Availability & Pricing

Step 1

Select a start date

from the calendar below

Unavailable

Available

Start Day

Your Booking

Step 2

Select your length of stay

Discounts available for couples staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using one room only.

Step 3

Tell us who's going

to help us calculate the price

Your booking:

Arrival:

Departure:

Price:

Please note that this price excludes our booking fee (£20), any supplement for use of a credit card, booking protection and any chargeable extras such as dogs.

Book Now

Located just 100 yards from Porthtowan Beach, Driftwood could not be in a better location. Porthtowan is the ideal situation for a holiday in Cornwall because of its great beach, pubs (including the famous Blue Bar - closed for 6 weeks each year for refurbishment from beginning of Jan) and most importantly its proximity to the A30 which means the whole mid and west Cornwall is easily accessible if you want to visit other places during your stay.

Driftwood is part of a small development of other holiday cottages in this beach front location and benefits from its own off road parking space. The cottage is set out over 2 floors and there is also a decked back garden with a brick BBQ - ideal for dining on warmer evenings. The kitchen is fully fitted with a dining table seating 4 people. The lounge has glimpses of the sea from the front windows and has a comfortable corner sofa. Two bedrooms upstairs make this the perfect family getaway.

Accommodation
Ground Floor: Fully fitted kitchen, with separate sitting room.
First Floor: Master bedroom with 4' 6" double bed followed by a bunk room with 3' beds, a separate family bathroom with over bath shower and stair gate at the top of the stairs.
Exterior: Enclosed beach style deck with picnic table and small grassed section. Please note that there is a right of way over the back garden for the next door cottages. It is used very occasionally to cut through to the beach.

Facilities & Services
Heating is via central heating. The kitchen has a range of equipment. There is an electric oven and hob, a microwave, toaster, kettle, fridge / freezer, dishwasher and washing machine. The sitting room area has a 32" flatscreen digital TV & Blu Ray player (not pictured), CD & Radio. There is an iron & ironing board. There is WiFi available at the property.

Miscellaneous
Electricity, heating and bed linen are all included but you will need to provide your own towels. Up to 2 well behaved dogs will be permitted at a small additional cost of £25 per dog / per week although please remember that you cannot leave dogs unattended in the cottage alone. No dogs allowed upstairs. Regrettably no smoking is allowed. Please note access through back garden is shared. There is a parking space right outside the property. There is a cot & high chair available.

General Booking Information
Arrival / Departure is normally a Friday.
Shortbreaks are available during quieter periods.
£100 pre-authorised to your credit or debit card as a security deposit is required.
Discounts available for couples staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using one room only.

Occupying a dramatic valley location with one of the most spectacular and beautiful beaches of the Atlantic Coast, Porthtowan has been drawing visitors for years to take advantage of its natural sun trap. A superb location for a holiday to Cornwall with a fine beach and close to good main roads means that you can easily explore the surrounding area on days that are not conducive to sitting on the beach.

Porthtowan has one of Cornwall's finest surfing waves. Producing good waves at all states of the tide, the wave is particularly good in an easterly or south easterly when it really pumps with some lovely hollow barrels. It is not for the faint hearted and beginners should be careful. An excellent surf school operates from the beach. At low tide the beach stretches down to St Agnes Head and Chapel Porth Beach where you will find a lovely National Trust Cafe full of warming hot chocolate and fabulous views. From Porthtowan you are ideally located to reach the many beaches on the North Coast famous for attracting keen surfers and beginners alike.

4.2

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 4

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 3

Condition: 4

Location: 5

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2017-08-03

Guest from Witham stayed for 3 nights.

A fantastic location!

A fantastic location to spend time at Porthtowan. The booking and details sent by Cornwall cottages were excellent. The house itself is lovely, the sofa downstairs is awfully uncomfortable as are the bunk beds upstairs but they do a job! This really is the best spot to stay in at Porthtowan, good value for money, and we wouldn't hesitate to come back. It would be nice if the owners spent a few ££ just to improve the comfort a little. After all, you are on holiday!

Reply from Jill

Thank you for your valued feedback. We have just had a new sofa delivered for future guest comfort. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay, and do hope to welcome you back to Cornwall again soon!

5

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 5

Condition: 5

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2017-07-23

Guest from Stone stayed for 7 nights.

Perfect for a young family.

Fantastic property, extremely clean, child safe, modern, light and airy. Very comfortable with everything you could possibly need. Parking right outside the front door, enclosed rear garden and the property is literally yards from the beach plus the added bonus of an adventure playground directly opposite - perfect for a family with young children. We will definitely be returning, thoroughly enjoyed our holiday.

Reply from Jill

Thanks for the review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay.

3.2

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 2

Service and Staff: 3

Comfort: 3

Condition: 3

Location: 5

Value For Money: 3

Review Date:2017-07-23

Guest from Bristol stayed for 7 nights.

Brilliant location but cottage needs a bit of updating

Cottage is in a fabulous location in the village. Size of the cottage is good but bunk beds a bit small for adult sized teenagers. Cottage wasn't very clean, boiler makes some very strange noises and washing machine doesn't work on all programmes. The sofa had definitely seen better days and was comfortable to sit on. There was also a loose cable under the front door which is a trip hazard. Just needs a little tlc to make it an amazing place to stay.

Reply from Jill the owner

Thanks for your review. Sorry to hear you had some problems. John Lewis have just delivered new sofa. The cable has be fixed and the boiler looked at by the plumber that services it annually in the spring. The property managers would have be happy to sort some of these problems out during your stay. We value all reviews to allow us to maintain the quality we aim for.

3.8

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 3

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 4

Condition: 3

Location: 5

Value For Money: 3

Review Date:2017-07-09

Guest from Henlow stayed for 7 nights.

Lovely but tired cottage

Our stay was pleasant, but the cottage could probably use an update to tired furniture and fittings.

Reply from Jill the owner

I'm glad you had a pleasant stay. Every year we replace large items. The beds were replaced recently as were the external doors. A new sofa is being delivered the end of this month. Many Thanks Jill

4.3

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 3

Condition: 4

Location: 5

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2017-06-19

Guest from Hull stayed for 7 nights.

Condition of Property

The only negative was the couch was uncomfortable to sit on. Everything else was as expected, in the past some people have mentioned that the beds were uncomfortable - I didn't find this so presume that they have been replaced . I will be having another break at this property in the future.

Reply from Jill the owner

Thanks for your review. I'm glad you had a good holiday. A new sofa is on order an will arrive the end of July.

5

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 5

Condition: 5

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2017-05-04

Guest from Milton Keynes stayed for 3 nights.

A lovely location

Everything was just so. The location is great. A short walk to a well stocked village store.The cottage is clean, modernised, and well positioned and the parking was good. A thoroughly enjoyable stay.

5

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 5

Condition: 5

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2017-04-08

Guest from Cambridge stayed for 5 nights.

Early spring stay

This little cottage was perfect for our family of four. The location couldn't be better: as soon as we were over cold from body surfing in the early spring waves, it was a short walk back to the cottage to dry off and warm up; and another short hop across the road to a great playground or stream or sand where many hours were spent and many new friends made. Porthtowan is a fabulous village - great fish and chips, icecream, your choice of place to have a beer, surf shop, gift shop and local store. It is also a great location to explore this beautiful part of Cornwall from. The cottage itself exceeded our expectations. It was the perfect size for us and well equipped. The beds were comfy and the house itself felt snug against any wind and also caught the sun and was light and airy. There were only two things we felt the kitchen might benefit from that we couldn't find - a coffee plunger and a corkscrew (I know most wine is now screw top but the bottles I had weren't). We will be back for sure.

5

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 5

Condition: 5

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2016-10-16

Guest from Coleford stayed for 7 nights.

A lovely house in a fantastic location

We loved our stay at Driftwood and hope to return at some stage. The kitchen was well appointed and the living room was perfectly comfortable for a dog friendly house. Broadband was fast and Freesat worked well. The garden is secure. The main strength of Driftwood is of course it's location. It's perfect for pre-breakfast or evening walks on the beach and if you time your walk you can walk for well over a mile along the stunning sandy beach. The coastal path, dotted with mining relics is fantastic too. My only negative comment would be that on arrival we were a bit shocked at the state of the external doors on the property. We were so please when we walked in and found that this was not repeated elsewhere. Many thanks for a lovely holiday. Our Border Collie, Ted, wants to come back as soon as possible.

Reply from Jill Byford

I am so glad you had a great time in Driftwood. Thank you for your lovely review. Sorry about the outside doors . During the low season the property is going to have some work done including new outside doors fitted as the metal storm doors rust with in months of being repainted due to the proximity to the sea.

4.5

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 4

Condition: 4

Location: 5

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2016-09-25

Guest from Brentwood stayed for 7 nights.

Brilliant little cottage

Just come back from a week in cornwall visiting our son and stay in Driftwood Cottage. Real home from home, comfortable, quiet and stunning location on the beach. Thoroughly recommend it and will be returning next year. Thank you

3.7

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 3

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 3

Condition: 3

Location: 5

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2016-09-11

Guest from Stockport stayed for 7 nights.

Great location for a holiday cottage

Location of the property was great a minutes walk to the beach at Porthtowan. Outdoor space was sheltered and useful for eating/drying wetsuits etc but a rotary washing line would have been useful instead of free standing airier. Kitchen very well equipped including useful dishwasher and washer/dryer which were a bonus! Decoration a bit tired but it was the end of the season and highlighted as neighbouring property was being painted outside. Overall accommodation fitted the bill for 2 adults but a family with teenagers could feel a little cramped . The description /photos on website were accurate and true..

Reply from Jill Byford

Thank you for your review. It has been a hard summer and during the low season the property is going to have some work done including new outside doors fitted as the metal storm doors rust with in months of being repainted due to the proximity to the sea. This is also the reason we use an airier, as rotary washing lines corrode as well as taking up a lot of space and being not great to look at. Past reviewers with teenagers have found the house more than big enough. I have 2 teenage boys and space has never been a problem, and this summer we and their cousins stay with us too.

4

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 4

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 3

Condition: 4

Location: 5

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2016-09-04

Guest from Tunbridge Wells stayed for 7 nights.

Lovely

My family and I all had a lovely time in this charming cottage just yards from the park (with brilliant swings) the beautiful beach and the Blue Bar ! Very relaxing. Cottage was lovely. Lots of kitchen supplies under the sink, lots of space out in the back garden for BBQ and drying wetsuits! Great TV/SAT/DVD if needed. Surfer movies and Jaws! What else do you need?

4.5

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 4

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 4

Condition: 4

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2016-07-25

Guest from Poole stayed for 7 nights.

Week long stay

Perfect close to the beach location, clean, comfortable and functional for beach days. Photos do not show the houses on either side as very close, had to share back gate with young family. Overall really great stay for really great price. Thank you!

4.7

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 4

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 5

Condition: 4

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2016-06-24

Guest from Chester stayed for 7 nights.

Driftwood-perfect beachside location

Driftwood is a light airy and spacious cottage. It is clean and welcoming and in a perfect beachside location. There is a beautiful coastal path, with breathtaking views..... Felt like it was a second home while we were there!! 15 mins to Truro....30 mins to St Ives, Penzance, Falmouth.... Highly recommended

4.3

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 3

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 5

Condition: 3

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2016-03-20

Guest from Shepton Mallet stayed for 7 nights.

Lovely comfortable cottage right by the sea

Lovely cottage in a fantastic location next to the surf bay of Porthtowan - excellent base for exploring all of Cornwall as we did. We stayed in mid March for our anniversary week and I understand the weather prior to our visit was pretty exciting - hence the mini dunes of sand all over the road/court and out the back of the cottage - a local said this was made worse since the council flattened the main dunes on the beach to create better views of the bay??? Perfect for dog owners in low seasons if you want to use the local beach (there are still beaches open to dogs nearby in high season and dogs can use the huge sand exercise area immediately infront of the cottage all year round). Dog friendly bars that serve food within stumbling distance and local shop just 2 minutes on foot - can highly recommend The Unicorn for good pub grub. We were very comfortable in the cottage and it had everything we needed to feel cosy and at home. They provided a very simple yet informative folder next to the TV about the cottage itself and the locality for when you arrive. The exterior looked a little tired but it is right near the seafront and gets a full blast from the salty sea air - I hate to think how the locals cars fair in that area over time. Then there was the SAND! I felt like it was a never ending battle keeping it out of the cottage & off our feet - just a small price to pay for the wonderful location. Cleanliness was ok - good, but again this kind of place cannot be 5* immaculate because of the location and it being pretty at one with nature the moment you open the door.....and the sand! Great walks nearby. We did the stunningly beautiful coastal walk to Porth Chapel, Porthtowan to Portreath (quite tough - lots of steep ups and downs but worth it - check out the Atlantic Bar fish and chips on the front) and Portreath to Hells Mouth. This place is a little gem in the heart of a wonderful and beautiful county and we most definetely will be returning! Thanks for a lovely and relaxing stay :-)

4.8

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 4

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 5

Condition: 5

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2016-03-02

Guest from Prios Dean stayed for 3 nights.

Lovely cottage, right by the sea

We only stayed very briefly at Driftwood, but would have loved to have stayed longer. Everything worked and apart from the odd cobweb and the lack of cork screw. Which seemed like the worst disaster in the world after a five hour drive! We had a small problem with the tele, which was fixed very promptly. Will definitely book for longer if there is space!

3.7

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 3

Service and Staff: 3

Comfort: 3

Condition: 4

Location: 5

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2015-10-12

Guest from Birmingham stayed for 7 nights.

Perfect Late Getaway

We were looking for a quiet dog friendly cottage close to the beach and Driftwood ticked the boxes exactly. Few steps away from the beach, dog friendly from October best not take the mutt between Easter and October or you're very limited on where you can go. Off road parking is ideal as I can imagine it gets quite busy in the main season. Cottage was clean and comfortable and everything worked as it should (great shower). A little more info on internet connection would of helped but to be honest a week with no phone signal or internet was a treat in itself. The beach is clean and great for body boarding and surfing we even had a close encounter with a curious seal one day. Pre arrival information and directions were spot on and everything was as described. To echo an earlier review and really the only negative is the lock on the back door is very temperamental if I hadn't read that review it would of been a call out on arrival as it did take an age to gain entry. Once this is fixed we'll look at booking another break here.

4.2

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 3

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 4

Condition: 4

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2015-09-20

Guest from Wolverhampton stayed for 7 nights.

lovely cottage close to all amenities .

Lovely cottage. Had a wonderful week. Weather mixed but on the one day we couldn't get out. Relaxed watching TV . Only a few miner irritations, kitchen chairs need a good clean. Very marked not what I would have expected for this lovely cottage. A useful measuring jug either plastic or glass would have come in useful as not too many items you can use in microwave. Yes,there are plastic dishes and plates but these are not suitable for microwave cooking, I believe a bedside cabinet would be useful in main bedroom as nothing on rightdide of bed. Very useful having wifi. As phone signal non existent. Lovely place over the sand dunes to eat. Lovely atmosphere . And added bonus dogs on leads are allowed inside. Great place. Shop stocked with all basic needs only 5 mins walk away. Gate could do with a permanent repair every time gate opened 1 slat always came off. Not safe for children or dogs. Please repair ASAP. As I said these are all miner niggles. And we will be booking this cottage again in the future.

Reply from Jill Byford

We very glad you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for letting us know about the gate, we had it fixed straight away. Its good to get feed back, so we can improvements and we'll looking into some of your suggestions.

4

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 4

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 4

Condition: 4

Location: 5

Value For Money: 3

Review Date:2015-08-02

Guest from Leeds stayed for 7 nights.

Great Cottage with superb location

Cottage really clean on arrival with well equipped kitchen. Wi-fi was a godsend as the EE signal was so poor. Toy box in the small bedroom was a lovely touch and well appreciated by our little one. The outside area has a picnic bench and bbq however could do with some attention/replacing - a sun brolly would also be a good addition. No complaints at all. A (hopefully) helpful observation: Totally understand that the weather wears down the windows and doors but they would benefit from a good clean. Location was superb - close to the beach, play area, pub, shops, blu bar etc - Awesome! Would definitely recommend to others.

Reply from Jill Byford

Thank you very much for your positive feed back. I'm glad you had such lovely weather. The picnic bench is painted at the start of each season, but due to the close proximity to the beach the garden cant take a battering. Also, surf boards and wetsuits were left on the bench by a previous guest, which stripped the paint, so we will be addressing the garden in the autumn.

3.8

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 4

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 3

Condition: 4

Location: 4

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2015-06-29

Guest from Camberley stayed for 7 nights.

Okay for a weeks break in Cornwall

In a good location ,but dogs are banned on the beach from Easter to October which is a shame. They can however run around on the dunes near the childrens play area. A good shop, chip shop , pub and Blue Bar all within 2 minutes walk. Cottage was fine and well equipped in particular the BT Hub. We vacuumed daily as sand gets everywhere as well as two Labrador's hair. The only minor gripes was the settee was very uncomfortable,and we had to take our own towels.Okay for two of us ,but a family of four.....The first self catering cottage we have had to do that.

4.3

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 4

Condition: 4

Location: 5

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2015-06-22

Guest from Manchester stayed for 7 nights.

Enjoyed our stay, great location, highly recommended.

Everything was great, only very minor complaint was that key for door was a bit dodgy and took some time to get the knack of locking and unlocking. When we arrived after long car trip it took ten minutes in pouring rain to open door, which was a bit of tough start. Again, being hypercritical, dishwasher was getting on a bit and seal kept coming out, but that's really nit picking and meant as constructive feedback. Everything else was great though, particularly liked bed and shower, we are already figuring out when we might be able to come back and book again at Driftwood. Thanks! Stephen & Helen

Reply from Jill Byford

Thank you for the review. I'm sorry you had problems with the door key, we will be changing the locks at the end of the season.

4.2

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 4

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 4

Condition: 4

Location: 5

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2015-06-14

Guest from Wotton Under Edge stayed for 7 nights.

Driftwood

We had a lovely week in Porthtowan. Chose this cottage due to its location near the beach which is ideal. Cottage was clean and well maintained. Enjoyed walking the coastal path and swimming in the sea. Good location to explore other parts of Cornwall, The Minnack Theatre and the Levant Mine.

4.5

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 4

Condition: 4

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2015-04-06

Guest from London stayed for 4 nights.

A perfect place to unwind near the crash of the sea

We had 5 days at Driftwood Cottage over the February half term, booked at the last minute when it turned out I could get time off. The cottage was perfect for us (a family of 4), and is wonderfully situated right on the beach. We pretty much spent the whole week outdoors, either on the beach or up on the cliffs, until it got dark, when we snuggled back into the cottage for tea, games, become etc. We had looked at other local attractions to visit, but we never did as long as we were wrapped up warm with wellies on, we could just be absorbed in whatever we found to play or see on the beach. Driftwood Cottage has a lovely thoughtful understated atmosphere - little touches like a small box of toys in the bunk room were very nice. We had a great week, would definitely go again, and would recommend it.

3.8

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 3

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 3

Condition: 4

Location: 5

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2014-11-02

Guest from Ashurst stayed for 7 nights.

Enjoyable stay

The property is perfectly situated for Porthtowan beach and the amenities that are there. We had a lovely week especially as the weather was so kind. The cottage is basic compared to other places we have stayed in, but comfortable. Beware the eaves in the upstairs rooms if you are tall! Some additional utensils like a potato masher would be useful, we had to buy one, and the pillows on the double bed could benefit from either being replaced or some pillow protectors. Otherwise, good value for money.

5

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 5

Condition: 5

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2014-09-14

Guest from Accrington stayed for 7 nights.

Driftwood - 05/09/2014 through 12/09/2014

Could not fault the location of the Property and the description was exactly right. Cottage was well equipped and perfect for my stay with my dog. Everything Appliancewise worked very well. WiFi was a godsend given poor Mobile Reception on EE within the locality. Bed was comfy and ample drawer/ wardrobe space within which to hang/ store clothes. Small Garden and a real suntrap - BBQ area could do with some maintenance/cleaning as grill (rusty) had seen better days and weeds growing out of old ashes. Only gripe for me was it would have been nice after a 9 hour drive to have a least a small bottle of milk with which to make a coffee on arrival. That said I really enjoyed my stay and would stay again. Regards.

3.8

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 4

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 3

Condition: 3

Location: 5

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2014-07-28

Guest from Nottingham stayed for 7 nights.

Great location

Great location and excellent value for money, back garden is a brilliant sun trap would definitely recommend the Driftwood. Ideal for a base should you like to tour Cornwall plus lovely beach and excellent for surfers.

4.5

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 4

Condition: 4

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2014-06-09

Guest from Birmingham stayed for 7 nights.

Lovely Holiday

Despite being ill for part of the week myself we enjoyed the stay and were able to relax. One small suggestion is for blinds to be fitted to the back windows as, due to the right of way, people keep looking in as they walk past (one even cupped his hands to the window to have a good look in). We would certainly book again.

3.3

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 3

Service and Staff: 3

Comfort: 3

Condition: 3

Location: 5

Value For Money: 3

Review Date:2014-06-03

Guest from Leeds stayed for 7 nights.

Great location though....

Excellent location. Great for beach and play area. Though I know that you do not go on holiday to watch TV but It was too small for the room and black and white (did remind me of my childhood). I understand that it was due to us being in a valley, however speaking to the occupiers of the other cottages their TV was fine. We also found quite a lot of dog hairs in the main living room.

Reply from Jill Byford

Sorry you had problems with the TV, but it appears that you had not switched on the Freesat box. We have checked with the current guests and it all seems working normally. The TV/DVD player is brand new, and is the largest size available with a built in DVD player. As of the dog hairs we are looking in to the matter.

3.8

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 4

Service and Staff: 3

Comfort: 4

Condition: 4

Location: 4

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2014-05-19

Guest from Cockermouth stayed for 7 nights.

An all round good place to holiday

We had a great stay at Driftwood. It is very comfortable, well equipped and close to the beach, but as we had our dog with us, it was a shame they were not allowed. Good facilities in the village, convenient for walking the costal paths.

5

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 5

Condition: 5

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2014-05-02

Guest from Cheltenham stayed for 3 nights.

cottage

a very pleasant & homely cottage great location near to beach ideal for walkers & surfers alike the two bars near by both did a good selection of food all reasonably priced very enjoyable nik

Reply from Jill Byford

Thanks for your lovely review.

4.8

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 5

Comfort: 5

Condition: 4

Location: 5

Value For Money: 5

Review Date:2013-12-31

Guest from Rawtenstall stayed for 7 nights.

A brilliant cottage for beach lovers

The cottage was well presented and comfortable and was exactly as advertised on the web. The location was outstanding if you want long walks on the beach. The cottage is dog friendly but please be advised that dogs are banned on the local beach from April to September. As we stayed in December this wasn't a problem. The only minor gripe was the heating that was a little temperamental. Some mornings the heating failed to switch on which left downstairs a little cold.

Reply from Jill Byford

Thank you for raising your concerns over the heating. I'm sorry there was problems with the boiler during your stay. We have since had the boiler serviced and repaired. We find comments raised in reviews a valuable source of information to allow us to constantly improve our guests experience at Driftwood.

3.8

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 5

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 1

Condition: 4

Location: 5

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2013-11-05

Guest from Bristol stayed for 7 nights.

Driftwood

Perfect location. Only complaint - double bed mattress, impossible to get a good nights sleep on. We ended up buying a mattress topper to make it less uncomfortable.

Reply from Jill Byford

Thank you for raising your concerns over the mattress. In light of this it has been replaced with a firm to medium, luxury model that should provide improved comfort and more support. We find comments raised in reviews a valuable source of information to allow us to constantly improve our guests experience at Driftwood.

3.8

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 3

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 4

Condition: 4

Location: 5

Value For Money: 3

Review Date:2013-10-28

Guest from Carterton stayed for 7 nights.

week away from it all.

We booked this place specifically for the location and were not disappointed. All in all was a good stay apart from a few issues. The mattress on the double bed left a lot to be desired as was cheap and nasty and sagged. This resulted in me having to sleep in the bottom bunk. The duvet on the double bed smelt damp but this was replaced with a brand new one after a phone call. The owner was very helpful regarding all issues. Would be nice to have wifi as no mobile phone signal in there. We would stay in same village again but not this cottage unless faults changed.

Reply from Jill Byford

Thank you for raising your concerns over the mattress. In light of this it has been replaced with a firm to medium, luxury model that should provide improved comfort and more support. We find comments raised in reviews a valuable source of information to allow us to constantly improve our guests experience at Driftwood.

4.2

Out Of Five

Recommended

Cleanliness: 4

Service and Staff: 4

Comfort: 4

Condition: 4

Location: 5

Value For Money: 4

Review Date:2013-09-12

Guest from Aylesbury stayed for 7 nights.

Driftwood is super

Would love to return, the perfect place for a brilliant get away. Th ecottage was very nice and with four people was plenty big enough, the best thing for me is there is a limited signal for phones, so peace if you require it in very easy to achieve.

The Dunes
Sleeps up to 4

Location: Porthtowan

The Dunes is a delightful, well-equipped and tastefully decorated, ground floor apartment, benefitting from a small garden and with outstanding access to Porthtowan Beach a mere 100m away. The beach is a surfer's delight and benefits from a seasonal lifeguard service and surf school.

Discounts available for couples staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using one room only.

Sea viewsBeach within walking distanceShops within walking distancePub within walking distanceDog FriendlyWiFiParking availableGardenDiscount for a coupleSaturday change over
More info
Surf Studio
Sleeps up to 4

Location: Porthtowan

Located a few yards from one of the best lifeguarded surf beaches in Cornwall, Surf Studio truly is a surfer's paradise! Surf Studio is ideal for those who want a really chilled beach holiday based in a well equipped, brilliant value apartment.

Beach within walking distanceShops within walking distancePub within walking distanceParking availableNewly added propertyFriday change over
More info
The Cove
Sleeps up to 4

Location: Porthtowan

The Cove is an immaculately presented modern apartment just a five minute walk from the beautiful beach at Porthtowan.

Discounts available for couples staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using one room only.

Beach within walking distanceShops within walking distancePub within walking distanceDog FriendlyWiFiParking availableCot availableGardenDiscount for a coupleSaturday change over
More info
Broadbeach Cottage
Sleeps up to 6

Location: Portreath

Newly constructed detached holiday cottage in a south facing position just a few minutes drive from the popular resorts of Portreath and Porthtowan, with open plan living, modern facilities, a brilliant patio and from February 2016, a jacuzzi overlooking rolling countryside, this is a quite wonderful new place to stay.

Dog FriendlyWiFiParking availableCot availableHighchair availableHot TubGardenDiscount for a coupleSaturday change over
More info
Palm Cottage
Sleeps up to 4

Location: Portreath

Newly constructed semi-detached holiday cottage in a south facing position just a few minutes' drive from the popular resorts of Portreath and Porthtowan, with open plan living, modern facilities and a brilliant patio deck overlooking rolling countryside, this is a quite wonderful new place to stay.

Discounts available for couples staying for 7 nights outside the peak season, using one bedroom only!

Dog FriendlyWiFiParking availableCot availableHighchair availableGardenDiscount for a coupleSunday change over
More info
Snapper
Sleeps up to 6

Location: Portreath

Newly constructed detached holiday cottage in a south facing position just a few minutes drive from the popular resorts of Portreath and Porthtowan, with open plan living, modern facilities, a brilliant patio and a jacuzzi overlooking rolling countryside, this is a quite wonderful new place to stay.

Dog FriendlyWiFiParking availableCot availableHighchair availableHot TubGardenDiscount for a coupleSunday change over
More info
Burleigh Cottage
Sleeps up to 6

Location: Portreath

Newly constructed detached holiday cottage in a south facing position just a few minutes drive from the popular resorts of Portreath and Porthtowan, with open plan living, modern facilities, a brilliant patio and a JACUZZI overlooking rolling countryside, this is a quite wonderful new place to stay.

Dog FriendlyWiFiParking availableCot availableHighchair availableHot TubGardenDiscount for a coupleFriday change over
More info
Main Beach
Sleeps up to 4

Location: Portreath

A recently constructed detached holiday cottage in a south facing position with its own private jacuzzi, just a few minutes' drive from the popular resorts of Portreath and Porthtowan, with open plan living, modern facilities and a brilliant patio deck overlooking rolling countryside, this is a quite wonderful place to stay!

Dog FriendlyWiFiParking availableCot availableHighchair availableHot TubWheelchair AccessGardenDiscount for a coupleFriday change over
More info
Mermaid Cottage
Sleeps up to 6

Location: Portreath

Newly constructed detached holiday cottage in a south facing position just a few minutes drive from the popular resorts of Portreath and Porthtowan, with open plan living, modern facilities, a brilliant patio and a jacuzzi overlooking rolling countryside, this is a quite wonderful new place to stay.

Dog FriendlyWiFiParking availableCot availableHighchair availableHot TubGardenDiscount for a coupleSunday change over
More info
Rainbow
Sleeps up to 6

Location: Portreath

Newly constructed detached holiday cottage in a south facing position just a few minutes drive from the popular resorts of Portreath and Porthtowan, with open plan living, modern facilities and a brilliant patio deck overlooking rolling countryside, this is a quite wonderful new place to stay.

Dog FriendlyWiFiParking availableCot availableHighchair availableGardenDiscount for a coupleSunday change over
More info

Top