a pleasant surprise! We will definitely be back here again. All in all, Hillside Cottage is highly recommended.
Guest from stayed for 4 nights.
Delightful cosy cottage situated close to the beach and harbour, and right next door to the minimarket with fresh bread at 7am each morning! Extremely well equipped kitchen. Appreciated the Wi-Fi and off-street parking. Would have used the garden too if the sun had shone! Right on the coast path for stunning views from the cliffs either side of the village.
Guest from Machen stayed for 7 nights.
I found the cottage excellent in all aspects. Location, comfort, so well equiped and value for money, The small garden was useful as a relaxation point after a good walk along the cliffs, as did the comfy beds! I have stayed in several cottages and can honestly say it was the best for the above without having to spend a fortune. I will certainly be looking for it's equivelant again.
Guest from Bristol stayed for 7 nights.
Portscatho is a fantastic place for walkers and young families alike. Plenty to do and see. The cottage is a stones throw from the sea and dangerously close to the local pub and shops. Great week had by all.
Guest from Trowbridge stayed for 6 nights.
Cottage was well equipped and the bathrooms and kitchen were fine. The bed, quilt and pillows were uncomfortable and could have been better quality. The living room and bedrooms were a little tired from the furnishing point of view and looked dated. But a good position and the parking was appreciated.
Guest from Bristol stayed for 7 nights.
We really enjoyed our stay - great village location with pub shop butchers all on the doorstep and lovely to be able to walk to the beach (fishing beach tho) and drive to numerous others all within a couple of miles/minutes. Garden lovely but I recommend it more for slightly older kids so they can come and go as our youngest (aged 10 months) had to be supervised due to steps and no gate at top.
This perfectly presented traditional cottage set right in the heart of Portscatho has the beach literally a stone's throw from your doorstep. With amazing walking, pubs, art galleries, shops and the famous Hidden Hut, Portscatho has become the place to be on the Roseland.
Discounts available for couples staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using one bedroom only!
Fern Bank Cottage is situated just above the village square in the charming old fishing village of Portscatho, a stones throw from the harbour and Tatums Beach. The National Trust owned beach of Porthcurnick is 5-10 minutes walk away. This lovely old cottage has been beautifully restored and is equipped and presented to a very high standard. With its comfortable furnishings and wood burning stove, it is not only ideal in spring and summer, but is also the perfect autumn and winter hideaway.
Discounts available for couples staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using one room only.
Positioned just a stone's throw from the turquoise waters of Gerrans Bay, close to Portscatho Harbour at the end of the Lugger, this luxurious cottage is presented to the highest standards and benefits from a terraced garden with magnificent views towards Porthcurnick Beach and Nare Head and a large parking area.
Ellenglaze is a short walk from the square in the centre of Portscatho with its charming pub and pretty harbour. There is parking, fantastic sea views from most of the rooms, a welcoming open fire in the living room, a lovely mature garden also with views across the bay, an outside patio area with charcoal barbecue and it is dog friendly. No better spot for a family holiday or a romantic getaway.
Low occupancy discounts based on a couple using just one room.
Chywartha is a well presented holiday home with sea views in the ever popular village of Portscatho on the beautiful Roseland peninsula, situated close to the centre of the village, a short walk from the harbour, beaches and local pubs and restaurants.
Seabreeze is a bright, spacious bungalow with glorious views over Gerrans Bay and is only a short walk from the golden sands of Rosevine Beach and all of the amenities of this beautiful, traditional fishing village. This dog friendly holiday home is in an area of Cornwall that has some of the very best coastal walks in the UK with magnificent views and a stunning variety of sandy beaches, jagged cliffs and secluded coves all being massaged by the ever changing ocean.
Discounts available for couples staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using one room only.
Location: Gerrans, near Portscatho
A charming semi-detached traditional stone cottage in a wonderful village location with the historic village church and village pub only a few paces away. The harbour village of Portscatho is only a short walk away with some lovely sandy beaches to enjoy. This part of the Roseland is a heavenly destination for walkers with simply miles of footpath to explore. This lovely cottage accepts dogs & has a secure back garden.
Turnpike Cottage is a spacious and immaculately presented cottage, ideally situated in the heart of picturesque Gerrans and a few hundred yards from the artist's haven of Portscatho. Glorious beaches, intriguing rock pools, stunning walks with majestic views - all on your doorstep.
Low occupancy discounts based on a couple using just one bedroom.
Location: Gerrans, near Portscatho
With stunning views across Gerrans Bay and within a few minutes walk of the villages of both Gerrans & Portscatho, the Old School House has a wonderful position. The property benefits from a modern construction yet has all the character of an older cottage including a cosy open fireplace and is a really comfortable place to stay.
Location: Gerrans, near Portscatho
This brilliant cottage is situated close to the Gerrans village green and with an easy walk to the local pub, this is a modern property built in traditional style. The village of Portscatho with its sandy beach is just a 5 minute walk away.